Tomorrowland: “Dreamers must stick together!”

Oh boy, why did I decide to write spoiler-free reviews? That way I have too little to say about this movie. It relies on one simple message, and if I disclose that main plot-line there’s practically nothing left behind.

So yeah, I saw two movies this past weekend, and both pretty much carried the same central theme (“hope or lack thereof”) but were complete opposites in every way. People who are judging this one by comparing it to Mad Max are complete idiots, to be honest. It’s like comparing Apples and Pineapples (Oranges are old school). Tomorrowland is a kids movie, a very enjoyable kids movie carrying all the signature Disney elements.

Tomorrowland Poster

Movie Synopsis:

(Excerpt taken from Rotten Tomatoes ’cause I couldn’t say it better without spoilin
g it all.)

“Bound by a shared destiny, former boy-genius Frank (George Clooney), jaded by disillusionment, and Casey (Britt Robertson), a bright, optimistic teen bursting with scientific curiosity, embark on a danger-filled mission to unearth the secrets of an enigmatic place somewhere in time and space known only as “Tomorrowland.” What they must do there changes the world-and them-forever.”

My Take on the Movie:

I thoroughly loved Tomorrowland. Yes, loved. Partly because it awakened the inner child in me and partly because I’m an optimist (wasn’t always one as my WP Family knows), that’s why I’m very easy-going in my reviews (I tend to see the good in things and not focus on the negatives). In order to enjoy Tomorrowland you have to watch it with a specific mind-set: don’t expect too much, just go with the flow and try to see it from the point of view of a child whose imagination is filled with wonder.

I heard one reviewer saying it was like watching a 2 hour long motivational seminar, and he’s not wrong at all. But for me it was like attending a 2 hour long motivational seminar on a crazy rollercoaster ride while eating a shit-ton of caramel popcorn.

Amazing CGI and Great Direction:

The visuals were the second best thing about Tomorrowland. I was amazed by the stunning worlds (dimensions?) they created. I thought I might have had more fun if I saw it in 3D, but the 2D experience had its own merits (I could turn my head in any direction I liked and enjoyed the bursting bright imagery).

Tomorrowland

As for Mr. Brad Bird, he’s been my childhood hero since 1999. Iron Giant, The Incredibles, Ratatouille, need I say more? So obviously I was in since Day 1, and I’m proud to say I wasn’t disappointed. I admit Tomorrowland isn’t as great as his previous works but it still carried the magical marvel that we’ve come to love from his movies.

Powerful Performances:

Of course whatever George Clooney does has a stamp of “CERTIFIED AWESOME” on it so I don’t have to praise his performance but who I wanna talk about is Britt Robertson, the first best thing about this film. Woah this girl was on FIRE (FIYUUHH)! I’m feeling a bit inadequate by the thought that I haven’t seen her in any other film or TV show (and she has had a stellar career and it’s only the beginning).

Britt Robertson in Tomorrowland

You know someone is a great actor when you can relate to their character, feel yourself in their shoes and think you’d react EXACTLY like that if you were in their place. Every word she said, every move she made (oh this is turning into “Every Breath You Take”) she was so into her character that not for one second I thought that she’s trying too hard. She acted like any other person to whom the biggest secret of the world is revealed to: amazed, flabbergasted, excited, involved in childlike wonder and awe. Every second she was on-screen was a delight. If she keeps up like this (and finds herself the right roles) she’ll soon see herself in the best of the best A-listers.

A Wonderful Message:

A lot of people have a problem with the last act of the movie in which the big revelation is exposed. They say it turned too “preachy”, but I… like being preached once in a while I guess? Sometimes I feel like I need a refresher on some things I already know. I didn’t learn anything new but when I stepped out of the theater I did feel a bit elated, a little more optimistic. So if a movie succeeds in making you feel exultant then I think they accomplished and did a fairly good job.

Confusing Plot-holes Never Explained:

The only thing I didn’t like about Tomorrowland was it’s lack of explanations for everything that was going on. And a LOT was going on simultaneously and many new and different things were being shown to the viewers every 5 minutes, but none of the Hows and Whys were explored.

I think the movie got a little too ambitious? I understand the explanations weren’t the main focus of the film; it was all driven towards the adventurous journey these unlikely heroes have together but the adult viewers do demand a little closure on what the hell and how the hell is it all happening? I was very confused so I had to shut down my logical left brain for the whole duration of the film and concentrate on the creative and fun right side of the brain that doesn’t look for logical explanations. It was tough but I had to.

Conclusion:

All-in-all Tomorrowland is a perfect film to watch with your whole family, especially the kids. Ignore the haters who are being a little too tough on it. Trust me, you’ll get your money’s worth if you decide to watch it according to the directions I’ve given you (don’t be too over-analytical, don’t keep your expectations too high and try to bring out the creative, optimistic and fun side of yourself).

Life Lesson Learned:

“There are two wolves who are always fighting. One is darkness and despair. The other is light and hope. The question is: which wolf wins?”

“The one you feed.”

Potahto Rating:

7 out of 10 Potahtos

9 thoughts on “Tomorrowland: “Dreamers must stick together!”

  1. Uday May 27, 2015 / 10:48 PM

    Directions noted! I was intrigued by this one, but almost all the reviews I read dissed the movie. But then I realized I’m not very stingy like you and do know how to see the good in things, so I might enjoy this one after all 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 29, 2015 / 6:12 PM

      It really is one of the more decent movies I’ve seen this year.. Definitely worth a shot.. But I’d say wait for the DVD and go spend your money on Mad Max 😀 That one has been the best of this year (by far)!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Uday May 30, 2015 / 11:11 AM

        Yes yes, I’m planning to go this weekend 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. garym6059 May 27, 2015 / 11:04 PM

    I thought it looked interesting based on your thoughts I might actually go spend a small fortune at the theater.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 29, 2015 / 6:10 PM

      Yeah I’d highly suggest you to take your kids with you ^_^ They’ll definitely LOVE it 🙂

      Like

  3. jabrush1213 May 28, 2015 / 1:48 AM

    I must say, I really want to see this movie now. At first I was not as influenced to see this movie, but after reading some reviews and seeing more previews has me waiting on the edge of my seat to watch this movie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 29, 2015 / 6:14 PM

      Glad to know you value my opinion 😀 Thank you so much for the feedback ^_^ If you don’t plan to watch it on the big screen then do check it out on DVD! You’ll have a good time 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. C.S. Wilde May 30, 2015 / 7:37 PM

    You know, I’ve been crazy to see this movie, because I love that 60s optimism about the future. I agree with you 100%, Potahto: comparing this movie to Mad Max, which is clearly a hard core dystopia, makes absolutely no sense.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 30, 2015 / 10:11 PM

      Hey then you should go catch it in theaters while it lasts! 😮 You’ll love it ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

