“Where we love is home – home that our feet may leave, but not our hearts.”

Writing101 Day 11

Me and my family, we have spent all the days of our lives in Lahore, Pakistan. We’ve never lived anywhere else. And I don’t really have to stress on recalling tiny details about the home where I lived when I was 12 because I got to spend almost 20 years of my life there (we just moved 5 months ago). All of this *pointing to myself* is a by-product of all the wonderful years I’ve spent in that lovely little place. That house was as old as me. Yep, my arrival in this world and that house’s completion happened pretty much simultaneously.

All four of us family members lived on the ground floor; the first floor was never occupied by any of us because it existed in an other-worldly dimension of weather-condition-extremity. I’m not kidding. If it was summer, the first floor felt like the Devil himself bathes in hellfire there, and in the winter season it was like Antarctica moved in without our permission. Also the first floor didn’t have a bathroom; Dad never fully constructed it because of lack of “monetary resources”.

On the other hand, the ground floor was a whole other story. The first thing everyone noticed whenever they entered our home was that it was very spacious for a 5 Marla house. It was designed very intricately by my Mom; and by intricately I mean you could see that it was designed by a very protective mother. No, not over-protective like Norma Bates (God forbid) 😀 but as in “I-just-want-to-keep-an-eye-on-my-kids” kind of protective.

There was a little garage in the entrance, which could accommodate one small sized car and two bikes. Then came the main entrance which opened into the TV lounge. That was the largest room, spanning across the whole width of the house. There were two bedrooms, one across the TV lounge (which was the main bedroom having one bathroom) and one at its back (the secondary bedroom which also opened into the garage), and one kitchen beside the main bedroom which opened into the back alley. So every room was quite open and connected and you could see any part of the house standing from anyplace. No, no, my Mom didn’t have any trust issues that she wanted to keep an eye on us. NO, we were the most well-behaved and most obedient kids this world has ever seen, but she wanted to keep an eye on us because she was always scared for our well-being, and in my case she still is. She still gets a little queasy when she doesn’t see me for more than 3 hours. She always gave me my freedom, but it’s in the nature of all the mothers of the world to forever be a little afraid/protective for their daughters 🙂

Anyway, back to the House Tour again. As we had a very small home, we had to make the most of it by making each room as multi-purpose as it could be. The TV lounge was also the living room and the dining room 😀 On one corner it had a huge wall to wall shelf that displayed the TV and all the books, and decorations, and the cupboards were used as storage area for all our extra household stuff. On the other corner we had the dining table for the guests. All four of us never used the dining table for either breakfast, lunch or dinner in those 20 years. Why? Because we had this habit of eating “Roti and Saalan” from one plate, while sitting cross-legged on the bed or on the floor. Yeah, whenever Mom cooked a rice dish we ate from our own plates, obviously 😀 We still eat this way, the dining table is still only for the guests, and the reason behind this “combined eating” is that in our religion it is considered sweet that the family eats together and shares the food in such a way because it strengthens the loving bond within the family. 🙂

The main bedroom was not just Mom and Dad’s room, it was the family room. All of us spent 70% of the time of the day there because all the family activities (watching TV, eating food, all the talking and discussions) happened in that small’ish room. For the Movie Nights we used the TV lounge. And oh yes, we had ONE bathroom. That’s weird na? 😛 It was one helluva headache waiting for one’s turn.

The secondary bedroom wasn’t actually a bedroom, because there was no solid partition between that room and the TV lounge 😀 Yes, it was an open bedroom, and the only temporary partition was a thin curtain. That’s why it was mostly used as the study room. Maybe you think this sounds like a very suffocating environment – trying to make the best of such a limited area and all – but it wasn’t. We were (and still are) a very close knit family and I love how we lived. The only reason for us moving from there was that the area in which we lived in started to get really rushy, loud and congested, and we all wanted some quiet and peace of mind.

The home in which we live in now is double the size, all of us have our own rooms, and its better constructed and furnished, but our old shabby little humble abode was also my Paradise for 20 years. I don’t know why but whenever I think about that home it reminds me of the sweet smell of incense. Although we burned incense there very infrequently, but maybe some things just get stuck in our mind as a reminder of all the time we lovingly spent there; like a song that reminds you of that special someone in your life (too bad this doesn’t apply to me, boo-hoo).


Day 11’s Prompt: Where did you live when you were 12 years old? Which town, city, and country? Was it a house or an apartment? A boarding school or foster home? An airstream or an RV? Who lived there with you?

The twist: pay attention to your sentence lengths and use short, medium, and long sentences as you compose your response about the home you lived in when you were twelve.

I am again a day late in submission. Darn it! I won’t be able to complete my assignments in a much thorough way anymore because I’m stuck in 10 different work and study related issues nowadays. And I deeply apologize to my WordPress family to whom I’m not able to reply back or comment on their posts. I’m really really sorry. I promise to complete this course, although you might see a sharp decline in writing quality :/ And I also promise once I’m done with my work I’ll give my 100% attention to visiting my dear WP Familias blogs! I love you guys! I hope this post wasn’t too bad!

21 thoughts on ““Where we love is home – home that our feet may leave, but not our hearts.”

      • A.B Mood April 25, 2015 / 1:34 PM

        Hehe thanks dear 🙂 Although I am still badly occupied but I can’t stay away from my WP family for long ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  1. miusho April 21, 2015 / 6:46 PM

    Have no fear! Your work is more important than a blog. We’ll still be here, waiting. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

      • miusho April 24, 2015 / 5:31 PM

        It’s ok. When you get back, you’ll have st much to catch up on, you’ll turn into a hermit!

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood April 24, 2015 / 5:58 PM

        Haha I won’t mind 😀 Talking to you guys is one of the few things that keeps me happy and sane! :3

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Uday April 21, 2015 / 7:25 PM

    Come on, no post by AB could be any bad! But what a lovely family and house! I can see it all so clearly!

    We had and still have a duplex house, but mum doesn’t want to move there because we wont be a shout away!! Lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 24, 2015 / 5:31 PM

      Hahaha our South Asian mom’s are very sweet 😛 They never wanna be much far apart from their kids ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Uday April 24, 2015 / 6:32 PM

        AB! you’re back! 😀 and yea, right you are!

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood April 25, 2015 / 1:15 PM

        Not COMPLETELY back, but I just couldn’t stay away from you guys for long 😀 ❤

        Like

  3. mike7sedona April 22, 2015 / 11:17 PM

    Congrats – yet another beautiful write up! Protective or possessive, parents are parents as they always have the well-being of their children at heart. Its quite natural to get attached to things dear to one’s heart, house or spouse! Finally, the concluding portion of the last sentence … ‘too bad this doesn’t apply to me, boo-hoo’ is understandable – just a matter of time: all the best! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 24, 2015 / 5:34 PM

      Thank you so much Mike for the loveliest comment ❤ You know, I actually adore my mother's protective nature; I have always felt safe because of that.. I know that whatever happens, my parents will be there for me :') May God give them a long and happy life ❤
      And hahaha oh thanks for the best wishes 😀 I hope so too ^_^

      Like

  4. Princess Kick-ass April 23, 2015 / 2:22 PM

    You know, this reminds me of my own home while growing up, in the way that it had its flaws but it was perfect at the same time ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

