Deadpool: Marvel’s Finest Creation Yet

A movie that starts of by saying that it is produced by “Asshats” and directed by “An Overpaid Tool” is a total winner in my books. šŸ˜€

I really shouldn’t admit this, but I enjoyed Deadpool way more than Star Wars: The Force Awakens and Mad Max: Fury Road. Please don’t hurt me. *hiding under the bed*

This is hands downĀ the MOST entertainingĀ movie experience I’ve ever had in my life. No hyperbole intended.

[Note: The following review is SPOILER FREE]

Deadpool Poster

MovieĀ Synopsis:

Excerpt Taken from Rotten Tomatoes:

“Deadpool tells the origin story of former Special Forces operative turned mercenary Wade Wilson, who after being subjected to a rogue experiment that leaves him with accelerated healing powers, adopts the alter ego Deadpool. Armed with his new abilities and a dark, twisted sense of humor, Deadpool hunts down the man who nearly destroyed his life.”

Deadpool

My Take on the Movie:

Before starting my review I’d like to applaud the Marketing Team of this movie. That whole departmentĀ alone deserves a special category in the Oscars.Ā I’ve read a few Marvel and DC Comics over the years but I neverĀ planned on reading Deadpool. I don’t know, I just wasn’tĀ into theĀ “Merc with a Mouth”. But the adverts and marketing of DeadpoolĀ swept me away! Seriously tho, that is the only reason I was excited to see it. Not only its trailers, TV spots, outdoor and print ads; itsĀ Social Media game was on point. I mean, just look at this!

Deadpool this Valentine's Day

If you wanna learn how to sell a hardcore, violent, raunchy, action-packed, comic-based movieĀ at a time of the year when girls are squealing to their boyfriends to take them to a sappy rom-com, then please contact the person who made this cover šŸ˜› Simply genius šŸ˜€

Coming back to the review.

I have nothing against Marvel movies – I’m a huge die hard fan – but we all know that they are popular for their big budgets, the big names, big-time superheroes, loud mind-blasting action, over-usage of CGI and their snarkyĀ but cute humor here and there. Ant Man was a very fine exception from that rule, and I love that oneĀ to bits; butĀ what I loved the MOST about Deadpool (another movie with a tight budget) were it’s unique styleĀ ofĀ storytelling and script.

My goodness, thisĀ is how you turn aĀ painfully overdone superhero formula into a BENCHMARKĀ for all other comic-bookĀ films.

The Storytelling:

The movie ingeniously goes back and forth into past and present narratives and doesn’t give off even a single dull moment. You care about Wade/Deadpool even though he’s a foul mouthedĀ a**hole (an adorable foul mouthed a**hole) andĀ you care about his girlfriend and their relationship even though they only show you a total of 10 minutes ofĀ it. I LOVEĀ it when a story makes you care about the characters right off the bat. So the Past sets up the entire sentimental value and the Present is a wild, non-stop rollercoaster ride that has you in fits.

The Script:

I didn’t catch half the dialogues of the movie because the audience was going crazy with laughter all the time. Deadpool doesn’t let you rest. At all. Every time that guy opens his mouth it’s pearls of crude and hilarious wisdom!

Deadpool is probably the most Rated R Marvel movie. Visually there isn’t THAT much blood and gore, but the language and jokes are 100% inappropriate for kids. So don’t bring any when you go see this one. It’s not slapstick comedy. It’s raunchy, it’s harsh, it’s crude, and sometimes it’s downright cruel. Thank God my theater showed the uncut version. But that’s still not what makes it stand out from the crowd.

This movie is very self-aware and painfully honest. As most of you know Deadpool is the only character in the Marvel Universe who can break the Fourth Wall. He knows he’s in a comic. He knows he’s starring in a movie. He knows that what the studio did to the Deadpool in X-Men Origins: Wolverine was a disgrace on the face of Marvel šŸ˜› He knows that his Green Lantern role SUCKED! And WadeĀ makes plenty ofĀ comments about all of these things, and it’s hysterical. šŸ˜€

The visual humor is spot on as well. Ryan Reynolds was BORN for this role, becauseĀ the viewers can see he’s having the time of his life playingĀ it.

Don’t Forget About The Music:

I haven’t seen a movie make use of music with such perfection in a long time. MostĀ of it is a blast from the past, ranging fromĀ Salt-N-Pepa’s “Shoop” and George Michael’s classic “Careless Whisper“, Chicago’s “You’re the Inspiration” and Juice Newton’s “Angel of the Morning” to fairly newer hits like DMX’s “X Don’t Give It To Ya” and Flo Rida’s “GDFR“.

Deadpool Singing

Yes, these wereĀ already in my music library. Yes, I sang along to all of them during the film. Yes, I enjoyed myself very much šŸ˜€

Final Thoughts:

I hope that Deadpool cashes in the big bucks at the box officeĀ because then these studios will finally realize that they don’t need to includeĀ 13 year olds in their demographicĀ in order to make the Superhero movie a success. Please, give us some more Rated R Superhero movies. Please. Go back towards the roots of the comic books!

A lot of people might not agree to this point of view, and they might hate the sort of humor this movieĀ had – and I totally respect your opinion – but Deadpool is a breath of fresh air in the cinematic world where comic book movies have to “play safe”.

Potahto Rating:

10 out of 10 Potahtos

10 thoughts on “Deadpool: Marvel’s Finest Creation Yet

  1. Uday February 14, 2016 / 10:34 PM

    Omg why didn’t I catch this movie this week!!! šŸ˜¦ šŸ˜¦ Now I have to wait till next Saturday!

    Like

  2. jabrush1213 February 14, 2016 / 11:00 PM

    Thank you for this review, I have yet to hear one bad thing about Deadpool. Cannot wait to see this movie!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cici February 17, 2016 / 11:14 AM

    I haven’t watched it yet. WHY?? šŸ˜¦ Lol! That poster! Best marketing I’ve seen in a while. I’ve always liked Deadpool even did a quiz and it said my comic book character was him.
    I totally agree comic books are not just for the teen market they should rethink making more in the R rated category.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood February 23, 2016 / 9:44 PM

      Exactly, and majority of the readers are young adults! We deserve some hardcore blood and gore šŸ˜›
      Btw have you NOW seen it?? Plz say yes and give me your detailed review šŸ˜€ Can’t wait to hear more from you :3

      Liked by 1 person

      • Cici February 24, 2016 / 10:54 AM

        I am depressed to say this but I have yet to see it. I keep postponing. šŸ˜¦ this weekend probably!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Girl in the green $hrug February 23, 2016 / 9:39 PM

    Ooh, your review prepared me for the movie! šŸ˜€ and man oh man, every joke, was pun intended! Plus, the ending? We waited 10 mins for the credits to roll out, and to see him mock us šŸ˜€ šŸ˜‰

    Like

  5. Akhiz March 4, 2016 / 10:24 PM

    It was like watching WWE suddenly switching from PG back to the awesome Attitude era. Deadpool ticked all the boxes which makes a truly entertaining and refreshing superhero movie. Deadpool for President (PM in our case)

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood March 13, 2016 / 12:13 PM

      Hahaha oh man XD The world would be a better place if Deadpool could be President of the WORLD šŸ˜› I hadn’t laughed THIS much during a movie in ages man, AGES.. So glad you loved it too ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Phil Taylor April 13, 2016 / 4:57 PM

    I don’t know how I missed this before, but I agree 100%. Deadpool was one of the funniest movies I’ve ever seen.

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

