Another Year Has Gone By

No, this post isn’t about the Celine Dion song. It’s about the day I said hello to this world. Yeah guys, I just got a year older today! Hooray for me!

I stopped celebrating my birthday a few years ago. For those of you who have been with me on this blog since the beginning know that I’ve went through some really shitty years. Years in which I made bad friends, trusted the wrong people, and let them take complete control over my life. Those are the people who made me hate my birthday. It was like the one day in the entire year when I could feel absolutely horrible about myself.

Crying Clown

Once I got over that terrible period in my life I decided to no longer give a shit about this day. I started to hide my D.O.B from my new friends, hid it from all my online profiles, and strictly told my family to respect my wishes and never indulge in any celebration. All of their efforts to make me happy on this day were futile because I was too stuck up on the past.

But 2015 has been a life-changing year for me. It has been by far the happiest year of my life (the reasons of which are exclusive to me, myself and I). A few days ago my Mom came to me and said, “Stop being such a tight-ass. Let us celebrate this year. I don’t give a damn what other people say but you are special to us; this day is special to ALL OF US.” As usual, I protested at first, but I just couldn’t let her down (she was looking so excited), so I promised that I’ll be on my best – and happiest – behavior on the “big day”.

*Warning: This post might turn a little “Facebook-y”. I don’t mean to rub in my happiness in anyone’s face, I just want to save this feeling in writing so that when I look back I know how happy I was.*

My Future Husband (whoever he is) would be so ecstatic after hearing this that I’m not a big fan of spending money on myself. I only spend it on ice-cream. Who needs THINGS when you can have ice cream?? But five days back I thought that treating yourself once in a while is okay – especially on your birthday – so I went online and ordered a laptop skin which I’ve been wanting for a while. On Thursday I received the parcel and voilà, look at this beauty 😀 I think it looks pretty darn cool.

IMG_20151024_1643158282
SMPTE color bars are AWESOME!

I got this idea while watching “Episodes“.

Episodes

It’s the most perfect show and its review is coming soon. Stay tuned!

Now, last night, as the clock struck midnight, my Mom, Dad, and Bro all jumped on me (yeah, all at once and they’re all super heavy), picked me up and made me dance with them (without music – it was just us yelling)! The silliest most ridiculous kind of dance 😀 After that we ate a full bowl of Strawberry Custard my Mom made for me. And then came the gifts. Yay!!

Excited

My Pops got me just the kind of handbag I’ve always wanted. These kinds of branded bags are just too expensive; I never had that much money to spare and I felt bad for asking my parents to get me one.  I don’t know how he knew my exact taste – I was pleasantly surprised by his choice – but darn, doesn’t it look FABULOUS? Check out this beauty. ❤

IMG_20151024_1646265061
Black is Classy

My Bro gifted me the one game I’ve been dying to play for MONTHS! Yesss, “Until Dawn“, the most super-fantabulous survival-horror game of this year!

IMG_20151024_1651219091
Aww the skeleton’s so pretty! ❤

I’ve been glued to the screen playing it since morning, and its like being a part of a gruesome teen slasher movie. Really gets the adrenaline pumping! 😀

My Mom gave me two gifts: one was a delicious dinner at the restaurant of my choice (sorry, no pictures of the food because I hate doing it.. It’s just too damn idiotic) and the second was the best gift I’ve ever received in my entire life! It was a $1 DVD.

Now you must be thinking “That’s the best gift you’ve ever gotten? Man, you’re cheap.” But in the contents of that DVD is a video which was made back in 1995; it’s the video of a birthday party I had when I was two years old 😀

Apparently my Mum found this video cassette in our old stash and had it converted to an everlasting DVD. You remember video cassettes? Damn, I loved those big old things.

Back then we used to have such grand birthday parties! We invited the entire family, the neighbors, my parents work buddies (practically EVERYONE we knew). Today I watched it with the family and… have you ever cried constantly for 50 minutes? I have.

Watching it was… like being attacked by a Nuclear-Nostalgia-Bomb. Seeing that child-like wonder in my eyes. That happiness. That excitement. My youthful parents. My relatives who no longer want a relationship with us. The grandparents who’ve left this world. I haven’t cried like this… in ages.

Just look at me :’D

Little Potahto

Look at that little critter 😀 Those Bugs Bunny teeth! And I am seriously ROCKING that ‘do! 😛

My Family

And that’s me cutting my birthday cake alongside my Mum, Dad and Bro. The beautiful little family :’) Mashaa Allah!

I couldn’t help but wonder, how did I let this feeling die? When did I become such a cynic? Why didn’t I realize it earlier that I was always expecting the wrong things from the wrong people? My family was always there beside me. Waiting for me. They still love me exactly the way they used to love me then. Their love never changed. It might’ve even increased in fact. They’ve never left my side even when I acted like a complete a$$hole. I feel so foolish right now.

I’m sorry if this post has been a headache to read. I know I’m not the best of writers (not even a good one) but I just wanted to let it out on record so that the next time I decide to act like a bitch in front of my family, I should open this post and realize what a grave mistake I’m about to make.

Don’t do it Abeeha. Don’t take your family for-granted. Remember this feeling. Remember to cherish each and every moment with them. Be thankful. Be grateful for the life you have.

Fin.

58 thoughts on “Another Year Has Gone By

  1. Uday October 25, 2015 / 12:09 AM

    Okay I’m too late now bit BELATED BIRTHDAY WISHES dear!!! ❤ This was such a joy to read because I can relate so much to it too. And guess what, I have a CD (not DVD, mind you :P) of my birthday party celebration from my 4th year, which my grandpa converted out of the video cassettes! And btw, how I used to love those big bulky things! 😀
    Also, you have the coolest brother ever! 🙂 I mean, a PS4 game? And Until Dawn is just amzinggggg!! 😀
    I don't celebrate my birthdays too, but man this just makes me jelly 😛

    Love and light.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jarvis October 25, 2015 / 12:49 AM

    I HAVE to give it to your brother here. Best and the coolest brother around. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 26, 2015 / 1:53 PM

      Amirighht? I finished the game in just one day, man. ONE DAY! It was an unforgettable experience.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jarvis October 26, 2015 / 4:22 PM

        Guys out there…this is one gaming girl you wouldn’t want to mess with. 😛 Don’t tell later, you weren’t warned. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. desleyjane October 25, 2015 / 2:34 AM

    Good on you for agreeing to let them celebrate this year. Happy birthday and enjoy your presents and your time with your family. I understand your need to ignore the day but I’m glad you could see the good in it as well. Love seeing the pics and love the sentiment at the end as well, about using this post as a reminder. X

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 26, 2015 / 1:56 PM

      Thank you so much Desley :’) It truly was the best birthday I’ve had in years ❤ Love to make you guys a part of it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. 10000hoursleft October 25, 2015 / 3:19 AM

    That was beautiful! Happy Birthday! What a joyous post! What a beautiful family! And what a cutie!!! I’m glad you allowed yourself to celebrate- great imagery with your family’s happy dance and the strawberry custard 🙂 oh, and I love the laptop skin too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 26, 2015 / 1:58 PM

      Hahaha thank youu.. I really was very cute, wasn’t I? 😀 Although I’m not so sure about the haircut 😛
      And yaass, I’m in love with my laptop skin ❤
      Thank you so much for being a part of my happiness ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • 10000hoursleft October 26, 2015 / 2:14 PM

        Yes, you were 🙂 I think dodgy haircuts are a right of passage. I had one which was bald all over except a round tuft of hair on my forehead- I think you can picture how ridiculous that would have looked!

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood October 26, 2015 / 2:52 PM

        Hahaha yeah it would’ve 😛 But I think children get away with anything you put on their cute little heads 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. imperfectionistgal October 25, 2015 / 7:39 AM

    Omg!!! A very happy birthday my cute little couch potahto! And not only your brother but your entire family is the coolest one ever! :’)

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 26, 2015 / 2:01 PM

      I think it’s okay to say that he/she who has a family like this is truly blessed :’) Thank you so much dearest friend :* I never share any personal happiness on Facebook (too many phonie friends there) but I feel safe to share it will you guys! You are all too my family ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. KJ October 25, 2015 / 11:43 AM

    Please tell me you screamed your lungs out at least once while playing Until Dawn so I don’t feel like I’m alone.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 26, 2015 / 2:07 PM

      Oh no buddy, you’re so not alone on this one 😀 I haven’t felt this scared and creeped out (but also excited) by a game in AGES!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. NooryaK October 25, 2015 / 11:55 AM

    Abeehaaaaa 🙂 no good in hiding the date !! Now I have to put a belated in the happy birthday Wish !! 😀
    May Allah bless you and all your sacred wishes come true 🙂
    Happy Freakin Birthday 😀
    and now about the post…
    what an honest and beautiful post… just beautiful.. I don’t have many adjectives 😛 It’s simply beautiful.. your feelings and your love 🙂
    May Allah keep you and your family happy always..
    and yes.. we should always be grateful 🙂

    P.S That handbag is delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 26, 2015 / 2:09 PM

      Oh don’t worry, only one or two adjectives will do 😛 Hehe thank you so much Noorya :’) You guys have no idea how much it means to me that you were happy in my happiness. I don’t get to feel that much 🙂 Thank you again and again ❤
      P.S. That bad really is the bomb! ❤ 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • NooryaK October 26, 2015 / 2:17 PM

        Sharing is good with the right people 🙂
        Stay blessed 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood October 26, 2015 / 2:52 PM

        Btw, you okay there? That earthquake was TERRIBLE :O I’m hearing it was of 8.1 richter scale :/

        Liked by 1 person

      • NooryaK October 26, 2015 / 2:54 PM

        Yes Alhumdulillah .. It was massive !! May Allah protect everyone..

        Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 26, 2015 / 2:33 PM

      Woohoo, thank you Akhiz 😀 I will get to it as soon as I’m done reviewing Until Dawn 😛 It was so awesome!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Mon ☠ October 26, 2015 / 7:23 PM

    That’s so adorable. You are so cute!!! 😊 LOL and that thing you said about future husband.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 30, 2015 / 7:00 PM

      Hehehe thank youu ^_^ I hope he’s out there somewhere 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mon ☠ October 30, 2015 / 7:06 PM

        I got you! xD I hope mine is there too lol!

        Liked by 1 person

  9. dgkaye October 27, 2015 / 5:53 AM

    Great post, and Happy Birthday Abeeha. I just thought I’d share that after I turned 30, I began to dread birthdays. When I turned 40 I became life-threatening ill. After that I realized how precious each birthday is. My husband always said, never shun your birthday, it means you’re on the right side of the green. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 30, 2015 / 6:59 PM

      :’) Your husband is a wise man! What a beautiful thing to say ❤ I'm sorry to hear you had to go through so much pain, but your loved ones make it all go away 🙂 Thank you much for sharing this beautiful story of yours ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Problems With Infinity November 1, 2015 / 12:25 PM

    Aw that’s such a beautiful post, and what a wonderful gift from your mom!! I’m glad 2015 has been a good year for you, hoping my life kicks back into good status for 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood November 4, 2015 / 1:22 PM

      My Mom sure knows how to give a gift! Thank you so much dear for your sugary sweet words ❤ I also hope allll the coming years are simply FABULOUS for you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  11. archana235 November 4, 2015 / 3:55 PM

    Abeehaaaaaa.
    I APOLOGIZE FOR HAVING BEEN LIVING UNDER A ROCK.(God knows how I missed this post alone of yours. *taps head for being blind or WP for being dysfunctional, whichever it was*)
    Happy birthday oh my god this made me so happy right now gah. :’D
    Wowow your family’s enthusiasm. Here it’s usually just oh happy birthday but wait, let’s list down all the cons of ordering a cake because of all of it’s detrimental health impacts. Health freak mum 😛
    Hahah I totally get it. Facebook’s motto should be ‘A place to rub it in!’. But this post was an absolute delight. And it somehow made my day.
    That bag 🙂 it’s so beautiful! Lol i’m guilty of being bag-obsessed too.
    Have a great great year while I’m here being envious of that laptop cover and everythang. Jk. 🙂
    Anywho. Happie burthhdayyy and 10 days, cutie patootie Potahto. =D (lol I just had to do that. Please pardon the annoying baby voice. I’m that excited. :P)

    Oohh also, try doing this thing this year where you write in little chits about a good day or something really memorable that happened and store it in a jar. Next year, on your birthday, dump it out and read them all to make you feel smiley all over about how great the year really was. =)

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood November 7, 2015 / 11:47 AM

      OH MY GOD EEEEEE!! *happy squealing* 😀
      Thank you thank you thank you thank you sooooooo much for the best comment EVER 😛 😀 I’m feeling that birthday excitement all over again just becuase of your comment 😀 Hahaha oh man, thank you so much :’)
      Noooo, you weren’t living under a rock!! Don’t you dare say anything about my Archana ^,^
      Btw “Cutie Patootie” is my new favorite word now 😛
      I wish I could meet you and give you an actual hug :* but for now let’s settle with this virtual one 😛 *hugsssss*
      And that’s a great idea! That will be like my Happiness Jar! I will totes do it now!
      Thank you so much again my sweet pea ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • archana235 November 8, 2015 / 7:06 PM

        Hahahahah :’D
        YESS. Can’t stop teethy smiling. 😀
        *bear hugs* hahaa. ^_^ ♡
        YAYY!
        I’m not making sense now lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood November 14, 2015 / 11:27 AM

        Hahahaha naah girl you perfect sense 😀 :* ❤

        Like

  12. Mithai Mumblezz November 11, 2015 / 2:56 AM

    Gosh I’m so late with the wishes!!
    But wishing you a very happy marvellous and fantabulous b’day!!
    May you have wonderful year ahead and just be awesome like you always are!!!!!
    Love the gifts!!!! Absolutely swag and the family pic is adorable 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood November 14, 2015 / 11:32 AM

      Hehe yeah we look like the perfect South Asian family 😛 When I look back at the old pictures of my Dad I always thought he looked like those Marathi/Tamil heroes 😀
      And thank you again darling, you’re the best :* ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  13. shetty25 November 11, 2015 / 6:15 PM

    This one’s from the heart and that’s what makes it so beautiful. Glad that you found your way to back to happiness again. Much love.
    Could you check my blog out too?

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood November 14, 2015 / 11:35 AM

      Hey woah of course!! You’re starting out new here but from reading your posts, I think you’ll be a rockstar on WordPress soon 😉 Welcome to my WP Family darling! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

