November 9 by Colleen Hoover: “Crippling, Debilitating, Paralyzing Love”

Let me start this review by sharing what happened to me when I finished this book. It was 4:20am, I was lying in my room in the dark and everyone else at home was fast asleep. The moment I finished it, I got up from my bed – my knees shaking – closed my bedroom door, and right then and there I fell to the ground and starting crying as if these tears were held inside me for years. I cried so much I couldn’t breathe anymore. I crawled to the bed, lied face down into my pillow and bawled as loud as I could.

I was a complete mess.

Those weren’t tears of sorrow. They were tears of joy. :’)

I love you Colleen Hoover, for making me believe in love again. :’)

Image courtesy: www.goodreads.com
Image courtesy: http://www.goodreads.com

I usually read a book’s Goodreads review before starting it. I need to know what others think about it, because I hate it when I realize I’ve wasted my time with a lame story. But with November 9, I went in completely blind. I had no idea what it was about, what rating it got, how “bestselling” it was. I avoided reading anything about it like I avoid reading Game of Thrones spoilers. I only knew that it was written by CoHo.

And I would advice you to do the same.

I promise you, it will be worth it.

As for my review, it will be completely spoiler free. Yeah, there will be a few quotes here and there, but they’re only for the purpose of convincing you to read this book immediately.

Okay, now I’m just gonna rant on like an idiot about WHY I loved this book so much.

My Take on November 9:

“You’ll never be able to find yourself if you’re lost in someone else.”

THE ROMANCE:

November 9 has the most engaging and one-of-a-kind romance I’ve read in a long, long time. The formula CoHo used has been done before – obviously – but how she executed it, how she dealt with those characters and the purity of love between them (I haven’t swooned so much in YEARS), and that mind-boggling twist near the end, HOLY GUACAMOLE, it left my head spinning.

It made me feel ALL THE FEELS!!!

“You left with my soul in your fists and my heart in your teeth, and I don’t want either of them back.”

I have plenty of experience with romance novels but this time there was something different. You know when you read/watch an amazing love story and you say to yourself, “Yeah right, THAT’S never happening to me. I’m gonna become a cat-lady and die alone.”

Abeeha the Cat Lady

But in November 9, Ben and Fallon’s love seemed too real. So real that it made me believe that one day I too can have something like that. Do you remember what I said in the beginning? About me crying like a baby? It was because I suddenly knew it in my heart that I WILL find my Ben someday :’)

“I’m in love with her. Like, really in love with her. Crippling, debilitating, paralyzing love.”

Laughing-Crying Matthew

HELPED ME COPE WITH MY OWN ISSUES:

“I hope they laugh at you, Fallon. If people are laughing at you, it means you’re putting yourself out there to be laughed at. Not enough people have the courage to even take that step.”

November 9 helped me deal with my own insecurities, and oh boy I have plenty of em’. It helped me in accepting my own flaws, and actually celebrate them. But most of all it made me feel ashamed for HAVING those insecurities. I don’t usually realize how blessed I am to have this life, to have this face, this body, this heart. CoHo taught me that it’ll be a privilege for someone to be with me! Haha, yeah I shouldn’t really exaggerate my chances, but still, it’s a nice feeling to have, to be in love with yourself. :’)

FIGHT FOR YOUR DREAMS BUT NEVER TAKE YOUR LOVED ONES FOR GRANTED:

“This is real life, and in the real world you have to bust your ass for the happy ever after! When you find love, you take it. You grab it with both hands and you do everything in your power not to let it go. You can’t just walk away from it and expect it to linger until you’re ready for it.”

I’m the kind of girl who puts her ambitions above all else. Fallon had this rule that she won’t allow herself to fall in love until she’s 23 (or until she’s mentally mature enough), and that’s exactly how I take life as well. I live it for my dreams, and I try to stay away from love like it’s cancer for my progress. I believe it’ll only be a roadblock for me. But after November 9, it was like I suddenly woke up, and made a promise to myself that whenever that opportunity rises, I will grab it with both hands and I will do everything in my power to make them happy. And this goes for all my relations (family, friends or others). Money and fame is something that’ll come and go. But love, that’s the only thing in the world worth fighting for.

Tom Hiddleston my Love

“When I say you just know it’s because you will. You won’t question it, You don’t wonder if what you feel is actually love, because when it is, you’ll be absolutely terrified that you’re in it. And when that happens, your priorities will change. You won’t think about yourself and your own happiness. You’ll only think about that person, and how you would do anything to see them happy. Even if it meant walking away from them and sacrificing your own happiness for theirs.”

NOT TO FORGET, IT WAS ALSO HILARIOUS:

It’s one of those RARE romances which tries its utmost best to let you have a fun time. CoHo wrote it with a specific mission in her mind: to make the reader feel drunk with happiness.

The witty banter between Bellon (Ben + Fallon) and the moments they have are so incredibly adorable and charming that you can’t help but giggle all the time. You cry because you’re happy, not because of the overflow of tragedy. Of course, there are some emotionally obliterating moments as well, but they are few and far between.

OKAY, ENOUGH, LET’S WRAP IT UP!

Thank you Colleen Hoover for introducing me to these people who reignited my belief in love. Thank you for creating a world that was real, with real problems, with real emotions, with real struggles. If I keep counting every single thing I loved about this book, this blog post is gonna turn exhaustively long, so I’m just gonna cut myself short now.

Please, anyone whose reading this, please just go, buy this book, hold it close to your heart, cherish it, read it again and again and witness what a real love story feels like.

She “loved me” in quotations

She kissed me in bold

I TRIED TO KEEP HER in all caps

She left with an ellipsis…

Potahto Rating:

1000 out of 1000 Potahtos. Take all my Potahtos.

29 thoughts on “November 9 by Colleen Hoover: “Crippling, Debilitating, Paralyzing Love”

  1. KJ November 15, 2015 / 7:16 PM

    All the potahtos? That’s a lot of potahtos.

    Liked by 1 person

      • KJ November 15, 2015 / 7:46 PM

        Good ramen almighty, calm down!
        The rating means you don’t have any potahtos left. Think about the future. Do you have any potahtos left over for Looking for Alaska or The God of Small Things? Because I have a feeling you’ll like those two books that I’ve totally not read because, yo, I’m super hard-core.

        Liked by 2 people

      • A.B Mood November 15, 2015 / 10:41 PM

        Woah you’re right! Damn, now I gotta order a bigass shipment of Potahtos. :/
        Btw, I did read Looking for Alaska, only gave it 3. It was very economical for me.

        Liked by 1 person

      • KJ November 16, 2015 / 12:48 AM

        Economical how? Like it seemed as though there was a discount on its attempts to be as John Green as possible?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Akhiz November 16, 2015 / 1:00 AM

    nice review spoiler free and full of quotes, although romance is a genre i keep myself away from reading (a gud friend is still angry with me on why i still haven’t read her bday gift after a year) i may give this one a shot …

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood November 21, 2015 / 1:09 PM

      What is it with guys and romance novels? 😛 Yeah sure some romantic chick-lit is cringe worthy, but if you want good suggestions do ask me (I hate Nicholas Sparks books, so you can trust me in this regard) 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 10000hoursleft November 16, 2015 / 2:43 PM

    So, you liked this book then? 🙂

    Ben will be a lucky guy when he finds you.

    Totally on a tangent, but to do with judging a book by it’s cover – Here, we write dates as day / month / year, so when I saw November 9 I assumed it was 9 / 11 totally forgetting that that wasn’t THAT date- anyway, I spent part of the time reading your blog thinking it was a love story with a massive tragedy. Sorry to be a downer- just an unfortunate choice of title maybe…Like, would it have ruined the plot to be November 7 or November 14?

    I will check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood November 21, 2015 / 1:04 PM

      Woah you’re right! Yeah naming it November 10 would’ve been just as fine 😀 Too bad some people misunderstood the title 😦
      And yes please do check it out! Totally a heart-beat skipping romance ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Problems With Infinity November 20, 2015 / 10:09 AM

    Oh I’ll have to check it out!! I haven’t read many romance-y type books (except I am a total sucker for old timey romances like ones by Susan Holloway Scott), but their are a few fictiony romance authors I’ve really adored in the past.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood November 21, 2015 / 12:39 PM

      You know my favorite genre is psychological horror (thanks for getting me addicted, Stephen King) but I like romance as well. It’s like my go-to when I’m feeling lonely about my excruciatingly single life (yes, I’m lame). But not that Nicholas Sparks type cheesy chick-lit. It makes my brain vomit. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • Problems With Infinity November 21, 2015 / 2:50 PM

        Haha, ok now I want to read it even more! I don’t like the Nicholas Sparks style either (unless of course it’s set in medieval times or space or some fantasy world, then all bets are off!)

        Liked by 1 person

  5. archana235 November 21, 2015 / 6:20 PM

    I’ve GOT to read this. I have soft corner for romantic novels however ‘love is for pansies’ I am on the inside. 😛
    And when you say it’s funny too, you bet I’m going to read it.
    And when you say that the protagonist is a down to earth, not so gullible like snow white kind of girl, you bet I’m going to read it.
    And when you say 1000 out of 1000 potahtos, I bet you can guess the rest.
    Lol thanks for this awesomesauce review. =D
    Which reminds me, wait right there, I’m coming over with some sauce for all those potahtos.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood November 23, 2015 / 7:24 PM

      Oh no she’s the complete OPPOSITE of Snow White. :3
      And oh please please read it soooon, I so wanna hear what you think about it! All the friends I’ve recommended it to have devoured it in one day and have drooled over the story for days 😛
      And of course you can have an infinite amount of Potahtos from me, my dearest sweetest adorablest (that a word?) Arch :* ❤

      Like

      • archana235 December 6, 2015 / 1:48 PM

        Hahahaha yayy ❤
        GOSH. I couldn't even think straight after hours of binge reading yesterday. IT WAS SO GOOD IT MESSED WITH MY MIND. I could try and write a review for this but all I'll arrive at is probably 'GAH, what are you doing here NOT reading this book??' and other such fangirling phrases which have become a very commonplace thing for the people I hang out with to hear from me. The real deal is when I get them to read it too and then to welcome them to this other beautiful side of the world.

        Lol I loved Ben from the very first words of him entering the story.

        Thanks a ton for the suggestion. ^_^

        Like

  6. abyssbrain November 23, 2015 / 8:57 PM

    Sometimes, it’s actually quite interesting to randomly pick some book to read and then be pleasantly surprised that you really liked it very much. Though I rarely do it anymore, I still do it every now and then.

    Btw, a friend of mine told me a while ago that he was kicked out of his clan in Clash of Clans because of giving Game of Thrones spoilers… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood December 1, 2015 / 9:14 PM

      Hahaha yeah us book nerds are very touchy on the topic of spoilers 😛 I mean, if anyone had spoiled the events of the Red Wedding to me, I could’ve have punched them in the nose for that. o_o
      And you’re right, picking up a random book and giving it a shot happens almost never now.. We rely on reviews too much and they somewhat shape your opinion for you. Same goes with movies. We should surprise ourselves more 🙂

      Like

  7. Miss Book Thief November 24, 2015 / 11:54 AM

    Oh this was such an amazing review! I was a mess after reading this book. *sigh* It was soooo amazing. *faraway look*

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood December 1, 2015 / 8:32 PM

      I wish they NEVER make a movie out of it.. I don’t know why but a book’s value is diminished somewhat if it gets adapted :/ The same happened with The Fault in Our Stars -_-

      Liked by 1 person

      • Miss Book Thief December 12, 2015 / 12:46 PM

        I know. And, don’t even get me started on the Harry Potter movies. -_-

        Like

  8. Mithai Mumblezz November 24, 2015 / 3:20 PM

    This was such a soulful review!! I can understand how much overwhelming the bk must hv been by reading your words. Wl definitely gv it a try 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Mon ☠ December 12, 2015 / 7:30 PM

    Wow. 1000/1000 potato? I gott read it then! I love the quotes from the book. 😊😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood December 25, 2015 / 6:21 PM

      I believe every person on this planet should read this book once ^_^ It makes you feel all gooey and cutesy inside :3

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

