Lost & Found

Writing 101 Day 13

In my “Serially Lost” assignment, I told you that I am a big hoarder of memories – I keep my entire memorabilia safe in a box – that’s why I never lose anything precious to me. But to be honest, I did once lose something very crucial to me, thanks to my own stupidity. I lost my hand purse. I forgot it in my university’s exam hall and remembered I have left it there when I got back home at night. I called the department 10 times and no one picked up because obviously everyone had went home by then. I cried myself to sleep that night. Now you might think that a hand-purse or wallet isn’t something to be very touchy-feely about, but it was very (and I’m strongly emphasizing on the “very”) VERY important to me.

The next day when I reached the university, I  ran to the exam hall and searched all the hundreds of chairs and also got down on my knees to search the floor, but it was nowhere to be found. I then ran to the Record Office where they keep the Lost and Found items, and it wasn’t there either. I silently abused and cursed myself for being so fudging careless.

While I was walking to the auditorium (defeated and broken inside), a friend of mine met me in the way. Judging me from my exhausted looks and dusty clothes, she stopped me and asked what the hell had happened? I told her all about how I forgot my purse in the exam hall and my exasperating journey to find it. She then pulled me to the benches, sat me down and started finding something in her bag, and TA-DAH there it was!! I snatched it from her hands, looked at her with wild anger in my eyes and while grinding my teeth I asked her, “You found it and you didn’t tell me? I was just a text away! Why in the name of all that is Holy on this planet would you do that?” And she just replied, “I wanted to teach you a lesson, babe. You yourself know that what you did was stupid. You should thank me I saved it. I wonder if some stranger had found it he or she would’ve taken everything precious you keep inside it.”

“So you also looked inside?” I asked with a grim look on my face.

“Of course you idiot, I had to search for an ID card to know who was the owner. “

Well, she did make a lot of sense. So I hugged her, kissed her cheeks and thanked her for keeping it safe and sound.

Now let me show you why this purse means so much to me.

The Contents of my Wallet (1)

These are the basic contents of my purse (isn’t it cute?), a couple of bucks, my Bachelor’s and Master’s ID cards (I blurred my photo because that picture is from 10th grade and I look really weird in it) 😀 my National Identity Card, my Library Card and a couple of business cards I’ve received over the years. There’s also one extra sim I carry with me which I’ve never used, and some extra earplugs. I can never have enough plugs for my earphones because I lose them too often.

Pretty basic stuff isn’t it? Not worth crying over, right?

Now HERE are the reasons why I actually cried; the contents of my purse that I hold very dear to me and now you’ll know why losing them crushed me.

The Contents of my Wallet (2)

I carry the pictures of my family with me. These passport-size photos of my parents are from many years ago when they were quite young (there aren’t any more copies left of these), and the one of my brother was also taken a couple of years back. I blurred the photos because I respect my family’s privacy very much, but even through the blur you can still see that my Dad is a handsome man with a glorious Ron-Swanson-like mustache (he’s still rocking it), my Mom is practically the most beautiful woman I’ve ever met or known (she still is), and my brother is also a very smart and fine-looking guy. 🙂

As for the movie tickets, I don’t carry the tickets of ALL the movies I’ve ever seen – those are kept in the box in the attic – but I carry only those which hold a significant importance to me. The first one on the left is from the very first movie I ever watched after growing up (check out the date: its 2009), “Kaminey” (“The Scoundrels” in English). It was a decent Indian flick, not too good not too bad, but as it was my first proper movie in the cinema so that’s why I keep it with me. In actuality, the very, very first movie I ever saw in the cinema was “Jumanji”, but at that time I was only two years old and I don’t remember that experience at all so that doesn’t count 😀

The other one below it is from the first movie I saw in the theater with just my Mom. Me and Mama, just the two of us, had never went for a movie alone together; we always went with Papa and Bro. But this was the first time we had a Girls Day Out. And the movie “Zindagi Naa Milegi Dobara” (“You Only Live Once”) is probably my most favorite Indian movie to-date. If you haven’t seen it yet, then please do, I promise you, you will not regret watching it!

The one’s on the right are of “Guardians of the Galaxy” and “Interstellar”. GOTG is the first IMAX movie I’ve ever seen 😀 So yeah, I keep it with me as a milestone reminder 😛 And as for Interstellar, that movie experience was just… phenomenal. I watched it with my whole family, and why this was so special to me, I’ll share that with you another day.

Now for the thingies placed above. That friendship “bracelet” was given to me by a very close friend of mine; it reminds me of a very special era of my life. That keychain above that belongs to my father and it is more or less 20 years old. You see, a little “Mahmood” is written on it in both English and Urdu. Although I don’t know what those tiny keys are for; maybe they open a gateway to Narnia or the Shire. You never know 😛 On its left is a pendant on which the Ayat-ul-Kursi is written; these are some very special Holy verses meant for protection and blessings in general. And below it is a 40 or 50 year old pencil that my grandfather gave to my dad when he was young.

So now you know that wherever I go I carry my memories with me. Whenever I open my purse I’m reminded of the good things in life. 🙂 I know it’s not smart to keep this much personal stuff with me, because people lose their wallets all the time. But after that one incident I’ve kept extra care of it and I’m sure that I’ll never lose it again. And even if I do, I know it’ll find its way back to me 🙂


Day 13’s Prompt: write about finding something.

Tell us about the time you retrieved your favorite t-shirt from your ex. Or when you accidentally stumbled upon your fifth-grade journal in your parents’ attic. Or how about the moment you found out the truth about a person whose history or real nature you thought you’d figured out. Interpret this theme of “finding something” however you see fit.

11 thoughts on “Lost & Found

  1. ninakimani11 April 25, 2015 / 4:37 PM

    Your flow of words is just Amazing. Great that you have all those good memories. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 25, 2015 / 4:47 PM

      Thank you so much Nina, your comment ALWAYS makes my day 😀 ❤ xoxo

      Like

  2. Uday April 26, 2015 / 4:57 PM

    Girl, this was so sweet!! I can see why you hold the contents of your purse so dear ❤

    And guess what, I do collect tickets of movies that hold a significance to me 🙂 Though of course I don't put them in my wallet, they go between pages of some old books!

    As for the movies, haven't seen Kaminey but Zindagi was a stupendous movie! Loved every single moment of it! Even Katrina was bearable 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 19, 2015 / 8:00 PM

      Hahaha same here dude! I don’t usually like Katrina (like AT ALL) but for once she was tolerable in ZNMGD 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  3. sarahlouchip April 28, 2015 / 11:20 AM

    I love how distinct your voice is in your writing, when I read you posts it feels like I’m having a nice chat with a friend. Also you couldn’t have picked a better movie than GOTG for your first IMAX experience!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 19, 2015 / 8:02 PM

      Thank you so much Sarah ^_^ And yes watching GOTG in IMAX was the best decision I’ve done for my movie-watching experience 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. TK May 1, 2015 / 1:39 PM

    Okay so first of all that was super mean of your friend to not tell you she had the purse, even if she wanted to teach you a lesson! Even if she doesn’t know how valuable it is to you, the bare minimum is that it has all your identity cards!

    I loved that through this post we got to know about you a little bit more. The contents of your purse truly reflect who you are and what memories are special to you, and if I were in your place I would definitely be crushed to lose it! Actually, that’s not so far fetched because I have an insane amount of things in my purse 😛

    Great post AB!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 19, 2015 / 8:05 PM

      That really was very mean of her 😦 That purse is priceless to me, and you can totally understand my position.. A girl carries her whole world with her in her bag 😛

      Like

  5. Phil Taylor May 3, 2015 / 3:10 PM

    I think it’s awesome that you carry your memories with you. I too am a memory hoarder and I also keep a lot of little things that remind me of special moments in life. It’s a great way to give yourself a good feeling when you need one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood May 19, 2015 / 8:20 PM

      That’s exactly the reason why I keep these with me 🙂 A little glimpse of these memories brightens my day ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Phil Taylor May 3, 2015 / 3:11 PM

    Your friend was a little mean spirited in trying to teach you a lesson though. I can see why you got a little angry with her at first.

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

