Well Done Microsoft

Just like the rest of the world (who ran the genuine versions of Windows 7 and 8.1 on their computers) I’ve also been exploring the new free update of Windows 10 on my system for the past two days and I must say I am thoroughly impressed; mostly because it seems so stable and bug-free till now. O_o

The only issue I’ve been having is that the startup is slower than usual. On my 8.1 it took a maximum of 5 seconds for it to come into working order but on 10 it takes 45 seconds. Ah well, that’s not that big of a complaint; it gives me plenty of time to browse through the 9Gag feed on my phone 😛

Being a lay(wo)man in technical computer knowledge I can’t judge the technical aspects of this OS but some of the things that I loved the MOST are:

1. The extremely sexy GUI – It’s pleasing for my eyes and my brain, enough said.
2. The shiny new startup menu – Just look at it, it’s a beautiful mashup of Windows 7 and 8.1’s menus :’)
3. The modern Windows apps – All of them are working A-Ok, but Groove Music is by far my most favorite one 😛
4. The now bearable Windows Search – OH MY GOD IT”S SO F**KING FAST!!!
5. The Action Center – It’s got my mail, notifications, settings etc all in one place. Awesomesauce.
6. Settings and Control Panel – Simplified and super user friendly. Loving it!

My Windows 10

Other than the comparatively slow startup time I just have one more problem with it.

No Cortana 😦

I mean come on guys! I’ve always wanted to talk to Siri coz she seemed so cool, but I could not afford an iPhone. So now I finally had the chance to interact with Cortana and you took that away as well :/ It’s only available in USA -_-

Ohhh sayyy can you seeee, that you are being unfair to us South Asians 😥

Anywhoo, it’s okay. All in all I’m very happy with the whole package and I will be buying Windows 10 Pro after my 1 year free period is over. Great job guys.

31 thoughts on “Well Done Microsoft

  1. Jim July 31, 2015 / 5:26 PM

    I don’t talk to Siri. she seems so … married.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. desleyjane July 31, 2015 / 5:52 PM

    Thank goodness. I hate windows 8 with a passion. And I love Siri. I asked her if she loves me and she replied “I respect you”. 😋

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood August 1, 2015 / 3:35 PM

      Hahaha aaww Siri must be shy 😛 I’ve heard she never gives a straight answer to personal statements and questions 😀
      And yep, 10 is a huge improvement, and it’s the last version of Windows so Microsoft will keep on making huge improvements over the years 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • desleyjane August 1, 2015 / 3:42 PM

        Good to hear. I am a Mac girl but am forced to use windows at work 😝

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood August 1, 2015 / 3:46 PM

        I wishhh I could be a Mac girl, coz I’m studying for graphic designing so my system really let’s itself go when I do a lot of heavy work on PS and Illustrator :/

        Liked by 1 person

      • desleyjane August 1, 2015 / 3:52 PM

        I love it. My MacBook Pro is from 2011 and still going strong. Fab for Lightroom.

        Like

  3. swajithkas July 31, 2015 / 5:53 PM

    A.B.MOOD(yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy)
    THANKS THAT YOU ARE COMFORTABLE WITH NEW VERSION OF MICROSOFT!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

      • swajithkas August 1, 2015 / 5:09 PM

        Glad to meet you once again, it was long back when we have chatted with each other, I wish, due to grace of GOD your life must be going well……..
        Wishing you all the best………..

        Like

  4. Chow Kim Wan July 31, 2015 / 6:17 PM

    I am waiting for the official release, so this helps a lot. Anyway, what’s the advantage of having Cortana?

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood August 1, 2015 / 3:38 PM

      Just like Apple has Siri, now Microsoft has Cortana.. She’s a personal assistant, you just ask her things (like what’s the weather, what’s the score) and tell her what to do (write to-do’s and lists, update you on your schedule etc) and she does it. I’ve heard she also tell jokes 😛

      Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood August 1, 2015 / 3:39 PM

      It really is fantastic 🙂 There’s still a lot of room for improvements, but hopefully in the upcoming updates they’ll be fixed soon!

      Like

  5. Uday July 31, 2015 / 10:03 PM

    Yay!! Great that you’re enjoying Windows 10. I always knew this was going to be a killer OS. And trust me dear, Cortana is way way way cooler than Siri! An exec said Cortana should be available for India in a “few weeks”. So hopefully, Pakistan will get soon too!

    There’s a hack to activate Cortana actually. But you have change your country to United Kingdom and speech language to English (UK) and she will work. But his may cause some issues with Store and News apps.

    And who told you that you have to pay for Windows 10 after one year?? It’s free for life ma. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood August 1, 2015 / 3:44 PM

      Naaiiii :O Seriously? But .. but .. my bro told me it’s only for one year then they’ll revert us back to shitty 8.. :/ Win 10 k experience k baad mujhse to wo bardaasht nai honi 😛
      And yepp I also read an article that you have to change your timezone etc to get Cortana, but I’m not willing to mess up my other apps for her 😦 I guess we’ll just have to wait and see whether they become generous towards us Asians or not :3

      Like

      • Uday August 1, 2015 / 5:46 PM

        Lol, where is he getting his news from! Microsoft is also to blame somewhat, they were very ambiguous in their statements. But don’t worry, that’ll never happen! 🙂

        And fingers crossed for Miss Cortana 😀 Btw, how are sales for Lumia devices over there?

        Like

  6. Jai August 1, 2015 / 1:16 PM

    Reblogged this on and commented:
    Need to try..

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood August 13, 2015 / 11:07 AM

      *howling like a wolf* Yaass thank yoouu!! This award sounds so coooll :O I reaallyy need to make a post about my nominations ASAP :3

      Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood August 13, 2015 / 11:05 AM

      Potahto is busy in redecorating her room and resting -_- Eyes have been bullshitting me again so I’m just giving them as much rest as possible! I need my clear vision backkk!! :@

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

