5 Lines (or less) Movie Reviews: Southpaw, Spy and Fantastic Four

Hi guys, I’m introducing this new category called “5 Lines (or less)” for those reviews in which I don’t want to ramble on for a thousand words. This typically happens when I’ve seen lots of movies or shows in one go and it’s nearly impossible for me to discuss them thoroughly. So in this category I will give one basic outlook on the movie (or show) in 5 lines or less, declare my rating for it and then tell you to “Watch It If” (a reason describing whether you should watch it or not.)

Let’s give it a go!

5 Lines (Or Less) Movie Review

Southpaw:

Southpaw
Image courtesy: http://www.thefilmstage.com

Take any typical boxing movie, shuffle up the characters, add some extra bit of family drama and lots of tears ‘n tragedy, include two intense fight scenes and one incredible performance by an ugly-looking/busted-up Jake Gyllenhaal, and there you have it: Southpaw.

Potahto Rating:

3 out of 5 Potahtos

Watch It If:

you’re a fan of boxing (or kick-boxing) movies like Rocky, Warrior etc and like to spend a quiet evening with your family watching a highly predictable but tear-inducing redemption story.

Spy:

Image courtesy: www.nypost.com
Image courtesy: http://www.nypost.com

Melissa McCarthy at her best (damn I love that woman; even her shitty movies make me chuckle)! Spy is a refreshing addition to the action-comedy genre, PACKED with profanity and insults (it feels like you’re watching a Comedy Central Roast), and brilliant performances by the supporting cast; especially by Jason Statham a.k.a. the new Chuck Norris 😀

Potahto Rating:

4 out of 5 Potahtos

Watch It If:

you’re looking for a good laugh and don’t mind listening to obscene (but hilarious) insults that you may find a tad bit cruel.

Fantastic Four (2015):

Image courtesy: www.comicbook.com
Image courtesy: http://www.comicbook.com

Think of the worst movie you have ever seen in your entire life. Now take that intensity of patheticness and multiply it to a hundred. Done? Yes, Fantastic Four is THAT bad. If you’re a serious movie-watcher who truly appreciates quality cinema, watching F4 is like you’re being spat on your face by the director. Even the original F4 movies seem Oscar-worthy as compared to this one.

Potahto Rating:

0 out of 5 Potahtos

Watch It If:

it’s the last existing movie on Planet Earth.

21 thoughts on “5 Lines (or less) Movie Reviews: Southpaw, Spy and Fantastic Four

  1. Uday September 15, 2015 / 5:57 PM

    Oh dear lord! I’m glad I took a pass at the offer to watch FF4 then! Was never a fan of the series anyway 😛
    Btw, a thoughtful feature AB! I’ve also heard that The Man From UNCLE was quite good!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood September 15, 2015 / 7:41 PM

      You did yourself a HUGE favor my friend! I can’t even imagine the torture those poor movie-goers must have suffered.
      And I’ve heard so many great things about The Man from U.N.C.L.E!! Anything with Henry Cavill is a must-watch for me 😛 :3

      Like

  2. Jarvis September 15, 2015 / 5:58 PM

    Even though I haven’t watched any of the above 3. Thanks for the heads up on FF4. 😛 Though I had the review was very bad. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood September 15, 2015 / 7:45 PM

      Hahaha you’re welcome 😀 It felt like NO ONE in the entire movie team knew what they were supposed to do! The actors couldn’t act (even though all of them have an amazing track record), the director couldn’t direct, the animation was pure shit, the script was childish, the story was ridiculously bland! I just want to forget that experience.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jarvis September 15, 2015 / 8:15 PM

        And I will make sure I stay away from it and prevent others too. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Mithai Mumblezz September 15, 2015 / 9:14 PM

    Didn’t hv much expectation from FF4…..the poster looks pretty ‘wannabe’.
    And thank u for the heads up, now no chance I’m gonna waste electricity on it 😉
    Spy ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. archana235 September 15, 2015 / 9:24 PM

    Haha 😀
    You’re my go-to for movie reviews. The 5 lines or less idea is genius I say.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Lala Rukh September 19, 2015 / 4:17 PM

    Really? Fantastic Four is THAT bad ? 😦 Gonna watch spy, downloading 😛
    Havn’t watched any of these yet. Your idea of a 5 line review sounds quite interesting. Keep doing this more often. Love your blog 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood September 20, 2015 / 6:59 PM

      Thank you so muchh Lala 😀 I hope you like Spy, it’s hilarious :3
      And thanks so much for following and liking the blog ^_^ It’s nothing right now but with awesome people like you here I’m always motivated to write more and share more ❤

      Like

  6. Janice Wald September 20, 2015 / 2:42 AM

    I remember what you got 200 followers! 500! Cool! I am linking back to you in my post tomorrow. I am having a Meet and Greet today. Come on over!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood September 20, 2015 / 7:01 PM

      Janice it’s ALWAYS an honor to have one of my posts linked to your ever-amazing blog ❤
      Thank you so much ^_^ And as for the Meet and Greet, I'll be there in a jiffy 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Akhiz September 20, 2015 / 7:13 PM

    I skipped southpaw as i knew from the poster that it will be just another boxing movie with yout typical emotional drama and the ultimate end fight

    Fantastic 4 got such bad rating and reviews that i am glad i didn’t watched it immediately after its release so skipped that too

    And SPY i have that in queue so gonna watch that as soon as i find time

    But for me the ultimate Movie and the best Action movie of 2015 is “Mad Max Fury Road” hands down……. what a Russsh (y)

    Like

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

