“25” by Adele: The Wait Was Worth It

The most anticipated album of 2015 was released three days ago, and then suddenly, life was the right amount of perfect. Adele’s “25” is currently shattering all records, and for good reason: it’s the best thing that has happened to the music industry in the past 4 years.

Adele 25 Cover
Image Courtesy: http://www.digitalspy.com

The thing that I loved the most about 25 was that it was so… optimistic. I was expecting a LOT of tear-jerkers (“Hello” and “When We Were Young” being the only ones that made me ugly-cry) but most of the songs in it are about celebrating love, not brooding over it. I was continuously smiling while listening to this entire album.

Next came the challenge: to shortlist my Top 5 Favorite songs from it. Ergh, that was one of the toughest things I’ve had to do this year, only because no track – and I mean NOT A SINGLE TRACK – was mediocre. Nope. That’s a rarity.

So without further ado, let me share which 5 songs I think are the ones that I’ll keep listening to all my entire life.

#5 – Sweetest Devotion:

Ah yes, the song after listening to which it suddenly dawned on me that if/whenever I get married, “Sweetest Devotion” will definitely be in my Wedding Playlist 😀 You hear that Future Hub-Hub? We’ll be dancing to this one.

Jokes aside, at the beginning and end of this song you can hear the laugh of a small child for a few seconds. Which means that this one is specifically written for and dedicated to Adele’s wonderful boyfriend Simon whose the amazing father of their adorable child. I had no idea Adele had a kid. Yes, I’m super bad at following celebrity lives. But listening to it made me incredibly happy for the life Adele has now. She truly deserves all the love in this world.

You’re my life, you’re my darkness
You’re the right kind of madness
And you’re my hope, you’re my despair
You’re my scope, everything, everywhere

#4 – When We Were Young:

The ballad that made me cry for my lost love (that I never actually had in the first place). Yeah, only Adele can do that. “When We Were Young” is the most lyrically beautiful song of this album. Adele’s voice clenches your heart in its fists, and the pain engulfs you and drags you down into a bloody crying mess. Ah, just exquisite.

Mindy Cry

Let me photograph you in this light in case it is the last time
That we might be exactly like we were before we realized
We were sad of getting old, it made us restless
It was just like a movie, it was just like a song

#3 – Water Under the Bridge

Just as it starts, you know for a fact that it’s gonna turn into another favorite single for sure. It’s not a song about a woman pleading to her man, it’s about a woman FIGHTING for her man. You don’t get to hear many tracks about that, and I’ve had it up to here *indicating the tip of my head* with songs sung by men with whiny lyrics that revolve around the “please baby love me back” theme.

“Water Under The Bridge” never sounds whiny, but far from it. It’s like a semi-love semi-breakup song but with incredibly uplifting and addictive soundtrack, so in this the music + the theme take the A grade.

If you’re gonna let me down, let me down gently
Don’t pretend that you don’t want me
Our love ain’t water under the bridge.

#2 – Hello

Yikes, Hello is on #2? Oh my, blasphemy!

Relax, come on, it’s only because I love one other song MORE than this one.

There’s no need explaining why it’s in my Top 5. It brutally murdered the records on YouTube. Not because of ridiculous *cough*gangum-style*cough* reasons, but because her voice, the music, the visuals of the song and the story it depicts hits you right in the guts. It’s the complete package.

I’d be lying if I said I didn’t try singing it in the lonesome of my car.

Singing in Car

I did. I failed. Terribly. My throat completely shut down. 😀 One can not sing Adele’s high-vocals and not get their lungs burnt. THAT’s the power of her voice. God bless that woman.

Hello from the outside
At least I can say that I’ve tried
To tell you I’m sorry, for breaking your heart
But it don’t matter, it clearly doesn’t tear you apart anymore

#1 – Send My Love (To Your New Lover)

I had no idea that one day I would dance like Shakira on an Adele song 😛 This track, haha, is my dream come true. I SO wanted something like this to happen! In my honest opinion, “Send My Love” is the most perfect (perfectest, perfectererest) moving on number ever made. Step aside Taylor Swift, and take your cheeseball oh-I’m-so-over-you tracks with you.

In Send My Love, Adele is ever-confident, classy and she sounds like she’s having FUN 😀

Yes, being a mentally grown up person and moving on is a fun process, and the track flawlessly captures that intention.

Not only it takes you by complete surprise, but it also compels you to get on your feet, shake that booty and celebrate being single and free 😀

I Wanna Move It

Oh God Almighty, thank you for making Adele. She is perfection personified indeed.

Send my love to your new lover,
Treat her better,
We’ve gotta let go of all of our ghosts,
We both know we ain’t kids no more.

If you haven’t heard this album yet, just please, go, buy its entirety on iTunes, your nearest music store or whatever floats your boat and savor each and every note sung by this brilliant genius of a woman ❤

My Potahto Rating:

5 out of 5 Potahtos

14 thoughts on ““25” by Adele: The Wait Was Worth It

  1. C.S. Wilde November 23, 2015 / 9:27 PM

    I LOVE Adele, so much Potahto! ❤ Every song she writes and sings is perfectiooooon!!PS: Join my two story challeeeenge X D

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Akhiz November 23, 2015 / 10:33 PM

    oh boy, oh boy, oh boy, oh boy, oh boy, oh boy, oh boy (yup this coming from a Metalhead, Adele has that effect on people)…. was so absorbed in work that i almost forgot Adele album is out, you just made my day 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Akhiz November 28, 2015 / 2:45 PM

      PS: el-stupido saves the day again (if you know what i mean) 😛

      Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood December 1, 2015 / 8:58 PM

      Glad to do that 😀 Btw did you get the chance to give it a listen yet??

      Like

      • Akhiz December 2, 2015 / 9:32 PM

        yup downloaded the entire album at that very moment and listened it all.. 🙂

        Like

  3. 10000hoursleft November 24, 2015 / 10:36 AM

    When I heard ‘hello’ i thought yeah- undeniably a beautiful sound but i just couldn’t connect with the lyrics and thst was off putting for me. Nope, not for me. I think ill check out your number 1 pick- might just change my mind. I had her first album which I love but didn’t get into the last one (am I the only person that feels that way? Anyone else?!?). Your review on the otherhand was entertaining and a fun read 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood December 1, 2015 / 8:35 PM

      Noooo, how can you NOT love”21″? I had that entire album memorized by heart 😀 But oh it’s okay, hehe, varying tastes is what’s so wonderful about this world 😉 I hope you’ll like the other songs of “25” 🙂

      Like

  4. Jay December 1, 2015 / 8:08 PM

    Love her.
    Immediately bought this on vinyl.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood December 1, 2015 / 8:21 PM

      On vinyl ❤ *secretly feeling envious*

      Like

  5. vinnieh February 24, 2016 / 2:27 AM

    Adele is so amazingly talented, what a voice.

    Like

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

