Illustrating my Journey with Three Songs

Writing 101 Day 3

“Write about the three most important songs in your life.”

What does an “important song” mean? Everyone might have there own definition. Some may define the importance based on the significance of that particular song in their life. Does it trigger a certain memory? Does it reflect your dreams? Does it transport you to a place where you’ve yearned to be?

Well, I’ll be honest, at first glance it seemed like an impossible task: to select just THREE songs from the past 22 years of my life. For this I had to go through my whole music collection in my phone, laptop, HDD, and all the CDs I’ve ever burnt. I have to admit, I’ve got a stellar collection that spans across all genres. I was thinking my 3 songs would be from some of those classic bands; The Beatles, Rolling Stones, The Who, Eagles, Queen, The Smiths or maybe one of those inspirational and touchy feely poetic songs by Peter Gabriel, Bruce Springsteen, Bryan Adams or Elton John. But the songs that I kept coming back to were very conventional, slightly recent songs that all of you must have heard sometime in the Hot 100. 😀

So here they are, the Three Songs that illustrate my journey through time. Click on the song names to get groovy with me.

Childhood Nostalgia: “Bitter Sweet Symphony” by The Verve

Why is this song so important? For me, this track was the epitome of 90’s music. Ah yes, the 90’s. The era which was the fundamental foundation of my life. When this song was released, I was only 5 and that was the time when I was starting to truly understand music and appreciate it fully. I was slowly developing my taste and MTV was my most favorite TV channel in the whole wide world. 😀

That was also the time when I developed my preference in movies and books. That was the time when I started to fall in love with fiction. That was the time when I had no worry in the whole goddamn world! That was the time when I didn’t care about the future and not fret about my destiny. Stories on-screen and on-paper were my whole universe.

I used to watch a single movie 5 times a day and every night my brother and I would have a competition on who could recite the most dialogues with complete precision 😀

I lived inside books. I made up stories with those characters. I dreamt about going on adventures with them.

Life was simple and oh-so-sweet. I’m proud to admit that I’ve had a wonderful childhood, and even now whenever I listen to this song, it just takes me back to that magical time.

Present Battles: “Shake It Out” by Florence and the Machine

I’ve had to fight many battles in the past few years. Some were related to my mental health, some regarding my family, some were about my ambitions and my powerlessness in achieving my dreams and some were related to my associations with people I trusted. I’ve always liked to fight my battles myself, and not rely on anyone else to come save me. I don’t believe in a Prince Charming because I never considered myself a damsel in distress. Yay, feminism!

So, one of the things that have helped me the most in coping with these challenges was music. In 2011 (the highlight of my misery years), I came across this wonderful woman who I’ve come to love with severe passion; Miss Florence Welch. I bought her album Ceremonials from a local music store, and the moment her voice poured into my ears I knew that I’m experiencing something extraordinary. When I played Shake It Out I clearly remember that I burst out in tears.

And I am done with my graceless heart
So tonight I’m gonna cut it out and then restart
‘Cause I like to keep my issues drawn
It’s always darkest before the dawn

Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh whoa
And it’s hard to dance with a devil on your back
So shake him off, oh whoa

And shake him off I did! I don’t know what this song did to me but I got off my ass and started to dance. No, it wasn’t just a dance, I was in a trance. I let the music and the words flow through me. I closed my eyes and completely lost myself, not caring about how idiotic I seemed. Since that day, whenever I feel down and burdened, whenever I feel like I can’t take it anymore, I do the exact same routine with the exact same passion. Have you seen this tracks music video? Yep, I danced just like Florence, and I still do to this day. This song has saved me countless times.

Future Hopes and Dreams: “I Lived” by OneRepublic

You know, if anyone ever asked me “Tell me about your dreams? What do you want from life?” then I’ll just hand them a pair of earphones and play this song. Every single verse of this song has a deep connection to my soul. This track perfectly summarizes the life I want to live. The risks I want to take. The love I want to feel. The places I want to go.

I know, for a girl like me, these dreams might be unrealistic. But does that mean should I turn them down a notch? Why? What excuse do I have for not trying to do everything in my power to make those dreams my reality?

One day, I WILL scream out to the world “I LIVED”!! I did everything in my power to make the most of my life. I carpe’d the heck out of the diem! I seized the day!

I did it all
I did it all
I owned every second that this world could give
I saw so many places, the things that I did
With every broken bone, I swear I lived


Day 3’s assignment was:

Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

Today, try free writing. To begin, empty your mind onto the page. Don’t censor yourself; don’t think. Just let go. Let the emotions or memories connected to your three songs carry you.

Ergh, I’ve had such a hectic day! I thought I was gonna skip today’s assignment, but haaaa I finally finished it. Nope, I’m not gonna give up on you Blogging U! Today’s topic was really fun! I hope my music choice was a pleasant listen for all of you. Please do let me know what you thought about my 3 songs 🙂 ❤

18 thoughts on “Illustrating my Journey with Three Songs

    • A.B Mood April 9, 2015 / 1:47 PM

      Awhh shucks ^_^ Thank you so much ❤

      Like

      • desleyjane April 9, 2015 / 3:49 PM

        Aw thanks! But I love the way you’ve explained a connection to the actual lyrics. Very cool.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. BogWog April 9, 2015 / 5:23 AM

    Excellent piece of writing lady!!! Thank you for introducing me to to grooveshark which I hadn’t heard of before. And thank you also for one of the best catch-cries I have seen in a long while, can I borrow it? I carpe’d the heck out of the diem!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 9, 2015 / 2:02 PM

      Thank you so much Bogwog ^_^ And Grooveshark is way better than SoundCloud, because on SC it’s so hard to search for original tracks (all you get is covers).. And hahaha oh yes sure you can borrow it 😀 I’d be honored 😉

      Like

    • A.B Mood April 9, 2015 / 2:03 PM

      Exactly 🙂 And thank you so much ❤

      Like

  2. Akhiz April 9, 2015 / 10:47 PM

    great choices, well for me its a tough one, so many songs so may associations, so many stories behind them, its not easy but if i had to pick

    1. Nothing Else Matters – Metallica
    2. Bad – Michael Jackson
    3. My Sacrifice – Creed

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 10, 2015 / 1:01 AM

      Hahaha oh man, “Bad” brings back so many childhood memories 😀 And oh cool, you’re a lot into heavy metal and hard rock han? Awesome choice mate 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Akhiz April 10, 2015 / 1:24 AM

        Yup its another obsession, from Queen to Linkin Park, Whitesnake to Pearl Jam, GNR to SOAD, Led Zeppelin to Pink Floyd, Jimi Hendrix to Joe Satariani, and the list goes on and on, i live and breath these Genres \m/

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood April 10, 2015 / 2:50 PM

        Queen, Linkin Park, Rolling Stones, AC/DC, Joan Jett have been some of my favorites but I haven’t been into the rock or metal scene much other than them 😦 Ifff I would ask you to suggest me the top 10 rock songs to get me addicted to this genre, which ones would they be? ^_^ I’m always looking for some awesome music 🙂

        Like

      • Akhiz April 10, 2015 / 8:02 PM

        Yeah sure 🙂 not only 10 songs ill recommend you 10 artists cuz 1 song per band is never enough so here it goes

        1. Guns N Roses
        – Paradise City
        – Sweet Child of Mine
        – November Rain (do watch official video)
        – You Could be Mine

        2. Metallica
        – One
        – Nothing Else Matters
        – Master of Puppets (S&M version)

        3. Pearl Jam
        – Black
        – Alive
        – Even Flow
        – Jeremy (do watch official video)

        4. AlterBridge
        – Blackbird
        – Metalingus

        5. Heart
        – Alone

        6. Whitesnake
        – Still of the Night

        7. Creed
        – With arms wide open
        – My Sacrifice
        – What if
        – Higher

        8. Bon Jovi
        – Runaway
        – Livin on a Prayer

        9. Muse
        – Uprising
        – Resistance

        10. Ben Howard
        – Oats in the Water

        11. Clutch
        – Regulator

        And it doesn’t count as Rock but i love this 80’s hit “The Look” by Roxette 🙂

        I can suggest you hundreds, will give you the next bunch after you finish this lot 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood April 10, 2015 / 11:14 PM

        Ohhh man this is like musical heaven for me! I already have heard some of these and thank God our taste does match 😉 For the rest of the songs I’ll download them the first thing in the morning ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

      • Akhiz April 11, 2015 / 2:24 PM

        great 🙂 do tell me which ones you liked the best and which were the ones you had heard before 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Uday April 9, 2015 / 11:26 PM

    Sorry I’m late to the party. You see, I never listened to the first two songs before so wanted to do that before commenting! Beautiful songs and wonderful explanations, dear! I wish I had a song that would take me to my childhood like that. But unfortunately I don’t have one. All I heard growing up were Telugu songs, not even Bollywood and forget Western! We were not even allowed to watch MTV. So this resulted in me missing most of the 90’s music and now almost all of the music I have is from contemporary artists.

    Like

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

