My Tiny Little Haven

Many people may think that living in a small house with only one proper bedroom for a family of four must have been suffocating, but I believe that it is because of that small home I now have such a close-knit family. Mine is what you may call an “in-sync” household. It is one of the biggest blessings of life to have a stable and happy family unit, and I’m proud to say that I can count that in my set of blessings as well.

But that doesn’t mean that when I slept at night on the floor of my parents bedroom (myself on Mom’s side of the bed, and my brother on Dad’s side of the bed) I didn’t wish for a bigger home with a room of my own. Having my own room had been one of THE biggest dreams of my life; a room in which I could sleep on my own bed, a room which I could decorate as I wanted, have a view from the window into my own lawn, with my own TV, my own bookshelf; a space to call MY OWN! And thanks to the Allah Almighty, that dream was eventually fulfilled 6 months ago.

So ladies and gents, today I just wanted to share a part of my life with you guys which means a LOT to me. It may not be impressive to many of you, but it is my own tiny little haven – a.k.a. Miss Potahto’s Headquarters.

1
This is the front view when you enter my room.

I have to admit, my most favorite part of the room is my window bench. I do most of my book-reading there. You know, I always saw these girls in movies during those sad scenes sitting in their window seats, staring out into the gloomy rain and looking glamorous AH, therefore I wished that maybe one day I can also stare out into the rain and look all philosophical and contemplative. So one of the perks of getting to design the entire map of the new home with my own hands was that I could squeeze in one cool looking window bench. Yeah, my room is the smallest in the home, because I myself insisted I didn’t want a big one.

2
The view from the other side.

One of the reasons I had disappeared from WordPress for the past few days was that me and my Mom were busy buying a new bed, a new bookshelf and a TV for my room. Yes I waited 6 months for all this (we were a little tight on the budget.) The bookshelf is custom made. Many people would say, “That’s one tiny-ass bookshelf, you should’ve gotten a larger one.” But I wanted to decorate that side of the wall as well so I had to sacrifice on its height. 😦

3
My bookshelf

These are some of the books I’ve featured on it. Yes, I have a lot of Stephen King. A LOT. Even these are half the books of my collection, the rest are still packed in the wardrobe. Lack of space, uhun uhun. 😥

5
Tiny Batman!

I have this Tiny Batman on top of my bookshelf. The Dark Knight keeps out bad guys from my room 😛 How I got him? I actually snatched this little fella from a friend of mine. She got him in her McDonald’s Happy Meal, and I HAD to have him. So I did what do best, whine and whine until she gave in. Thank you Aneeza, sorry Aneeza 😀

4
Oh the places I want to see!

I wanted to decorate this wall with something related to my LIFE’S BIGGEST DREAM: to travel the world. So I searched online for something that will perfectly compliment my room and also reflect my dreams, something which reminds me what I’m striving for, and after a few days of exhaustive searching I found these. These are the stamps of all the places I want to see before I die. Well, God fulfilled the dream of my own room, so I hope and pray one day He’ll fulfill this one as well. 🙂 Btw don’t they just look SO COOL?

6
My own TV! Yaasss!

You guys have no idea how much I was excited for my own TV!! And you know how I got it? My Mom is THE BEST! She was worried that watching movies and shows on the laptop could be hurting my eyes, as the laptop screen emits harmful rays. Even the doctor had told her that my extensive usage and exposure to the laptop might be one of the causes of extremely dry eyes. So she yelled at me, “I’M GETTING YOU A TV! YOUR LAPTOP IS ONLY FOR WORK, YOU GOT IT??” And I said, “Aye aye Captain!”

So she got me one Samsung 43” Plasma TV :3 I know watching TV may also hurt my eyes, but being a few feet distant from the screen might help.

P.S. I’ve been re-watching some of my All Time favorite movies for the past few days. At the time of taking this picture I was getting ready to do my work while watching Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. God, I LOVE THAT MOVIE!! Have you seen it? No? SHAME ON YOU!!

So there you have it. My tiny little haven.

Now tell me about your own room. What do you love the most about it? And also what additions should I make into my room to make it look more awesome?

I’d LOVE some feedback ^_^ Stay awesome WP Family! ❤

37 thoughts on “My Tiny Little Haven

  1. Debbie Christiansen August 15, 2015 / 7:25 PM

    Love the window seat.. and the way you puzzle pieced together the travel wall! Book shelf is awesome.. the cheap stuff falls apart, well made furniture will be with you forever!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood August 16, 2015 / 1:09 PM

      It took me 2.5 hours to put together those wall stamps 😀 I put a lot of thought and measurement calculation into it :3
      And you’re absolutely right! My family has never compromised on quality. If you’re gonna build something make sure it’ll last a lifetime 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. NooryaK August 15, 2015 / 7:47 PM

    I love the window !!!!! (I lost my tiny window a few years ago Sniff Sniff* 😦 )
    and the bookshelf *drooling*
    and the stickers you have put on your wall, awesome idea! It’s looking really good!
    loved knowing some more about you 🙂 Allah bless you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood August 16, 2015 / 1:11 PM

      How’d you lose your tiny window? 😦
      Guess what, I spend an hour a day just staring at the bookshelf and wall stamps 😀 I have this obsession with paperbacks and travel so it takes a huge chunk of my time :3
      And thanks so much Noorya ^_^ Allah bless you too ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • NooryaK August 16, 2015 / 1:20 PM

        Our home was built kn half of the plot size, we constructed on the other half and my brother’s room took my window. More like gulped it huh :@ :p
        Hahah 🙂 hey ur room, ur bookshelf do what u want 😀
        I have a book shelf too, it’s very dear to me as well 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood August 16, 2015 / 1:34 PM

        Haaww haye, that’s why 😦 I hope and pray your “agla ghar”‘s room is HUMONGOUS! 😉
        I got to plan my room as I wanted because I was made incharge of designing the map and then we approved it by the architect. Even the architect himself appreciated my planning skills 😛 I made his job easier :3

        Liked by 1 person

  3. miusho August 15, 2015 / 7:52 PM

    I can decorate my own home.. The thing is. I have hand me down furniture… So I’ll have to wait on “some day” … 😮
    Nice room! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood August 16, 2015 / 1:14 PM

      Thanks 😀 And heyyy don’t worry, that’ll someday will come soon 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho August 16, 2015 / 2:52 PM

        Somedaaaaay~ xD

        Like

  4. Jarvis August 15, 2015 / 11:24 PM

    Love the decor of your room. Simple and exquisite. 🙂 I used to share my room with my twin and from the day he left for college to a different state, it was all mine. Kinda used to be mess always (bachelors room :P) Now I really miss it, haven’t been home for almost an year and staying in PG, you are forced to share it with 2 other people. Glad you have got your own room and your dream fulfilled. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood August 16, 2015 / 1:20 PM

      Aw I’m sure you must miss your home so badly 😦 I can’t even begin to imagine how much I’ll miss my family once I’m married off :/ Ekkh..
      And thanks Jarvis dear 🙂 I hope you’ll spend some quality time with your family in your week off 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jarvis August 16, 2015 / 2:01 PM

        Marriage? So soon? I don’t even know your age and I’m saying so soon. I have lost it. 😛
        Yes I do have plans for a good week off. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood August 17, 2015 / 8:48 PM

        Haha well I’ll take that as a compliment that you consider me to be so young 😛 I’m 23 btw and look like a 18 year old, so yeah you weren’t wrong 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jarvis August 17, 2015 / 9:16 PM

        That makes two of us. 😛 But I don’t look like a 18 year old. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. desleyjane August 16, 2015 / 4:09 AM

    I am in love with your window seat. What a gorgeous spot. I would curl up there and write with a good coffee. And your collage of travel destinations is an awesome idea and looks fantastic. What do you need? Hmmnnn, I think some bedside lamps. My friend had a great idea – she had hanging pendants installed on either side of the bed. They look fabulous but also keep your bedside tables free for all your other important stuff.
    I really need to watch that movie…..

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood August 16, 2015 / 1:29 PM

      Oh I’ve had so many coffees and cup of teas on the window seat during the monsoon. It’s the best feeling ever ^_^ And see, I placed Australia on the top! It’s one of my top priority destinations 😉
      Btw that pendants idea is awesome 😮 We have this really great interior decorations shop near our home and I guess I saw these in their store. I’ll have to give em a visit soon ^_^ Thanks for the awesome suggestion dear 🙂
      And yes pleeaasse do watch ESotSM! I guarantee you, you won’t regret those 2 hours!

      Liked by 1 person

      • desleyjane August 16, 2015 / 1:42 PM

        Thanks for placing Aussie on the top! I look forward to seeing your lights next 😉 and I will definitely watch the movie. I’m still thinking about that fab window seat.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Uday August 16, 2015 / 3:40 PM

    Missy, I luuurve your room, it’s just perfect! My dream is to have something exactly the same too. Window seat is the best and a clever thought by you. It’ll become my “spot” where I won’t let anybody else sit 😛 And that wall decoration, adore your sense of geometry! Well done, girl. Two hours well spent. I guess you patted yourself on the back after that, huh! 😀

    Growing up, we had a single bedroom too and I used to sleep on the living room couch. But I never really complained as the TV used to be in the living room. Later, when we got a new house, me and my sister used to share a bedroom. Now of course, I’m away from it all and living in a different city due of work. I recently moved into a single room, as I was really done with “roomies”!! I mean, some people can really be such dicks and it’s so difficult to share a room with those people. So, here I’m finally enjoying my bliss. Got my own TV, Wi-Fi and everything 🙂

    Anyway, as for your room, maybe I would have loved the addition of color paint on the wall. Just to make it a bit more interesting! Though I’m sure you people must have had a good reason to stick to the whites.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood August 20, 2015 / 2:31 PM

      Awww thank youuu Uday ^_^ Yess, my window seat is also my “spot” where I never let anyone else sit! I’m super-possessive about it! :3

      I didn’t just pat myself on the back, I treated myself with a Big Mac 😛

      And hey that’s great now you have an independent room of your own 🙂 There’s something just so perfect about creating your own little world 🙂 I’m glad you have that now ^_^

      As for the white wall paint, haha, it’s because of my Dad. He likes all the walls to be white! We showed him a few great ideas for really amazing designer paints, with all these cool patterns on it, but he was all like “What’s wrong with white? It looks decent.” But due to our constant insistence he has agreed that when we have some extra cash lying around we can play around with the walls in the living room and my room 🙂

      Thanks so much Uday ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

      • Uday August 20, 2015 / 3:45 PM

        Oh i’m so jelly about that window seat already. 😛 I will make sure to have something like that when I get my own house!

        It’s wonderful to have an independent room! ❤ I have the freedom to do whatever I want, whenever I want. And don't have to worry about lousy roomies anymore!

        As for the paints, you of course don't have to go for something very fancy. We did the one-wall-in-different-shade concept and it looks amazing! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood August 20, 2015 / 5:18 PM

        Heyy don’t be jelly :3 You’ll soon have one of your own ^_^

        Like

  7. Hammad Asif August 17, 2015 / 11:06 AM

    Nothing is more beautiful than lying on a softy/fluffy mattress (like me) and watching Saas Bahu (fighting dramas, replaced by Turkish Dramas now-a-days) 😛
    Anyway… Super Decent Room of yours….

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood August 20, 2015 / 2:33 PM

      Haha thank God I’ve no inclination towards those Turkish dramas 😛
      And thank you so much Sir 🙂

      Like

  8. Akhiz August 18, 2015 / 3:27 PM

    aaah the bookshelf, almost just like mine (mine is in the wall but book placement is same) would have shared its pic if comment pic share wala option hota…… and yup almost 80% of my book collection is composed of Stephen King, from the Dark tower series to the Tommyknockers me spared none.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood August 20, 2015 / 2:35 PM

      Heyy I didn’t know you were also a huge King fan :O I’ve been one since I was 8! I know reading those psychological horror books at such a young age wasn’t appropriate but it’s because of him I began to love books 🙂 The Dark Tower series, The Stand and The Dark Half (it being my first King book) are by far my most favorites ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  9. 10000hoursleft August 21, 2015 / 4:11 PM

    I love your window seat, and could totally relate to the inspiration for it. I used to want one for the very same reasons when I was a kid, wanting to be just like the girls I’d see on tv shows or movies retreating to the window seat to think or read or just look photogenic haha. From what I can see, the view out the window looks lovely too! Congrats on getting your very own space!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood August 24, 2015 / 11:08 AM

      Aww I’m glad you could relate to the inspiration 😉 I know I’m not that pretty but I do try on my best glamorous-look-and-feel when I’m sitting on it 😛
      And the view still needs improvements 😉 My garden is still a child; the plants are relatively new so it’ll take some time for them to grow. I can’t wait for the time when the whole lawn is fillled with beautiful greenery 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • 10000hoursleft September 19, 2015 / 5:48 AM

        Yes, it will only get more beautiful as your garden grows. Any additions to your room since this post? I have been absent from WP for a long time now since my days of full time mummying came to an end with a return to work.

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood September 20, 2015 / 6:56 PM

        I hope your work is going great ^_^ And nope, no new additions till now! My mum’s saying to save up the money yourself 😥

        Like

  10. Mithai Mumblezz August 24, 2015 / 11:50 AM

    Ohhh I loveeeee your room!! Congratulations honey for such a wonderful abode!!
    I’ve too have shifted to a new house and my room still doesn’t exactly look like I would want it too……and I really miss my old one but goshh I love your room!! So chic and neat!!
    The window bench perfectly compliments the window!!
    Lots of love and hugs to you!! ❤ ❤

    Like

  11. imperfectionistgal October 25, 2015 / 8:04 AM

    A-huh! I need some peanut butter to go on with that jelly!
    That window bench though *_*
    And about that batman toy lol my friend had this kung fu panda toy (from happy meal) and the worst part she hadn’t even seen the movie! And guess what I did? Oh yeah!! That baby’s mine now!
    Those stamps are just amazing! I made my own posters and stuck them on the wall!
    Our own house is in some other city! So we live in flat for rent! I wish someday we get to live in that city, in OUR HOUSE and I get to have that window bench and T.V !
    Also you have done a great job! I’ve got no suggestions because I think its just perfect! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood October 26, 2015 / 2:06 PM

      Hahaha oh my Goddd, the Kung-Fu Panda toy must be the cutesstt!! You did the right thing there 😉 You gave it a loving home 😛
      And amirite? Those stamps are my second favorite thing in my room (the first being my window bench) hehe.
      And oh, you must feel homesick 😦 I can’t imagine living in another city for more than a month (at MOST). I hope and pray you and your family get to feel the comfort of your own home as soon as possible ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

