Year of the Versus: Daredevil vs. Punisher Takes the Lead

This is the Year of the Versus. First we have Batman v Superman. Then there’s Captain America v Ironman (in Civil War). But what I’m most excited about this year is Daredevil v The Punisher. I’ve obsessed over The Punisher since I was 12 years old. He was my first Fictional Crush from the Marvel Universe. Yeah judge me all you want, but Antiheroes appeal to my inner vigilante. 😀

The Year of the Versus

Before the airing of Season 1, I was very skeptical about this new Marvel show, because Agents of Shield was a plain old disappointment for me. And from the DC Comics side, Arrow lost all its charm. It became dull, monotonous, and I’ve stopped watching it. As for The Flash, it’s a decent show and it might appeal to a vast audience but it’s just not my cup of tea.

I was waiting for something dark and gritty, the side of these superheroes we never get to see on the big and/or small screen; and the Daredevil filled that gap brilliantly well. Daredevil is a highly potential candidate to be among the Best TV Shows of all time. But that is only if it maintains that level of quality (or surpasses it) in the upcoming seasons. And the following trailer shows that my hope for Season 2 isn’t misplaced. If this promo doesn’t convince you to binge watch Daredevil, then I don’t know what will.

Doesn’t the “… you’re one bad day away from being me.” line give you the chills?

Jon Bernthal became one of my most beloved actors after his complex role in The Walking Dead. He brought such intensity to that role I just knew that the future held great things for him, and when I heard that he will be playing the Punisher in Season 2 (and is now getting his own series in a spin-off), I thought to myself “The producers couldn’t have made a better choice.” He has handled a complicated and grey-shaded character really well in the past, and I believe he’s going to prove his worth all over again in Daredevil Season 2.

But hey I’m also rooting for Matt Murdock. He’s my sweetheart too. Let’s just keep our fingers crossed and be excited for one helluva season!

Come on 18th March! You can’t come soon enough!

5 thoughts on “Year of the Versus: Daredevil vs. Punisher Takes the Lead

  1. Jarvis February 17, 2016 / 6:01 PM

    Daredevil is one of those rare series which I completed in a single stretch. That in itself says everything about it. Can’t wait for the next installment. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood February 23, 2016 / 9:32 PM

      Same here Jarvis 😀 My Brother, Dad, and I completed the Daredevil Bingewatch in just two days 😛

      Like

  2. Jay February 24, 2016 / 7:40 PM

    At least if it’s TV I can avoid it!

    Like

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

