A Sweater, A Ring, and Some Heartbreak

Writing 101 Day 9

A man and a woman walk through the park together, holding hands. They pass an old woman sitting on a bench. The old woman is knitting a small, red sweater. The man begins to cry. Write this scene.

The twist: write the scene from three different points of view: from the perspective of the man, then the woman, and finally the old woman.


Edith:

Knitting is hard, and the video lessons Jack gave me aren’t helping either. As if learning to use that darn laptop wasn’t hard enough. I have to tell him that it’s not a rule of law that only grandmothers have to knit sweaters for the newborns. He knows my hands are not like they used to be. Why can’t he ask his pretty wife to do that? All she does is gulp down all the food of the house.

Oh, great, there’s that couple again. Every time I come here all I see is them feeding ice cream to each other and beaming like idiots. Don’t they have anything else better to do?

But, hmm, that’s strange, they aren’t eating ice cream today, and that girl looks tense. Meh, must be pregnant. Well, the boy still has that irritating grin on his face.

*gasp* He’s getting down on his knee. So that’s why! And he’s getting all teary eyed. Aw, that’s sweet. The tears look a little forced though. Oh well, go ahead, get married and eat ice cream till death do you part!

Wait, why isn’t she saying anything? She’s looking here and there; is she finding something? What, why is she staring at me now? Woah, stop, she’s stomping towards me. Someone help me! …

Jacob:

She’s been in a weird mood all day; she’s not even holding onto my hand. Maybe she’s going through those “girl problems”. Did I choose the wrong day to propose to her? But the thought of becoming a partner at her father’s law firm is such exciting news! This proposal will surely lock in that position for me. And I know this is the perfect place! She loves it here. Oh God, I’m too excited I can’t wait! Ergh, I have to control my emotions right now. Stop smiling Jacob.

Okay, now’s the right time. This is a good spot. Let’s do this.

“Jessica, we’ve known each other for just 4 years but to me, it feels like I’ve known you since forever. You’re my soulmate, and I can’t imagine a life without you…”

Alright then, start the waterworks, keep it real, get down on one knee and take out that ring.

“… and I know you feel the same. I promise that I’ll spend my whole life trying to make you the happiest woman on this planet! So will you give me the honor of becoming my wife?”

….

Why is she just staring at me? Maybe she’s in shock? She looks flustered, what, what is she trying to find?

“Jess, darling, what’s wrong? … Jessica! Wait, where are you going?”

She’s walking towards that weird old woman. What is she trying to do? …

Jessica:

Why did he have to drop by the office today? Dammit, I should’ve just made an excuse and not come here with him. I can’t even stand to look at him right now, and his slimy touch is making me cringe. But I have to control it; this isn’t the right time or the place. The way he’s grinning, I wish I can just punch him and break his jaw! Does he think that bringing me here will make things right? Well, Mom was right about him. She was right about him all along. Hah, now I’ll have to hear all those “I told you so’s”.

Hey, why are we stopping?

“Jessica, we’ve known each other for just 4 years but to me, it feels like I’ve known you since forever. You’re my soulmate, and I can’t imagine a life without you…”

What the actual f**k? He better not be proposing to me! He’s getting down, oh God, no way. No f**king way! And he’s crying? What the hell? Oh, he’s got some nerve!

“… and I know you feel the same. I promise that I’ll spend my whole life trying to make you the happiest woman on this planet! So will you give me the honor of becoming my wife?”

This is it. I’m losing it. I can’t even… Nope… This son of a b*tch is dying today!

I have to do something, I don’t wanna use my hands, I don’t wanna touch this disgusting monster, I have to.. No, my heels aren’t enough. Where are the goddamned rocks?

“Jess, darling, what’s wrong?…”

HA! That old woman has something. Yes! Come here to Mama… Hey, don’t panic, old lady, I just need to borrow a little something of yours.

“… Jessica! Wait, where are you going?”

I snatch away her long sharp knitting needles and storm back to him. Come here, you pig!

He’s gawking at me like an imbecile, frozen in his place when I approach him with a needle in each hand and shove them deep into his shoulders. Just as he starts to scream the old woman runs away, calling for help. Go ahead, call the police, I don’t give a sh*t!

Blood is starting to cover his shirt when I grab him by the arms and drive up my knee into his “manliness”. He drops down on the ground and starts to bawl.

I open my purse, take out my phone and open the pictures that have been weighing down on me since last night and then throw the phone right in his nose, and it too starts to bleed.

“YOU MADE A HUGE MISTAKE WHEN YOU DECIDED TO CHEAT ON ME, YOU F**CKING A**HOLE! Beth told me everything about you two last night and sent me these “private” pictures of you two as proof when I didn’t believe her! Well that regretful b*tch is also going down, but next time you decide to waste 4 years of a woman and cheat on her with her best friend, I hope you’ll remember the gaping holes in your shoulders!”

He’s curled in the little puddle of blood, mumbling sorry to me while crying like a little b*tch; but I walk off into the sunset, feeling as light as a feather.


Hahaha, I’m sorry! You weren’t expecting that, were you? People took this as an emotional assignment, and I too was thinking of writing a moving piece about love, loss and relationships, but then I decided to have a little fun with the twist and turned the old woman into a cynical old yap, the man into a cheating d*ckwad whose marrying the girl just for her wealth, and the woman into a violent psycho 😛

It was fun coming up with these wacky perspectives, and I hope you enjoyed reading them 😀

P.S. Sorry for all the curse words.

38 thoughts on “A Sweater, A Ring, and Some Heartbreak

  1. miusho April 17, 2015 / 3:31 PM

    I have to admit.. Using the knitting needles to stab him? Genious. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 19, 2015 / 2:08 AM

      Maybe I’m a psychopath underneath this cute facade 😛 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho April 19, 2015 / 11:21 AM

        Everyone is a psycho underneath a facade. Some more than others! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Alexus K April 17, 2015 / 3:40 PM

    Love this. Totally not what I was thinking! I love the twist, it made me laugh. Knitting needles, genius idea…I need to remember that one for the next time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 19, 2015 / 2:09 AM

      Hahaha, thanks for liking it 😀 It did get a bit creepy at the end but I had fun with it 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  3. azambakides April 17, 2015 / 4:07 PM

    Hahaha! This is brilliant! Vivid and imaginative. Stabbing with knitting needles? Now, I have never thought of that. First-class! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 19, 2015 / 2:10 AM

      Thanks so much 😀 I actually googled “can i stab someone with knitting needles?” and a lot of results came up, so I went with it 😛

      Like

  4. Uday April 17, 2015 / 5:11 PM

    Genius! Completely wasn’t expecting that! 😀 Such a fun read!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 19, 2015 / 2:14 AM

      Hahaha I really let my imagination run a little crazy with this one 😛 But thank God it turned out into something you liked ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

      • mike7sedona April 19, 2015 / 7:24 PM

        Why not, all your things are worth liking, so creative, full of vivid imagery and narration – a thing of beauty is a joy forever, likewise any creative thing is worth appreciating! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 19, 2015 / 2:16 AM

      It really did 😀 When I started writing it, I myself had no idea how I was gonna end it. I didn’t know it was turning into a murder mystery 😛

      Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 19, 2015 / 2:17 AM

      Teehee, I’m glad you liked em 😀 ❤

      Like

  5. StaceAlive April 18, 2015 / 5:29 AM

    I love the incredibly novel approach to the brief, but boy, are you scary!!!! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 19, 2015 / 2:18 AM

      I guess I’m a little crazy inside 😛 Let’s just pray my Future Husband never cheats on me 😀

      Like

  6. Terri Webster Schrandt April 19, 2015 / 3:18 AM

    Wow. I just starting following you and read this! Really impressive; what an imagination! Well done. I haven’t written mine yet…

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 19, 2015 / 12:45 PM

      I’m also falling a little back on my assignments 😦 So much work load nowadays 😦 But I’m glad you enjoyed this one 😀 Sometimes letting your imagination get a little wacky is good 😛 Thanks so much for the kindest feedback ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

