What It Means To Be Family

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Someone who gets to have one real best friend in this world is a lucky sumbitch; but then there are some special kinds of lucky people (like me) who get to have not one but seven best friends. Unfortunately, this day, two of them had been in a stupid fight over something quite trivial. You know, we have this system to break off a fight. Half of us handle one party and the other half handles the other. We never take sides; we just grab the first person who’s in our reach and drag her out to cool her off. So me and Aneeza (hey Aneeza, I know you’re reading this and are probably gonna kill me later for writing this piece) grabbed Rabeea by the shoulders and took her to the café. The other two dragged Huma off to someplace else. We bought some tea and boring-as-hell biscuits and went out to get some fresh air at the park.

Lo and behold, the weather wasn’t being kind to us either; the sun was mocking us with its blazing hot rays, shouting “SO YOU WANTED TO FEEL GOOD, EH? NOT ON MY WATCH!”; and the breeze hung in the air as if it was acting under Sun’s direct orders, telling us “Sorry guys, Mr. Sun has asked us to take a day off, but hey sweating is also good for your health, you know. You could use losing a few pounds.” Guess what weather, I’m underweight! :/

Well, we had nowhere else to go, so despite of the Sun being an authentic pain in the arse, we decided to sit underneath a shady tree on the only available bench at the far away corner of the park. Now, one of the few things I love about my department are these parks (or should I say lawns?) They are maintained on a daily basis and look fabulous during the spring season. Oh guys do remind me to take some pictures and share them with you. I’m sure you’ll love them 🙂

Nowadays, all kinds of gorgeous flowers are sprouting out in full bloom – tulips, lilies, roses and whatnot – and I don’t know why, but my favorite activity is to stare at the grass. It’s something about the simplicity of its thin strands, staring back at me with their green splendor, giving off the most divine fragrance, which calms my nerves.

Another thing which I love about this place is the quiet. There are always students around, occupying every available bench and sitting cross-legged on the cool patches of grass, but they converse in a way as if they’re in a church. There was this couple sitting near us, both talking in whispers, staring into each other’s eyes, their heads so close they looked conjoined, and I gave them a dismissive glance. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE ‘love’, but I hate seeing it in front of me because it reminds me of my own loveless existence and I curse my Mr. Cute Guy for not being there with me. -_-

On second thought, I realize that my life isn’t as loveless as I think it is, because I’m surrounded by friends who are not just friends, but are FAMILY. One teeny tiny example: whenever there’s a fight among us, we never have to tell each other who was at fault and who should apologize first because both parties realize their mistake themselves, ask for forgiveness at the same time and start laughing at the stupidity of the entire argument. Us sisters, we can’t function without each other. We can’t stand being the reason for the other’s sorrow. Rabeea was sitting there beside me wallowing in regret on how all of it was her fault and should go apologize for the whole shebang. Me and Aneeza, we nod and tell her not to worry about it and enjoy the tea for now, because we all know that inside the department the same is being said by Huma as well.

After Rabeea had let it all out, she and Aneeza started talking about politics, current events, projects (in short, regular mundane things) and I laid back, stared at the grass, and listened to them with quiet intent. At that moment I thought to myself, “I’m lucky to have three kinds of family: one at home, one here, and one all across the world.” (Yes, all of you at WP; you’re always on my mind). I thought, “Life couldn’t be better than this. I’m lucky and I’m loved.” 🙂


Today’s Prompt: Go to a local café, park, or public place and write a piece inspired by something you see. Get detailed: leave no nuance behind.

Today’s twist: write an adverb-free post

I’m a day late in this assignment’s submission 😦 There was some family matter I had to attend to. 😦 *feeling ashamed and putting on my dunce hat*

Okay, the assignment. *sigh* I wasn’t able to get into much detail of the scene due to shortage of time, but I tried my best. And yeah, I’ve been a huge fan of adverbs all my life and I know they are a sign of a weak writer, so I’ve tried to keep this post adverb-free but I don’t know how much I’ve succeeded. :/

As for the thing I said at the end; please trust me, I’ve never lied to you guys. I do consider you my actual family and I’ve learnt so much from you in these past few months. That’s what families do, right? Educate you, inspire you, push you to be a better person, never judge you, love you for who you are. That’s what you and my best friends have done for me. Thank you for making me forget about all the assholes that came before. God really has compensated for all the pain I went through. ❤

18 thoughts on “What It Means To Be Family

  1. Princess Kick-ass April 16, 2015 / 11:26 PM

    This was a personal favorite of mine: “Lo and behold, the weather wasn’t being kind to us either; the sun was mocking us with its blazing hot rays, shouting “SO YOU WANTED TO FEEL GOOD, EH? NOT ON MY WATCH!”; and the breeze hung in the air as if it was acting under Sun’s direct orders, telling us “Sorry guys, Mr. Sun has asked us to take a day off, but hey sweating is also good for your health, you know. You could use losing a few pounds.” Guess what weather, I’m underweight!”

    LOL!!!
    Look, are you writing a book? Cause if you are, I wanna be your CP. Seriously.

    Liked by 3 people

    • A.B Mood April 17, 2015 / 1:53 PM

      Hahahaha oh God, why does everyone think I’m writing a book? 😛 No, I’m not but now I’m thinking I should 😀 And Princess Kick-Ass, don’t worry, you’ll be my #1 choice! :3 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Princess Kick-ass April 17, 2015 / 2:23 PM

        You totally and absolutely should. Your writing stands out all too easily. It’s awesome.

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood April 18, 2015 / 11:08 PM

        I should get to it then 😛

        Like

  2. andreacfrt April 16, 2015 / 11:41 PM

    You are no lie, the only blogger I look forward to reading. Your posts are real and uplifting. You are very lucky to have so many people around you but more lucky that you recognize your blessings! You seem to be an extraordinary wise young woman with incredible talent

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 17, 2015 / 1:59 PM

      I spent many years wallowing in self-pity; and it was only because I didn’t realize how blessed I actually am. Thank God for giving me the wisdom to appreciate the life I’ve been given 🙂 And thank you Andrea for your kind, lovely and generous support and love ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. TK April 16, 2015 / 11:56 PM

    You truly are on a roll with these posts- didn’t notice your absence because I couldn’t read all my usual blogs (yours included) on Tuesday so I did that yesterday. Always great reading what you have to say and you’re not a weak writer especially for someone who isn’t a native English speaker.

    That last sentence about your readers being your family made me emotional. I’ve felt the same especially with this course. We’re one big happy WP community! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 17, 2015 / 2:16 PM

      YES WE ARE! ❤ 😀
      And gee, thanks so much TK :') This course really has done wonders to my confidence in writing, and introduced me to such amazing people like you! xo

      Like

  4. Uday April 17, 2015 / 1:02 AM

    See now someone else thinks you should write a book too!! It’s a divine calling, AB! 😀

    My favourite line is this:

    It’s something about the simplicity of its thin strands, staring back at me with their green splendor, giving off the most divine fragrance, which calms my nerves.

    Testament of eloquence!

    And yea, I’ve only been on WP for a couple of months but the people here are so amazing and supportive! I’m beating myself up for not coming here earlier!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 17, 2015 / 2:06 PM

      The only other person who told me that I could be a writer was my Mom 😀 But hearing it from you guys is weird and overwhelming 😀 I really should think about it now 😉 Hehe I’m kidding, it’s just you guys’ sincere love, and nothing else ❤ 🙂
      And thanks so much for liking the post ^_^ It was hard cutting out all the adverbs 😦

      Like

  5. abyssbrain April 17, 2015 / 3:31 PM

    Ha! Every time I do a peer review, most of those tediously boring papers often contain needlessly and irritatingly large number of stupidly useless adverbs…

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 18, 2015 / 11:21 PM

      Hahahaha I see what you did there 😛 It was REALLY funny 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Akhiz April 18, 2015 / 1:04 AM

    7 best friends, wow ur one lucky human being 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

