“Until Dawn”: Another Breakthrough in Survival-Horror Gaming

If I had to summarize Until Dawn in one sentence it would be that this game is the perfect blend of all those Hollywood movies that are the pinnacle of psychological horror cinema; movies like Psycho, The Shining, Scream, The Descent, Saw and Cabin in the Woods. This game is all of them rolled into one!

Image Courtesy: www.videogamesblogger.com
Image Courtesy: http://www.videogamesblogger.com

Before proceeding any further, I would suggest that you play the following Theme Song of Until Dawn. Yeah, you’re already in love with the game, aren’t ya? 😉

The Plot:
Taken from Until Dawn Wikia

“When eight friends become trapped on a remote mountain getaway gone wrong, things quickly turn sinister and they start to suspect they aren’t alone. Every choice the player makes while playing as each of the eight friends – even the seemingly trivial ones – will carve out a unique story. The player’s actions alone determine who survives until dawn.”

My Take on the Game:

Let me be clear, I don’t appreciate games in which you’re just this big badass with a massive gun and you just run around shooting people (or creatures) and stuff without any solid purpose in mind. I crave a meaningful plot and characters that I can relate to. The last time I loved a game this much was when I played “Heavy Rain” back in 2010.

I’m not a pro gamer; that’s why I won’t get into the technical nitty-gritty details. If you want that, stop reading and go to Gamespot or Metacritic or something. The forthcoming rant is all coming from a gal who just adores classic horror.

Enjoy the Horror

Until Dawn isn’t a tough game at all. It all revolves around pressing the right buttons when the QTEs are prompted, using your right stick to select actions/responses and keeping your controller very still when told while holding your breath so that the Wendigo don’t find you and rip your head off.

The reason why I finished it in ONE day wasn’t because it was easy or short (it has an approx. 9 hours of gameplay), but because it was so NERVE-SHATTERING and ADDICTIVE that I couldn’t bring myself to put the controller down.

The Reasons Why I Loved It:

Story and Gameplay:

Until Dawn is all about choices. “To every action there is always an equal or opposite reaction.” It all comes down to triggering the right butterfly effect. Making conscience decisions and overcoming moral dilemmas is the biggest challenge and it leaves you emotionally EXHAUSTED. You and your friends’ destinies are dependent upon your choices, and I’m proud to say that only one of my players died (the one who I didn’t even like that much) 😛

As for the story, haha oh boy. This game is FILLED with the classic horror movie cliches. Jumpscares (oh there are plenty of them), teenagers out partying in the lodge/cabin on a mountain and a terrifying psycho in a mask hunting them down, crazy cannibalistic creatures in the woods, creepy backstory of torture and weird medical experiments, friends turning on each other etc. It’s all very exciting to finally experience how it must feel to be the victim in movies like that 😀

The Characters:

Until Dawn Characters

Another strong point of this game was its incredibly likable characters. Yes, ALL of them. Even the bitchy and assholic ones, because they were relateable. We’ve all known people like them at least once in our lives. The funny and goofy one, the one whose a little bit stupid but a complete sweetheart, the one who cares more about her phone than her boyfriend, the kind and brave one, the one who always wants to take care of his/her friends but no one truly appreciates the poor guy/gal, the one whose a real jerk but proves his worth when you need him, the one who acts funny on the outside but is broken inside.

Yeah, we’ve all had friends like that (or you are one yourself), and saving such characters’ lives by making the right decisions was the best experience I’ve had in gaming.

Atmosphere and Score:

The art director of Until Dawn is a genius! The atmosphere he has created is… terrifying yet BEAUTIFUL! The entire game takes place in the dark hours before dawn, within the locations of a lodge, the woods, a sanitorium and mines. You can truly feel that the creative team behind this game are true horror movie fans because they have taken those ideas from the movies and implemented them to create a bone-chilling world for all of us.

Image Courtesy: www.kotaku.com
Image Courtesy: kotaku.com

As for the score, is ‘O Death posted above not enough for you? 😀 But that’s just one track – it does sum up the whole feel of the game – but the rest of the score that goes on in the background during the gameplay, THAT is what makes mundane situations incredibly scary and the tense situations all the more frightening.

That soundtrack, that atmosphere, plus that gameplay where anything can happen anytime; you just can’t relax your muscles while playing Until Dawn. 😀 It keeps you on your toes. I have cramped my own shoulders because of it. But it was so worth it.

If you own a PS4 please get yourself a copy. You might not like it if you’re not a horror fan (btw I can never trust someone who doesn’t love the horror genre), but I promise you even then you’ll have the most amazing time playing it.

Potahto Rating:

5 out of 5 Potahtos

12 thoughts on ““Until Dawn”: Another Breakthrough in Survival-Horror Gaming

  1. KJ October 26, 2015 / 7:43 PM

    I will save my words because I get overexcited when discussing certain topics, especially over the Internet.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. KJ October 26, 2015 / 8:42 PM

    Okay then.
    Yes! The game is all those movies and Silent Hill rolled into one! They don’t just throw jump-scares at you like they do in those Freddy games.
    I’m not really a fan of QTE-heavy games, but I gave this one a shot and I wasn’t disappointed. But sometimes I got distracted by the game’s visuals and stuff and didn’t press the button in time. that’s how most of my characters died. Died because the anisotropic filtering on them was looking good. Speaking of visuals, the graphics are AWESOME! The mocap is great, and I loved how in the game, Josh moves exactly like the guy he is based on. The psychiatrist still creeped me out. He didn’t have natural movements. I tried to lie on his little tests, by saying I was afraid of stuff that I wasn’t really afraid of, but it still got me.
    I didn’t like all the characters. I especially didn’t like Emily. I liked Sam.
    The butterfly effect was way better than what they had in Mass Effect.
    I hope they don’t ruin this series.
    I don’t love the horror genre, so DO NOT trust me.
    What did I miss?

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 30, 2015 / 7:30 PM

      Woah I couldn’t agree more! To be honest I hate QTEs.. I’m so bad at them! I don’t know why but I have trouble remembering the positions of Sqaure and Circle -_- So I had to sometimes restart the game just so I could get them right! Eesshh..

      You know Josh was among my top favorite characters in the game, coz Rami Malek did such a great job in his role as this psycho who I empathized with. Very complex and alluring character.

      I somewhat like Emily 😀 She was just too much of a pain in the arse but she was kinda cute in her meanness 😛 Reminded me those women from the movie “Mean Girls”.

      And nah, you didn’t miss anything :3 Glad to hear to loved the game just as much!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Problems With Infinity November 1, 2015 / 11:34 AM

    Woh okay, my boyfriend has been wanting to play this one, but I’ve been wayyy too scared to try! I might have to get drunk one night and give it a go!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood November 4, 2015 / 1:17 PM

      Haha it’s not really as scary as it is mentally straining. I do strongly suggest that you try it out yourself 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jay November 1, 2015 / 10:27 PM

    Sounds like this one will keep you busy for a while!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood November 4, 2015 / 1:28 PM

      Hehe I’ve already finished it twice 😀 Now moving on to the new Need For Speed :3

      Like

  5. abyssbrain November 23, 2015 / 9:07 PM

    I just purchased a ps4 conaole 2 weeks ago (it’s been a while since I played on a console since I usually played on a computer/laptop these days despite of some games not optimized for computer). So, I’ll definitely try this game.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood December 1, 2015 / 9:09 PM

      Heyyy congratulations on the most awesome purchase ever 😀 I’d suggest you get GTAV, Until Dawn ofcourse, Fallout 4 just came out and (I’ve heard) it’s pretty awesome, and if you’re into RPGs then Witcher 3 is a MUST! Start out with these

      Like

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

