Age of Ultron: What’s up with the critics?

I don’t understand why people were bashing this movie so much. Especially the critics. Well you know, you start to truly enjoy a film when you set it apart from it’s prequels. See it as it’s OWN movie. I know that’s tough and no one does that. But when I went to watch Age of Ultron I completely wiped the first part from my memory and judged the flick on its own merits. So yeah, I had a pretty awesome time!

Note: This review is Spoiler Free! Yay!

Age of Ultron Poster

Plot Synopsis:

After the Avengers raid a Hydra outpost to retrieve “Loki’s” scepter, Tony Smartypants and Bruce McBig Softie discover an artificial intelligence within that scepter and decide to develop such a defense program by the name of Ultron that’ll keep the world safe from all sorts of threats (alien or human) so that the world won’t ever need Avengers again. And what movies like The Matrix have taught us is that AI is bad news. Nothing good will ever come of it. Want another prime example? Watch “Ex Machina“, that shit was creepy! Anyhoe, Ultron gains consciousness on its own and after spending precisely one minute on the internet he decides to wipe all of human existence. Yep!

Captain ManBoobs, Thor Goldilocks and the rest of the Avenger clan first dis Tony for creating such a monster but soon they gotta save the world of this evil menace and etc etc, you know the whole drill.

My Take on the Movie:

What did I love about the movie? Everything! Well technically not EVERYTHING; this movie had a very dark visual tone which I didn’t approve of very much. Part of the reason was that the IMAX and 3D glasses that we have are already quite dark, (and I’ve had the chance to watch Age of Ultron on both IMAX and normal 3D), and my normal 3D experience was a visual torture for my eyes. I had to pull my glasses down again and again just so I could actually SEE the movie.

Another thing that slightly weirded me out was the comedic/serious balance of the screenplay. At one moment I’m laughing and giggling 😀 and in the next I’m like Oooooohhkaaay 😦 This one had quite a lot of emotionally moving scenes, which I absolutely loved but the constant shift of the mood was a bit strange for me.

Okay then, leave that. Let’s talk about the good shtuff!

Maximoff Twins:

Maximoff Twins

Oh God, I LOVED them! The people who had a problem with their accents should just shusshh. Elizabeth Olsen and Aaron Taylor Johnson were a deeee-light! I’ve only seen Elizabeth in one other role – Godzilla – and I’m not even sure I remember that character at all. It was so forgetful. But this, man oh man, I have a total girl-crush on her now. I’ve no need to say anything about Aaron coz he’s been my sweetheart since Nowhere Boy.

They both were energetic, hit the right balance of  vengeance + empathy, and were overall great actors. Brahvo!

Ultron:

Ultron

Everyone has already said this that the best thing about Age of Ultron WAS Ultron! Whatever James Spader does is a masterpiece, no doubt. Ultron has been, by far, my favorite villain in movies this year. He was witty, conniving, beautiful and terrifying all together. And I must say kudos to the visual effects team, because this robot they made gave better facial expressions and acting then most of the real (human) actors nowadays 😀

Banner + Romanoff:

Banner and Romanoff

Why were people hating on their relationship so much? They were perfect for each other. They both have a dark past, they’re both damaged and both needed someone to make them feel whole again. I was shipping them really hard throughout the movie, and the ending really got to me because ALL OF US can relate to their situation. We’ve all have faced some tough times in life where we have to let go of someone because we believe we’re bad for them or their bad for us. Same happened to me, I had a really close and pure relationship with…. sigh… sugar. 😥 I have a big ass sweet tooth and I knew that I’m bad for her (I can consume all the world’s sugar and make it non-existent) and she’s bad for me (she’ll cause me diabetes if I keep gulping down sweets at a frequent rate) so I had to let it go 😥 As much as it hurt me I had to turn the other way </3 *sniff sniff*

The Fight Scenes (especially HulkBuster vs. Hulk and that Last one):

Avengers Assemble

We know that Avengers fight scenes are always beautifully choreographed and filmed but the Hulkbuster & Hulk faceoff was something special! It was everything I imagined it to be: BREATHTAKING. It literally took my breath away and I had my fists clenched I was so frikkin’ tense and exhilarated by that whole sequence. And the best dialogue of the movie is also from that scene and that dialogue is “Go to sleep, go to sleep, go to sleep, go to sleep.” 😀

As for the final fighting sequence, especially that 3D panoramic view of the all the Avengers vs. ALL of Ultron’s robots was, in my opinion, the best visually spectacular fight scene from all of Marvel’s movies. We don’t get to see such amazing special effects a lot. It was B.E.A.UUTIFUL!

All in all, Avengers: Age of Ultron was an amazing movie to watch with your friends and family. Just don’t compare it to the first one and you’ll have a great time.

Life Lesson Learned:

Artificial Intelligence is bad. Don’t create it, don’t mess with it, otherwise you’ll be responsible for Earth’s destruction.

Potahto Rating:

8 out 10 Potahtos

12 thoughts on “Age of Ultron: What’s up with the critics?

  1. C.S. Wilde May 21, 2015 / 12:51 AM

    Right? My husband was all like “meh” after we watched the movie, but I loved it. I almost cried when poor Pietro met his fate. The only thing I didn’t buy much was Romanoff+The Hulk. I thought it was okay, but not wow-okay. Just…mmkay.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 22, 2015 / 7:31 PM

      I was kinda shocked when they killed off poor Pietro 😥 I thought Marvel was well-known for fake-killing people (minus the Spiderman movies), but this really hit me hard coz I wasn’t expecting that 😦 Well, I guess I’ll re-watch X-Men Days of Future Past and try to fall in love with their version of Quicksilver all over again 😀
      And yeah Hulk+Romanoff didn’t have much EXCITING chemistry with each other, but I just liked how their story developed..

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jabrush1213 May 21, 2015 / 2:13 AM

    I haven’t seen this movie yet, but I want to. I have heard more good things about this film than bad from people who have viewed Avengers:Age of Ultron.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 22, 2015 / 7:33 PM

      Yeah it didn’t get as much rave reviews as the first Avengers did; it’s metacritic rating is really disappointing. But oh what the heck, critics love to suck the joy out of things 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Uday May 21, 2015 / 11:29 PM

    The Maximoff twins were awesome!!! Especially “you didn’t see that coming, did you?” at the end. Totally destroyed me.

    And the 3D! I know it all too well! The darkness can sometimes be such a hindrance, I too pull down my glasses so that I could watch stuff in their natural brightness. I had the worst experience in Interstellar!

    And I was shipping Banner and Romanoff the whole time too! They were perfect for each other 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 22, 2015 / 7:35 PM

      Thank GOD I watched Intersteller in IMAX 2D.. Otherwise that whole experience would’ve been horrible! I feel you, bro ;(
      And I also didn’t like all the “sadness” in the movie.. First Quicksilver, then Hulk running away.. Ergh.. Too much 😦

      Like

      • Uday May 22, 2015 / 9:42 PM

        I know, right! 😦 Why do they have to turn every damn movie into 3D eludes me completely.

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood May 24, 2015 / 12:12 AM

        Tomorrow I’m going to watch Tomorrowland in 2D.. The first decent Hollywood flick in months that’s not being released here in 3D. #blessed 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Uday May 24, 2015 / 2:25 PM

        I love it when hashtags are used appropriately 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood May 26, 2015 / 10:07 PM

        That’s why I use hashtags sparingly 😛 They’re the most annoying aspect of the interwebs 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Frederick June 1, 2015 / 1:20 PM

    Go to sleep. Go to sleep. Go to sleep. Go to sleep. Hahahaha that made me laugh!!

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

