Happiness is: Getting my First Pen Tablet!

Genius MousePen
My Genius MousePen i608

I remember the time when I first decided to pursue Graphic Design. It really wasn’t out of passion; I just wanted to get a certificate so that it would look “cool” on my résumé. I attended this 4 month course from The Institute of Animation and Design, and the teacher there really helped me realize my potential in this field. After those four months I still wasn’t “in love” with graphic designing; I thought of it as a chore.

What made me fall in love with it was this guy named Shahzaib Hussain; he’s this digital artist who makes these really cute cartoons about daily life/events, and he sometimes raises social awareness through his artwork. He’s not the only one. In Pakistan we have these AMAZING artists who are perfect at what they do. Some use art as a comic relief (Comics by Arslan), and some use it to just express themselves (No Life Doodler). These are just a few; there are THOUSANDS of people out there whose only passion in life is art. Digital art. Shahzaib’s work really effected me, because he’s this genuinely kind person IRL, and he doesn’t just kid around all the time, he also tackles issues in our society in a lighthearted but effective way. Same goes for Arslan Naseer of “Comics by Arslan”.

When I saw these people I wished that one day I can too make an attempt to raise my voice in such an powerful manner. Come on, let’s admit it; people think reading long articles is boring. If you want to send a message quickly and effectively, sometimes imagery plays a better role than words. At least in the society in which I live, they aren’t very much enthusiastic about bloggers. I know I’m no big time writer (FAR from it), but I myself have no viewers from my own country. 😀 But lemme tell you, they are deeply influenced by digital art.

By the time I had fallen in love with this field and wanted to do it seriously, I had forgotten all the basics. 😦 I couldn’t recall anything. So I started from scratch yet again, depending on online tutorials, books and my own efforts. I’m still a beginner, and I still have no idea how long this journey will be, but I’m going ahead one step at a time.

One day I said to my Mum and Dad, “I wanna go for digital art, but it’s impossible to practice it without a pen tablet. I suck at using the mouse for this.” And just two days later they bought me my first 😀 Yes, Alhamdulillah (thanks to Allah) I have AWESOME parents ❤

It’s a Genius MousePen i608. It’s no Wacom Bamboo or Intuos (they were a bit too expensive here) but the Genius MousePen is a great tablet for beginners. My Mom and Dad have promised me that once I practice well at this one, they’ll buy me a Wacom next year ^_^

This won’t sound like a big deal to most people, but getting this pen tablet is a HUMONGOUS deal for me.

An Important Note: I DO NOT want to pursue graphic design as a “JOB”. It’s something I want to do for myself. And for myself I mean I might do a little freelancing at home once I’m finished with the job I’ll get (in whichever field, God help me in that). I might start running my own page someday. When I’m married and settled, I want to have something to myself that is MINE, which I can do whenever I want, wherever I want, as I please. I want to enjoy myself doing it.

P.S. To make a first attempt at using the pen, I tried tracing this portrait and coloring it myself. I can’t share any original artwork right now (because I SUCK at drawing) but I’m working on it. Till then, I’m gonna get used to it through tracing and copying a lot of stuff by hand. For example:

Trying Out Digital Art

It's Something

Please my dear WP Family, wish me well :3

35 thoughts on “Happiness is: Getting my First Pen Tablet!

  1. imperfectionistgal October 14, 2015 / 7:37 PM

    Woah that’s impressive! Keep doing awesome sauce stuff and add your graphics designing talent to your THIS-IS-WHY-I-AM-AWESOME list! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 15, 2015 / 8:24 PM

      Yaasss! I actually do have a “This-Is-Why-I’m-Awesome” list 😎 Hehe thanks so so very much dear. I still have a LONG way to go, but I’m really enjoying the ride ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jarvis October 14, 2015 / 10:51 PM

    You have done a fabulous work here, loved the artwork. Your parents are amazing, it just took them two days to get you one. Either they are very generous and know your true potential or you are very clever in convincing them (A trick I need to learn from you. 😉 )

    PS: A touch of a darker shade below the left brows would have done a perfect job. I feel it’s a bit naked now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 15, 2015 / 8:27 PM

      Woah, you sir, have a great eye for detail! I’ll be sure to fix that. Thanks for pointing that out!

      And as for my parents 😀 Well, they’re pretty much the coolest people I know on Earth. 🙂 They’re really generous and also know that when I decide to do something, I DO IT. ^^’

      Liked by 2 people

      • Jarvis October 16, 2015 / 2:54 PM

        You are blessed to have them as your parents. 🙂 Likewise I’m sure they’re proud of their daughter.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. archana235 October 14, 2015 / 11:22 PM

    Woahh that’s so cool! 🙂 graphic designing has always been on my ‘I could become this list’. It looks really interesting tbh!
    Haha good luck on making it big as a digital artist, though! Rooting for ya.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 15, 2015 / 8:29 PM

      Trust me Archana, ANYBODY can do it if you have the passion for it. It’s super easy to learn (once you’re through the exhaustive practice of each and every tool in Photoshop).
      And thanks deary :* Your well wishes are what keep me going ❤

      Like

      • archana235 October 16, 2015 / 12:14 PM

        That’s awesome! I SHALL try it out asap. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Uday October 15, 2015 / 12:20 AM

    Wow I cannot draw even if my life depended on it 😛 But isn’t this amazing or what! You’ve really got amazing parents. Mine would have taken a lot of coaxing and blackmailing 😀 Btw, what software do you use along with this? Photoshop?

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 15, 2015 / 8:35 PM

      Hahaha drawing really is hard 😀 I’m so terrible at it right now. It’s really frustrating that you have so many ideas in your mind but can’t put them down on paper. But I’m working on it by practicing through these tutorial books and how-to’s.. Aarghh, so tough!

      And yess it’s Photoshop. It’s pretty easy once you’re used to the tools and techniques. I still have to learn Adobe Illustrator (it’s specifically made for advanced illustrations). Ahahan so much to do, so little time 😦

      Like

  5. desleyjane October 15, 2015 / 2:33 AM

    Fabulous! How exciting for you and it looks like you’re off to a great start.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 15, 2015 / 8:37 PM

      Thanks Des 🐱 Your encouragement means the world to me ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hammad Asif October 15, 2015 / 10:05 AM

    It would be nice if you share your reviews after using that device, so I can recommend to my students who can’t afford ‘Wacom/Bamboo’ type of Stuff

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 15, 2015 / 8:43 PM

      Sure Sir! 🙂

      First of all, I’d seriously suggest all beginners to use the Genius MousePen. It has a large working space on the tab, and it works smoothly. It might seem a little hard to use in the beginning, but consistent practice is key.

      Just one issue, which might be a little problematic. It’s latest driver (online) is for Windows 8. I run Win 10, so because of that the pressure sensitivity of the pen doesn’t work for me. I have to really tweak the tools and controls for each brush so that it works in my desired manner. If pressure sensitivity worked, it would’ve been perfect. So keep this point in mind while suggesting it to your students.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. bblake10 October 15, 2015 / 8:56 PM

    You’re working that pen! You’ve the natural talent. I can’t wait to see your future outputs. Thanks for sharing.
    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Janice Wald October 18, 2015 / 1:48 AM

    Hi,
    Linking to you on my About page under testimonials. Thanks again for your kind words on Debby’s site.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 23, 2015 / 3:44 PM

      Hey thanks for featuring my comment in the testimonials! And hey don’t mention it.. It was my pleasure Janice 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 23, 2015 / 3:46 PM

      Done and done 🙂 And ooo do let me know how the Surface Pro is working out for you! I’ve heard it’s really cool! 🙂

      Like

    • A.B Mood October 23, 2015 / 3:46 PM

      Yay! I only feel better about myself when I get your approval 😛 Not kidding -,-

      Liked by 1 person

  9. C.S. Wilde October 19, 2015 / 11:38 PM

    PS: I always wanted one of those…and then I stopped drawing, so it doesn’t make much sense for me now 😦

    The moral of the story: Don’t follow the same path! Draw, draw and draw : D

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 23, 2015 / 3:48 PM

      Btw you were AMAZING at drawing/sketching. The ones you shared with me, I still have those and they are an inspiration for me. I wish one day I’ll be that good. You really shouldn’t have dropped it 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  10. wretchedanddivine October 26, 2015 / 9:12 AM

    Happiness is certainly getting a tablet!!! I’m hoping to get one next year! 😀 Post all your drawings in your blog and we can watch each other improve. ;D

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 26, 2015 / 2:51 PM

      Well I don’t know about ALL the drawings 😛 I’m pretty terrible at my original artwork right now 😀
      And hey do get one by Wacom! Those are the best!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Mithai Mumblezz November 11, 2015 / 3:00 AM

    I love the drawing!!
    If you are starting out like this gosh you’re soon gonna be one of the best!!
    Wishing you all the best hon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood November 14, 2015 / 11:33 AM

      How much am I gonna have to thank you today?? 😛 Hahaha thanks, love :* I don’t know abt being the best, but it’s turning into something I do for pleasure 🙂

      Like

  12. abyssbrain November 23, 2015 / 9:15 PM

    I only use pen tablets for editing photos (mostly complicated masking) in Photoshop aince my graphIc designong akill is almost non existent… 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood December 1, 2015 / 9:07 PM

      Hahaha well masking is also a big part of design 😛 Don’t underestimate yourself 😀

      Like

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

