It’s My Favorite Time of the Year ^_^

Ohhh yeah, Ramadan is here! ❤ A super-awesometacular month where Muslims all around the world fast (everyday, from sunup till sundown), and spread peace, love and harmony to everyone around them 🙂

Happy

Well to be honest this time fasting is gonna be super hard, because where I live, we’re facing a scorching hot weather of 110 degrees Fahrenheit. So not consuming ANYTHING except warm oxygen  for 15 hours straight everyday for thirty days seems like a pretty hard feat. It can sure bring out the worst in us, but that’s the beauty of Ramadan: it teaches us patience and empathy.

Some Muslims have a little misconception in their minds that this is a month of dieting in the day and having extravagant feasts at night. What they forget is that Ramadan’s basic objective is to put us in the shoes of the underprivileged. To put us in the place of those people who don’t get to drink clean water or have one decent meal all day, everyday, maybe for their entire lives. To make us feel thankful for the blessings we have in our lives and in return develop a habit of giving to the poor. Trust me, when you take that first sip of cold water and the first bite of the meal when your throat and stomach is screaming with excruciating thirst and hunger, it can make you cry tears of joy.

Tears of Joy

It should be noted that I said “develop a HABIT of giving to the poor.” Our basic Islamic teachings tell us that giving alms must NOT be limited to just this one month. When you  feel empathy for the poor and give them some money or something to eat on a regular basis for a month it can help you develop a habit of donating all ’round the year.

One must not forget that it also isn’t just about caring for the poor, it’s also about caring for everyone around you. There are some basic rules of Ramadan that must be followed during the fast and after it:

  1. Be nice to people.
  2. Don’t hurt anyone.
  3. Stop backbiting and judging others.
  4. Avoid feelings of bitterness for others.
  5. Do not lie, cheat, steal.
  6. Give out to the poor and care for them like your own brother or sister.
  7. Abstain from profanity, and anything vulgar.
  8. Spread harmony and love to everyone regardless of their belief system.
  9. Give hope to people.
  10. Win the love of God.

In short, do everything good and avoid everything bad. If you don’t adhere to these rules during Ramadan you will not receive the blessings and rewards of this holy month that are given to the ones who do.

I know that people of this world aren’t nice, including Muslims. I’m not talking about those (insert the F word) terrorists who give religion a bad name; I’m talking about the general population. We’re not good human beings. Everyone does everything in their power to further their own interests and not give a darn about others. But imagine a world where people follow these rules on a daily basis. These rules of not just being a good Muslim but of being a GOOD HUMAN BEING. No, I’m NOT imposing my religious beliefs on you, I’m talking about a world where everyone tries their best to be the best version of themselves, whatever their religion or belief (or disbelief if he/she is an atheist). Isn’t that a nicer world to live in?

This is what Ramadan tries to teach us. To develop a habit of being good to yourself and to others, not just for this month, but for the entire year. And if you forget these rules you get a refresher course the next year. Isn’t Ramadan awesome? 😀 I know 90% of the Muslim population forget all about it once the month has ended, but there are some people out their who take this as a new start towards leading a more joyous and harmonious life.

I myself have decided this year that I will now become the best version of myself. I had a lot of stupid distractions in my life that stopped me from realizing my full potential to be “good” but now those distractions are all gone so it’s the perfect time to turn my life around for the better; for myself and others around me. 🙂

Here’s hoping for a wonderful Ramadan ahead ^_^

Peace out to all my WP family. ❤

Peace Out

38 thoughts on “It’s My Favorite Time of the Year ^_^

  1. mustahibah June 19, 2015 / 3:45 PM

    Insha Allah,
    You will succeed in being the best version of your self 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 10000hoursleft June 19, 2015 / 4:06 PM

    Thanks for the crash course on Ramadan. Interesting! I guess every religion, at the heart of it espouses being the best you and being good to others, the earth etc…

    Best of luck with Ramadan and becoming the best you – the intent is there, and that is a huge step already 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood June 19, 2015 / 4:29 PM

      Exactly 🙂 All the religions of the world have pretty much the same teachings, but we take these different faiths as a form of discriminating one from another 😦
      Oh well, I’ll never stop hoping and praying for a better, unified world 🙂
      Thank you so much for your warm wishes dear ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • 10000hoursleft June 19, 2015 / 4:32 PM

        I think you being the best you is the best way to effect change. Now I hope to see even better blog posts from you too : P

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood June 19, 2015 / 4:38 PM

        Hahaha taking it one day at a time, dear 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Akanksha Varma June 19, 2015 / 5:37 PM

    Best of luck! I’m mostly concerned about your non eating since the blog name says potato 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood June 19, 2015 / 5:41 PM

      Hahaha oh I’m sure gonna miss those potatoes 😀 And thanks dear ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  4. abyssbrain June 19, 2015 / 5:51 PM

    Nice post.

    Anyway, there’s this new guy in my workplace who’s a Muslim. However, when I asked him why he’s eating and drinking since it’s Ramadan season, he just told me that fasting is only for one day (18th of June, that’s what he told me). Jeez, even though I’m not a Muslim, I knew enough to know that he’s just bullshiting me…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Uday June 19, 2015 / 11:10 PM

    Ramadan Mubarak, AB!

    I used to be amazed when my mates back in school used to tell me that they don’t eat for the whole day during Ramzan! (That’s what its called in India) But I love the intention behind it, it’s a truly divine experience for sure.

    Anyway, for me, Ramzan = Haleem!!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood June 19, 2015 / 11:34 PM

      Thank youu and Khair Mubarak ^_^ We also pronounce it as Ramazan but in the real Arabic pronunciation the Z is converted into a D. So, that’s why we write it as Ramadan but actually say it as Ramazan in Urdu or Hindi :3
      And ohhh Chicken Haleeeeem is my eternal love! ❤ I can literally eat that everyday for the rest of my life I love it so much 😀 (but having some Biryani, Karahi and Chargha on the side won't hurt) 😛

      Like

      • Uday June 20, 2015 / 10:46 AM

        Karahi and Charga are new to me, so I googled. Now I know 🙂 Chicken Haleem is just divine. I try to have it at least once in a week during this time. Interestingly, there’s also a “vegetarian” version of Haleem which is just yuk!

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood June 21, 2015 / 12:00 PM

        Errr, the vegetarian Haleem must taste like plain Daal with veggies 😛 Haina? 😀 That just defeats the purpose of “Haleem”..

        Liked by 1 person

      • Uday June 21, 2015 / 1:58 PM

        I couldn’t eat more than one spoon, it just had no taste at all! Eww. Haleem boletoh Chicken with lots of ghee and cashews!! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood June 25, 2015 / 7:59 PM

        Hayee I haven’t tried one with cashews 😮 Do they go well with the spiciness? I have to go tell this to my Mom ASAP 😀

        Like

      • Uday June 25, 2015 / 8:58 PM

        Yes it adds a mild sweetness that complements the spiciness perfectly. Some people just fry them, chop them and garnish on top while some people fry them and make a paste and mix in the Haleem 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood June 25, 2015 / 11:06 PM

        I asked my Mum just now to make a paste of the cashews and mix it in for the next time she makes Haleem.. :3 Ooo the thought of it is making my tummy rumble! If it turns out well I’ll send you a virtual high-five 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • Uday June 25, 2015 / 11:25 PM

        One can never go wrong with cashews! 🙂 Hope it turns out well!!

        Like

  6. melanielynngriffin June 20, 2015 / 1:18 AM

    Very interesting. I’ve always found Ramadan to be a powerful idea – thanks for the education! It sounds a little bit like Lent in the Christian calendar. I think that every religion and faith tradition has a period of abstinence or confession or a letting go of some sort. Only by dying to a part of ourselves can we born into our full selves – our best selves, as we’re meant to be. I wish you well this Ramadan.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood June 21, 2015 / 12:05 PM

      You are absolutely right Melanie 🙂 Yes, it is quite like Lent and I know a lot of my Muslim brothers and sisters who observed Lent in honor and respect of our Christian brothers and sisters 🙂 All the religions teach us peace, patience and harmony, and if only more people focused on the similarities within us rather than the differences, the world would become such a wonderful place.

      Like

  7. jabrush1213 June 20, 2015 / 6:44 AM

    Ramadan Mubarak! I hope you have a wonderful month of peace and happiness. This post was very educational about what Ramadan is and how it is celebrated.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood June 21, 2015 / 12:06 PM

      Khair Mubarak Jabrush 🙂 And thank you so much for your warmest wishes ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. TK June 21, 2015 / 4:02 PM

    Ramadan Kareem AB! Inshalla you will succeed at being the best version of yourself and be blessed, along with your loved ones, with all the great blessings God has!

    I truly loved your post and felt that even though it wasn’t long, it truly embodied the spirit of the Holy Month and many, many Muslims have a lot to learn from it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood June 25, 2015 / 8:01 PM

      Khair Mubarak and Aameen Suma’Aameen 🙂 Thank you so so very much ^_^ I just hope that our Muslim brothers and sisters stop taking Ramadan forgranted 😦 We only get so many.

      Like

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

