StayFocusd: An Effective App for Fighting Procrastination

Procrastination is known as the phenomenon where you forgo your responsibilities and delay your work in order to pursue pointless activities, such as:

  • Opening shitty entertainment websites where you read mind-numbing articles on celebrities who have nothing to do with your existence.
  • Taking online quizzes that tell you what kind of a person you are (like you don’t know already) and/or which Hemsworth brother you’ll get married to in your next life.
  • Scrolling through the Facebook News Feed and seeing your friends post unnecessary details of their private life, watching them bask in the glory of their “marital bliss” and then cringing at the baby pictures of their not-so-cute children (but still saying the obligatory “AAWWW” because you don’t wanna seem like an a-hole); all of which eventually makes you feel like punching someone in the schwantz.
  • Going on YouTube and seeing someone else play games for a living while you sit in front of a screen, eating ice-cream and falling deeper and deeper into the abyss of the interwebs until one day you feel dead inside.
Procrastination
Credit: Someecards

If YOU are a victim of procrastination then look no further, because I come bearing the cure. *aaaaaaa* (the sound of a shiny bright light coming down from the Heavens)

That Miracle Cure is StayFocusd:

StayFocusd
Credit: LinkedInstitute

StayFocusd is a free, flexible, easy-to-use and a darn great Google Chrome plug-in that limits the amount of time you waste online. Lately, I had loads of work dangling above my head, and I wasn’t able to stick to my schedule. The reason, well, my Chrome Bookmarks Bar kept calling to me, seductively whispering “come to meee!” in my ear and making me go all “my preciousssss” every time I opened the browser. My Chronic Procrastination habits were getting in the way of my productivity. So I did a little research online and came across this plug-in. I’ve been using it for the past one week and it works like a charm. My daily online time-wastage is now limited to only 20 minutes per day. How does it work? Listen, all you need to do is go to the link I’ve provided and add it to your Chrome browser.

[Note: If you’re not a Chrome-user and prefer Firefox, then LeechBlock is a pretty good alternative, but keep in mind it doesn’t provide the flexibility of StayFocusd.]

StayFocusd Features:

With StayFocusd you can:

  • Set the maximum time you allow yourself per day to waste your time on aimless browsing. The default is 10 minutes but I’ve set mine to 20. Come on, a girl’s gotta get updated on her entertainment news.

StayFocusd Max Time

(If you try to increase the counter, they give these horrible little warnings; like every time you increase your time a cute kitten in some part of the world gets electrocuted. Yeah, they’re hardcore. See for yourself.)

  • Set your Active Days and your Active Hours in which the counter will start.
  • Include countless websites in your Block List.
  • Make use of the “Challenge” option to stop yourself from cheating. This challenge requires you to type in a long paragraph (you can also set a custom text yourself) for every time you open StayFocusd’s settings. I’ve also activated this option for myself. It’s a huge pain in the butt, but it really does stop you from tinkering with StayFocusd.

StayFocusd Challenge

  • Or simply go for the Nuclear Option, which blocks every site in the block-list instantaneously for the specified time.

StayFocusd Nuclear Option

Once a site is blocked you can’t do anything to unblock it. Well, you can always uninstall the extension, but where’s the fun in that?

So my fellow Procrastinators, challenge yourself, diminish this useless habit and allow yourself to lead a more productive and satisfying life. The hassle is worth it.

22 thoughts on “StayFocusd: An Effective App for Fighting Procrastination

      • A.B Mood April 13, 2016 / 4:53 PM

        Oh heyy thank you so much Janice 😀 I appreciate that so much ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  1. C.S. Wilde March 17, 2016 / 1:11 AM

    I must try this. The other day I was procrastinating and ended up seeing someone who faceswapped their face into a boob in Buzzfeed.
    Goddamn Buzzfeed…

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood March 26, 2016 / 9:16 PM

      Haaahahahahahahaha sorry but I saw that toooo 😀 LOL, oh God, what has the world come to 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim March 17, 2016 / 3:18 AM

    I’ll passs. I enjoy my wasted time. it’s my one break. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood March 26, 2016 / 9:16 PM

      Lmao, of course you’re a busy man you deserve to take some time off 😉

      Like

  3. dgkaye March 18, 2016 / 1:59 AM

    This was entertaining and informative. Thanks Abeeha! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mustahibah March 19, 2016 / 8:15 AM

    Thank you my dear friend.
    I am surely gonna try this
    🙂

    P.S: you wrote it so good!!
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. archana235 March 26, 2016 / 7:41 PM

    All these are necessities in my life xD Ooohh you should also try Forest. It’s an app that works like this. I sow a seed, to plant a tree for the duration that you want yourself to ‘get some work done, son’. And the little plant says adorable stuff if you pick up your phone like, ‘Leave me alone!’. And when you try to quit because you succumb to the mesmerising aura of the internet, it asks you ‘This will kill your cute little tree. Give up?’.
    If this won’t work, then I don’t know what will 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood March 26, 2016 / 9:35 PM

      Oh my godddd I have to try that toooo 😀 I needed an app like that for my phone as well! Gurl, you’re a savior 😀 It’s available on Android na?? Lemme checkkk…… Yesss it iss.. Downloading :3 Thanks Arch ❤ 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • archana235 March 30, 2016 / 6:24 PM

        Hahahaha 😀 IKR! Because sometimes switching your phone off and throwing it away for a while seems highly unreasonable. So, boom let’s just get hooked to finding productivity apps!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. betunada March 30, 2016 / 2:46 AM

    i am knot alloan hear but avoiding the internet and it’s games and the so-called “social media” * are great aids to leaving the procrastination self at the busssstawp! and continuing walking

    *i rankle at the so-called “social media” being called that. they/it usually involves no direct person-to-person interaction. ever watch a family at a restaurant all not-talking all looking at their friggin’ devices?

    the onion: “84% of all amerikins spend 72% of their waking time staring at glowing (w)rectangles”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. rajivbakshi April 2, 2016 / 11:42 PM

    I read some where . You hate shopping & love Books . But do not procrastinate to read my Book on short stories : Journey from Guwahati to Machhiwara . Available from Amazon.com for 9.99 $ . Book in 12 countries , 70 libraries

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 13, 2016 / 4:57 PM

      Oh wow, I sure won’t procrastinate for that 😀 Thanks for the suggestion, will surely check it out soon 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • rajivbakshi April 14, 2016 / 7:38 AM

        Do message when you have the right Mood ( ? ) to order & read . Hope u don’t mind the pun on Ms Mood

        Like

  8. The Lunatic In My Head May 4, 2016 / 6:47 PM

    Hahahaha.. Thanks a lot! I’m sure I’ll get that app asap. Just a little more procrastination later… 😛

    Like

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

