The Hangover Has Subsided

Oh yaaasss, the hangover is finally gone! I woke up today feeling as productive as Bradley Cooper did in Limitless after he took that NZT stuff. I took my white board in my lap, wiped it clean and started making a new and improved Daily Schedule, drove to the market and bought myself lots of sketching material and downloaded and bookmarked shit-ton of tutorials. But wait, why sketching all of a sudden? Before I proceed, lemme tell ya what I’ve been up to in the past 22 days!

What Was the Hangover About?
Every two months (for the past 5 bloody years) I have to go through this excruciating process of midterms and finals and the week before they start I lock myself in my room, disconnect myself from the outside world (that’s why I quit Blogging U’s Writing 101) and study me arse off. I’m that kind of person who studies on the expense of her own physical and mental health. I’m not a genius, I have to work really hard to get good grades, and when I put all my physical and mental energy into that 1 horrible week of examination, my body just… collapses.

I have made a record of falling badly ill after every examination I’ve given in my life. I fall sick for precisely 10 days and spend day and night sleeping and eating on my bed and watching loads of movies and TV shows. This time I didn’t even take notes for my reviews, so the upcoming posts are gonna sound very idiotic and poorly researched and written. I apologize in advance.

Why Did You Quit Writing 101?
The day I decided I had to focus on my grades, and realized I couldn’t do that until I stop blogging for a while, I was literally in tears. Because Blogging U has given me what I’ve always dreamt of my blog would be: a place where I share my deepest most heartfelt stories and develop a true bond with the beautiful people here. I suffices to day that this was as good as it will ever get for me here. This was the high point. It’s all downhill from here. Trust me, you’ll see the numbers drop further and further in my future posts 😛

So I've Got That Going For Me

The reason I’m not continuing with the assignments is because the official end date was 30th April and by the time my exams ended and my illness subsided it was too late. Now the Creative Commons would be empty and I’ll just be old news now. So, 13 Assignments it is. I was close, yeah. I hope next year I’ll do better coz then there will be no exams! No exams for the rest of my life 😀 I’ll be a free woman!

Anyway I do want to thank Blogging U by The Daily Post who helped me realize my true writing potential. All the love I received from the community was overwhelming and made me realize that I can indeed write something worthwhile. I have found so many amazing people who are now a loving part of my WP Family and I hope this bond will remain forever strong for years to come ❤

So What Now?
I haven’t told you guys before but I’ve been working as the Director Fundraising for this Non-Profit “Educating Child Laborers Organization“. It’s a work in progress and my team and I we’re building and growing it’s Lahore Chapter. Other than that during my hangover I decided to build up my sketching skills. As some of you may know I’m into Graphic Designing (and I want to pursue it as a profession) and I’ve gotten pretty good at Photoshop recently, so I decided now it’s time I start working on my drawing skills. I won’t become a good graphic designer until I know how to draw stuff! DUH!

I used to be pretty good at drawing and sketching when I was little. My Mum says I have very “artistic hands” – whatever that means – but I really was damn good at art. So I’m trying to give it a go again and I hope it’ll all come back to me.

In other news I’ve done a lot of Couch Potahto’ing during this almost-one-month and my upcoming posts will be filled with my useless and unauthentic opinion regarding everything I’ve seen in the past few days. So there you have it! Haa, it’s good to be back here.

32 thoughts on “The Hangover Has Subsided

  1. desleyjane May 17, 2015 / 5:08 PM

    Welcome back. I’ve been wondering where you’ve been at! Well done with your exams! Don’t worry, I failed Writing101 as well due to traveling overseas. So glad you’re back, looking forward to your reviews. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 19, 2015 / 8:36 PM

      Thanks 😀 And oh no worries, your work is more important than this challenge..
      P.S. I do envy your constant travelling 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  2. miusho May 17, 2015 / 5:31 PM

    Yaaaay! You’re back!! ❤

    Also. You never really loose touch with drawing but you do get a bit rusty. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 19, 2015 / 8:37 PM

      I can’t even make a perfect circle right now ;( I’ve lost all confidence in drawing but I hope it’ll come back with practice 😦

      Like

      • miusho May 19, 2015 / 9:21 PM

        I can’t make perfect circles either. 😀
        But all I can tell you is that you just need to keep trying. Practice makes perfect. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  3. abyssbrain May 17, 2015 / 5:34 PM

    Your exams are more important than blogging 101, haha. I wish that I was that enthusiastic about exams during my studies. I would just study for two days at most before the examinations. My mother always asked me before if I were even studying :)…

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 19, 2015 / 8:39 PM

      That’s probably because you’re a genius and/or have a higher IQ 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • abyssbrain May 19, 2015 / 8:44 PM

        I admit that I can easily memIorize a lot of facts and I’m very proficient in using memory systems as well. Though in hindsight, it’s not a good enough reason fr me to slack off.

        Also, I admire genius of hard wprd work far more than natural talent.

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood May 20, 2015 / 11:42 PM

        I’ll be taking that as a compliment 😉 And don’t beat yourself up on slacking a little bit. You already have a hectic routine and sometimes you deserve to be a little bit sluggish once in a while ^,^

        Like

  4. Nooryak May 17, 2015 / 7:33 PM

    Good to have you back, you’ve been missed 🙂
    Exams are bad but don’t kill yourself that much 😦
    Good luck for your sketching journey, I hope you get what you want from it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 19, 2015 / 8:40 PM

      Thank you so much Noorya for the warm wishes ^_^ I hope the sketching goes well *fingers crossed*

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Uday May 18, 2015 / 12:46 AM

    And she’s back with a – wait for it – BANG! Of course one should always take one’s exams seriously! Your blog and your friends will always be here but exams don’t halt. 🙂 Anyway, great that you are finally done with them. ^_^ Eagerly waiting for all your observational blog posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 19, 2015 / 8:41 PM

      Teehee ^_^ Thanks Uday for always bringing a smile to my silly face :3

      Liked by 1 person

      • Uday May 19, 2015 / 9:48 PM

        Anything for Abeeha from House Mahmood! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood May 20, 2015 / 11:52 PM

        Ooo House Mahmood 😀 I wonder what my House Sigil would be 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • Uday May 21, 2015 / 5:48 PM

        House Kanth’s would be a black phoenix on gold background! 😀 I called dibs fist 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood May 22, 2015 / 6:41 PM

        That’s so badass :O Why didn’t I think of that first 😡 😛 It’s even cooler than House Targaryen’s sigil 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Uday May 22, 2015 / 9:50 PM

        Hey don’t worry, I’m sure you’ll come up with an even better one for House Mahmood!! 😀 Now I have to go and refresh my Photoshop skills…

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood May 24, 2015 / 12:20 AM

        Oh cool I do that in my free time too ^_^

        Like

  6. C.S. Wilde May 19, 2015 / 11:03 PM

    Potahtooo I must see your drawings! I used to draw a lot when I was younger, but then just gave up…I made the banner on my blog all by myself some eight years ago T_T
    PS: This is princess kickass, I made a blog for my fiction writing. Yasssssss!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 21, 2015 / 12:01 AM

      Oh my God Princess Kick-Ass I now finally know what you look like and you’re absolutely beautiful 😀 Sorry for gushing all over you but you are :3
      On a side note, aaww gee I’m starting with the basic shapes nowadays -_- Pretty boring stuff, but I’ll hopefully movie on to making mind-boggling anime soon enough 😉
      P.S. Thanks for letting me know about your other blog 😀
      P.P.S. It’s awesome!

      Like

      • C.S. Wilde May 21, 2015 / 12:16 AM

        OMGGG you’re too kind!!! I adore you mah Potahto! This is my “serious” website, though it is not serious at all. I simply cannot be serious. It’s like asking Bill Nye the science guy to stop doing science. You can send me your stuff if you ever wish to do so, I really love drawing. It sucks that it has been such a long time since I drew anything cool T_T
        PS: YOU’RE awesome : D

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood May 22, 2015 / 6:29 PM

        Why did you stop drawing?? You have talent oozing from your fingers 😀 Seriously!!! And not just drawing; how you play with the colors, the shades, it’s all so perfect! *_*
        I on the other hand have a loooonnggg way to go before I can start making art as awesome as yours :3

        Liked by 1 person

      • C.S. Wilde May 22, 2015 / 7:21 PM

        Ahw seriously, you have no idea how much you’ve improved my day! ❤ I do want to draw again, but there's barely any time left with the day job and the writing T_T

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood May 24, 2015 / 12:09 AM

        Ooohh yeah 😦 I too hardly find the time to learn drawing in the first place, let alone practice it :/ 😦

        Liked by 1 person

  7. StaceAlive June 2, 2015 / 5:12 AM

    Thanks Couchie good to see you back. I didn’t get past #6 in Writing 101 but have saved all the prompts and twists and am determined to work through them as work and life permits. So I don’t see it as “failing”, I just haven’t finished yet. Why not try that for yourself?

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood June 3, 2015 / 8:19 PM

      Well I did actually love all the prompts, they’ve been some of the most interesting posts I’ve ever written on my blog 😀 And I like your idea as well 🙂 The Daily Post have a page with all the prompts and their descriptions so maybe I’ll give em a try as well 🙂
      Thank you so much for your comment ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

