Dear Daddy…

Writing101 Day 5

You stumble upon a random letter on the path. You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter.

Brevity is the goal of this task, although “brief” can mean five words or five-hundred words.


Walking down a stony path, I came across a piece of folded paper near an old wooden bench. Unfolding it I could see it was a letter, with crumpled edges and blood smeared on one corner. Terrified, I read the first line, but soon a smile crept on my lips.

Dear Daddy,

Today was my first day at scool. Kindergarden is fun. Miss Amy is very sweet but she told me I need to improove my spellings. Daddy I need your help with something. There is a meen boy in class who was bullieng me. Pulled my ponytale and called me poo poo face. You always fight with bad guys so can you tell me how I can stop Billy? I did not complane to Miss Amy because im a big girl and my daddys a fighter thats why im a fighter too.

Oh and Mommy does not let me eat chocolate anymore. She says its bad for my teeth. When you come back can you pleez bring lots of chocolates for me because when you are home mommy always lets me eat what ever I want. I miss chocolates and I miss you.

Lots of Love,

Sarah

Looking up, trying to locate any trace of the owner, I caught a glimpse of a wallet right underneath the bench. Just as I bent to pick it up, I heard her voice. “There daddy, look!” A little girl in the distance, pointing at me, and a bearded man with a kind face standing right beside her, with his strong hands on her frail shoulders.


First of all, I would like to dedicate my post to all the brave men and women who serve their country by spending day and night assuring our safety and sacrificing their lives for us. And secondly, I also tried to convey a message regarding bullying.

Bullies are the weakest species on this planet and the only way to end this menace is to stand strong against it with the support of your loved ones beside you. I’ve been bullied for many years (not physically, but emotionally). It happened in my early school years (if you read my previous post I’ve told you I switched schools. Yeah, I switched it because of them), and it also happened in my university quite a few times. I’ve been called things no girl wants to hear. People have made fun of my physical appearance, my physique, my hair, my voice and pretty much everything that destroys your self-confidence. But the day I decided to stand strong and face those cowards head on was the day I truly began to love myself. 🙂

The assignment’s “twist” required that I keep it as short as possible and maintain an element of ambiguity, suspense or surprise. And yeah I could’ve kept it short (people have accomplished to write this assignment in less than 30 words) but I wanted to do it my way and end today’s post on a very positive and uplifting note (because the previous assignment was a helluva upsetting task for me).

Ah come on Blogging U, 250 words ain’t so bad. 😛

32 thoughts on “Dear Daddy…

  1. microyogi April 10, 2015 / 5:25 PM

    Good approach! Yep I’ve had my share of bullying too. On the job no less!

    Liked by 2 people

    • A.B Mood April 10, 2015 / 10:24 PM

      Thanks for liking it 🙂 And sorry to hear that, dear 😦 But by now you would’ve understood that you should never let them and their words affect you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • microyogi April 11, 2015 / 12:38 AM

        Yeah I’d never experienced it b4 to that extent!

        Like

  2. arrlancore April 10, 2015 / 5:32 PM

    Woww, is so close with your daddy.
    and this is the Nice story. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • A.B Mood April 10, 2015 / 10:25 PM

      Aww hey thank you so much ^_^ And yes, I’ve had the same kind of close relationship with my dad so this letter came directly from the heart ❤

      Like

  3. andreacfrt April 10, 2015 / 5:43 PM

    This is so sweet and yet such a sad story. Yes, bullying is disgusting and I wonder what type of education the kids that bully are getting from home. I was emotionally bullied in my early stages and until high school but I must say I am a better off person

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 10, 2015 / 10:42 PM

      Exactly, I wonder the same. These bullies are a result of poor parenting. And I’m really sorry to hear you had to go through the same experience 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  4. abyssbrain April 10, 2015 / 5:55 PM

    I’m glad that I didn’t participate in this since that doesn’t happen to me even once :p

    Liked by 1 person

  5. donnae April 10, 2015 / 6:06 PM

    Huh, I thought that was brief! LOL. My dear, never apologize for doing things your way, be proud you have a ‘your way’. Nice piece.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 10, 2015 / 10:51 PM

      It was? I thought I was kind of cheating on this one 😛 But I’m glad you liked it ^_^ Thank you so much ❤

      Like

  6. Khadija April 10, 2015 / 6:22 PM

    Such a sweet story. I have smile on my face now. Thank you:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 10, 2015 / 10:52 PM

      I’m glad I finally wrote something that made someone smile 😀 Thank you so much for your lovely feedback ❤

      Like

  7. Uday April 10, 2015 / 6:41 PM

    “Bullies are the weakest species on this planet”. I completely agree! They need to feed off other’s misery.

    i liked the story, AB! Crisp, clear and gets the point across. Love the realistic letter too! Now lets see if I’d be able to do this under 250 words! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 10, 2015 / 10:55 PM

      Your comments always brighten my mood Uday ^_^ Thank you so much 🙂 I’m waiting for your assignment han! I’m sure you’ll do better than me 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Uday April 10, 2015 / 10:57 PM

        🙂 Likewise, dear! Just now started to write mine. Wish me luck >_>

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood April 10, 2015 / 11:22 PM

        Of course, Uday, best of luck ^_^

        Like

  8. Nooryak April 10, 2015 / 7:49 PM

    bullying should definitely be discouraged !removed from the face of earth
    It was cute that you used some spelling ….as a child would spell some of the words 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 10, 2015 / 10:59 PM

      No child should ever have to go through bullying 😦 I look forward to a day this menace no longer exists in the world.
      And about the spelling, hehe yeah I wanted to give it a “realistic” touch 😀 🙂 Thank you Nooryak for liking it ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Alexus K April 10, 2015 / 9:25 PM

    love this. Extremely powerful. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. TK April 11, 2015 / 1:27 AM

    AB, great post (but that’s no surprise, all of yours have been great). The story of the little girl and her dad really got to me, and as someone who was extensively bullied growing up, I loved that you included a little message about this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 12, 2015 / 1:06 AM

      See, most of us have been brutally bullied at one point in our lives 😦 The emotional scars it imprints on us can be erased but never forgotten. I’m sorry you had to face that too ;( And thank you so very much for the lovely praise 😀 It means so much to me. I never knew that I could write something that people will actually like. :’) You’re the best TK ❤

      Like

  11. desleyjane April 11, 2015 / 4:07 AM

    What a gorgeous and sweet response to the task. And your explanation is heartfelt and confident. You are so much better than all of those people who’ve treated you badly. Look how wonderful you’ve become!!! Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 12, 2015 / 1:39 AM

      Thanks so much Jane ^_^ Even these experiences have helped me grow as a more confident person 🙂 I don’t regret the lessons 🙂 And haha to those people, I just wanna sing “How You Like Me Now?” to their face 😀 I’ve always wanted to do that 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  12. ninakimani11 April 12, 2015 / 2:20 AM

    That was great. I loved the fact that she knew her dad was not taking crap from anyone. With the flow of the words it brings out the picture that she knew that her dad would do anything for her. Well done

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 12, 2015 / 9:54 PM

      Hehe that’s exactly what I wanted to portray from this letter ^_^ Their close bond 🙂 Thank you so much for liking it, dear Nina 🙂

      Like

  13. Princess Kick-ass April 12, 2015 / 8:23 PM

    I really have to learn to stop hating you for your writing awesomeness. Great stuff as always deary!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 12, 2015 / 10:03 PM

      Hahaha oh Princess Kick-Ass you never seize to brighten my day ❤ Thanks so much for the.. diminishing hate? 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

