Pitch Perfect 2: Aca-Disappointing!

If you have some spare money lying around and want to go out for a fun movie-night, then please go watch Mad Max: Fury Road (I can’t recommend that movie enough) and steer clear of Pitch Perfect 2. That’s my most honest advice to you guys.

Pitch Perfect 2

Movie Synopsis:

After the Barden Bellas give a horribly disastrous performance at the Kennedy Center for President Obama’s birthday, they are suspended by the Barden University from ever participating in any acappella showcase or competition ever again. In order to redeem themselves the Bellas propose the idea that if they win the World Championships of Acappella, the university will reinstate them. But oh wait, there’s more! No American team has ever won that championship because (and I quote) “That’s because they hate us. THE WHOLE WORLD HATES US!”

My Take on the Movie:

I was and still am a huge fan of the first movie. I’ve seen it 10+ times and know it’s every single scene by heart. “Cups (When I’m Gone)” was the first song I properly sang and recorded with Audacity (not just bathroom-sing-it or car-drive-shout-it) and I’ve loved it ever since (coz I sounded so damn good singing it). Part 1 had so much heart! It had countless sweet, heartfelt and genuinely funny moments, it overflowed with genius witticism and had great character development. But sadly none of that is found in Pitch Perfect 2. NONE OF IT!

I don’t usually compare sequels to their predecessors, but this time I kept thinking about the first part and recalled the sheer beauty of it and I couldn’t keep myself from feeling overly-disappointed by the MESS they’ve created now.

Shallow, Racist, Stereotypical, Fat-phobic Jokes Everywhere!

I know, I know, Pitch Perfect 1 also had a some racist, stereotypical jokes. But they were a few in number and were actually funny because it had a brilliant script. In 2, well it just had really bad writing. Cringe-worthy in fact. Don’t get me wrong, there were a few good jokes here and there but even they couldn’t make me laugh out loud; they just made me blow some air out of my nose.

Let’s see, first off, Fat Amy. Oh for crying out loud why did the whole movie have to rely on her shoulders alone? She was everywhere, in every scene, saying stupid and annoying fat jokes at every chance she got. We get it! You’re fat! It’s funny! Ha ha ha! ENOUGH ALREADY!! She clearly doesn’t know how to act so why she was made the highlight of this film is beyond me.

As for the other unfunny stereotypes: the Hispanic girl who makes weird jokes emphasizing on her tough and cruel life before arriving in the States and her current illegal immigrant status; the hot tall chick’s still the one with a loose character; the gay black woman has nothing to say except her minority status as a gay black woman and her intent to score the hot tall chick; and last but not the least, the Germans are evil -_-

*slow clap*

Weak Storyline and No Character Developement Whatsoever

I remember what made the first film so great. The CHARACTERS! Remember how we fell in love with Beca and Jesse’s love story? How much we could relate to all these girls trying to make a name for themselves or just “fit-in”? How these completely different weirdos bond together and build something magical out of their friendship?

Image source: http://popcrush.com/
Image source: http://popcrush.com

Pitch Perfect 2 had no solid storyline. All the main leads had no chemistry together. I couldn’t connect with the new girl they introduced into the Bellas – Emily Junk –  who was, I think, intended to be the new Beca of this film? It didn’t work out at all.

Anna Kendrick was the only best thing about this film and she was (almost) nowhere to be found. Wow. She had almost 20 minutes of proper screen-time.

Instead of just focusing on one love story like the first film, the writers decided to include TWO new love stories, both of which were complete disasters. Emily (the new girl) + Benji felt awkward and forced as if their scenes were put in just to fill up some leftover reel. And Fat Amy + Bumper was just *facepalm*… *sigh*… Just no. Although the “We Belong Together” performance on the boat was good, but the rest? Nope.

Forgettable Musical Performances

It is supposed to be this movie filled with awesome jaw-dropping acappella performances of pop songs that the world LOVES! But all of them were uninspiring, forgettable and not FUN as I wished they would’ve been! The riff-off was the one sequence in the entire movie where I said to myself “Hmm this is actually good.”

The songs that were featured throughout the movie were not particularly my favorites. Well they ARE in my phone but they’re not as catchy and “repeatable” as the ones that were featured in PP1. And oh yes, it also felt like PP2 was a 2 hour long promo of Jessie J’s new song “Flashlight” because it came on again and again… and again… and again. It’s a great song, I admit it! But not as great that you have to shove it in into every other scene! Jeez.

And finally, the World Championship! Oohh I had so much high hopes for that! I thought they’re were gonna be so many amazing performances by people of such diverse ethnicities and cross-cultural backgrounds; but all we got was one loud incomprehensible song by an Indian group of whom I couldn’t catch even one word of and one other “Canada’s Got Talent” type performance by a Canadian group.

Final Verdict:

A thoroughly flawed film, poorly directed, a complete mess, not funny and overall an utter disappointment. You might disagree with me; it can be fun for a lot of people, but I was not entertained because the first movie was just too good and this was NOTHING like that. I wish Pitch Perfect 2 never happened.

Life Lesson Learned:

Not every movie deserves a sequel. They are awesome as stand-alones.

Potahto Rating:

4 out of 10 Potahtos

30 thoughts on “Pitch Perfect 2: Aca-Disappointing!

  1. miusho May 30, 2015 / 10:23 PM

    I was planning on watching this online or something.. But I guess I’ll just stick to me dislikes for movies in general and forget about that idea.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 31, 2015 / 3:14 PM

      I second that! I still feel ashamed of myself for spending my hard-earned money on this piece of garbage 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho May 31, 2015 / 5:30 PM

        I dislike movies in general. I only go when my fiancé begs hard enough or if it’s his birthday. 😮

        Like

  2. jabrush1213 May 31, 2015 / 12:08 AM

    The only reason why I want to see this movie is because of Rebel Wilson. I know one person does not make a full movie. But, she is hilarious. I have heard bad things about this movie, so I am going to wait until it comes out on Netflix.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 31, 2015 / 3:16 PM

      Yeah this movie might seem tolerable on the small screen.. And Rebel Wilson is a good comedian but her lines in this movie were just too unbearable except for a few times 😦 I loved her character in part 1 but this time, nah-uh..

      Liked by 1 person

  3. zhangah May 31, 2015 / 1:08 AM

    I like the point that you made about the movie trying to be “inclusive” but fails to portray the characters beyond a cheap stereotype. The first movie was enjoyable for its memorable musical performances but your review has convinced me to stay away from the sequel. There is something utterly disappointing about a movie that’s about using one’s mouth to create music but fails to give voice to its diverse cast.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 31, 2015 / 3:19 PM

      Exactly!! I was seriously hurt that this franchise had to stoop so low to get some cheap laughs out of the audience 😦

      Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 31, 2015 / 3:24 PM

      I had to rewatch the final performance of the first part after this.. You remember that magical, goosebumps inducing moment when she started to sing “Don’t You Forget About Me”? In PP2 they TRIED to create such a moment but horribly failed to create that impact.. Sigh 😦 Elizabeth Banks should stick to acting and never direct feature films..

      Liked by 1 person

  4. desleyjane May 31, 2015 / 5:14 AM

    We saw this last night and the audience laughed a lot. I found some funny moments too but I did find it a little predictable. And I agree with you on some of the jokes being a little too much. The riff off was the best part of the whole movie. I wish that could have been longer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 31, 2015 / 3:28 PM

      Yes, a FEW moments were indeed funny (e.g. “You ARE a Bella, you paid the registration fee.” 😀
      The riff-off really was awesome, but I wish the rest of the performances had that same energy! 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • desleyjane May 31, 2015 / 3:31 PM

        Me too. I was so confused and let down by the world final…

        Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 31, 2015 / 3:34 PM

      Not one person on this planet can hate PP1, it had all the essential ingredients of being a perfect entertainer ❤ Maybe if this movie had the same director from the first it would've been better 😦
      P.S. Thanks for reading, dear 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. swajithkas May 31, 2015 / 11:53 AM

    A.B. Mood;
    “If you have some spare money lying around and want to go out for a fun movie-night, then please go watch Mad Max: Fury Road (I can’t recommend that movie enough) and steer clear of Pitch Perfect 2. That’s my most honest advice to you guys”.
    YOUR ADVISE IS UNDER CONSIDERATION AND AT AN APPROPRIATE TIME IT WILL BE FOLLOWED………..
    THANKS……..
    Wishing you all the best……..

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 31, 2015 / 3:36 PM

      Aw you’re most welcome, dearest 🙂 I hope you’re a fan of action movies if you’re gonna go watch Mad Max :3
      But if you aren’t even then I hope you’ll find something to love about in that brilliant movie!

      Liked by 1 person

      • swajithkas June 1, 2015 / 5:33 PM

        Now, it is not matter, whether, I am fan or not fan of action movies, but now it is a matter of friendship, because, when my dearest friend suggested me to see some specific movies, I must watch it but at an appropriate time and on my own convenience, by the way, whenever you have spare time please do not forget to watch; GLADIATOR & TROY, they are not only action movies but they are some of the best historical movies.
        Action pack drama, amazing dialogue, stunning scenery, beautiful locations, powerful performance of each character and the underline messages are some of the pure pleasure of these movies…….
        Wishing you all the best………………….

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood June 3, 2015 / 8:16 PM

        Aw Swajithkas (it would be lovely if I knew your real name though) thank you so much for this genuinely sweet comment ❤ You are just too thoughtful my friend 🙂 And by the way I actually have seen Gladiator (it is one of my TOP FAVORITE MOVIES OF ALL TIME) ❤ but haven't seen Troy yet because my brother spoiled its ending for me so I never got around to it 😦 But now I'll definitely check it out ^_^ Thanks so much again dearest 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • swajithkas June 4, 2015 / 10:05 AM

        You can call me by any name whichever you like to and love to be called.
        Happy????????????????
        Yes, you must watch Troy and it is not just the movie but a saga of love,revenge,hostility, nobleness of human nature in most dying and trying situations and circumstance, best battlefield scenes are some of the best part of this my all time great movie.
        Wishing you all the best…………………

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood June 4, 2015 / 8:59 PM

        Well then I’ll call youuuu Swaji, how about that? 😉
        And my brother has brought me the DVD for Troy last night, I think I’ll watch it this weekend ^_^ Now I’m super intrigued 🙂

        Like

      • swajithkas June 5, 2015 / 10:17 AM

        A.B.Mood;
        “Well then I’ll call youuuu Swaji, how about that? ;)”
        As you wish my dearest friend;
        Now more than happy??????????????????????
        After watching this movie better you tell me which scene you liked most??????????????
        Wishing you all the best…………..
        Speed, Speed one, Air Force 1, waiting in ques.

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood June 7, 2015 / 10:23 PM

        I’ve seen Speed, Speed 2 and Air Force 1 all of them 😀 Speed was actually the first movie where I started to have a crush on Hollywood celebrities (my first crush was Keanu Reeves) 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  6. swajithkas June 8, 2015 / 1:18 PM

    A.B.Mood(y);
    Glad to know that you have a crush on Hollywood celebrities;
    What about George Coloney, Daniel Craig ?????????????????
    By the way, who is your favorite female celebrity from Hollywood.??????????

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood June 15, 2015 / 10:50 PM

      Oh who doesn’t love George Clooney ❤ Well my celebrity crush list keeps on growing every day 😛 But as for the females leads, emmm I LOVE Sandra Bullock, Emma Stone, Emma Watson, Jessica Chastain and a few others :3

      Liked by 1 person

      • swajithkas June 16, 2015 / 12:18 PM

        A.B.Mood;
        We both are on same ship, like you
        ” ❤ Well my celebrity crush list keeps on growing every day 😛 But as for the females leads, emmm I LOVE Sandra Bullock,. What about Angelina Jolie, Salma Hayek????????????????

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood June 17, 2015 / 9:59 PM

        Emmm I used to like Angie but notso much now 😦 But Salma Hayek is an evergreen beauty 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • swajithkas June 17, 2015 / 11:14 PM

        “Emmm I used to like Angie but notso much now 😦 But Salma Hayek is an evergreen beauty ;)”
        Now we both are on common ground, yes, you are absolutely right, Oh, Salma Hayek,Pure Mexican,evergreen beauty, so, now, we are both agreed about it, no question, no confusion, total understanding about it.
        By the way, have you seen, “Troy”??????????????????

        Like

  7. Sierra June 9, 2015 / 10:17 PM

    I very much agreed with you on every point! I seem to be the only one sometimes to see that the only thing to Rebel Wilson’s performance as Fat Amy are…well….fat jokes. And I really couldn’t stand the new girl. I think the creators of PP2 took the success and adoration of Benji in the first film and tried to give him a love connection with Emily. The only problem? THERE WAS NO LOVE CONNECTION! Very good review. It’s nice to see someone who can critique a film and not get caught up in the franchise.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood June 15, 2015 / 11:57 PM

      Thanks verra much Sierra 🙂 I’m so glad to know you agree with me 😀 You know somethin else; one of the best things about the first film was Beca and Jesse’s cute love story, and if they had continued with that story arc I think it would’ve been a success, rather than turning Jesse into a Cheerleader in every scene 😀

      Like

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

