A Time of Innocence

Writing101 Day 2

If you could zoom through space in the speed of light, what place would you go to right now?

Today, choose a place to which you’d like to be transported if you could — and tell us the backstory. How does this specific location affect you? Is it somewhere you’ve been, luring you with the power of nostalgia, or a place you’re aching to explore for the first time?


“I think I’m going insane. Yep, this is it. The day I went mental is finally upon me.” 

I kept repeating this to myself, sitting on my disheveled bed with my knees drawn close to my chest, staring at the cluttered pile of notes and books with a quite bewildered look on my face. I hated chewing my nails – it seemed like such a useless activity to me because my incisors weren’t sharp enough to cut through the nail and I always ended up having a bad taste in my mouth – but at that chaotic moment I couldn’t help myself and started to frantically chew through them like my life depended on it. “Tomorrow is the final day of your college exams, please get it together”: my brain desperately trying to reach out to me.

Right at that moment, I heard the distant rumbling of thunder, and I suddenly knew: I’m saved.

I picked up my phone, switched it back on, and 7 messages popped up. “Where are you?”, “Still alive buddy?”, “How’s the preparation going?”, “Is chapter 7 included?”, “Oh come on, you’ll do great.”, “Switched your phone off? Seriously? Bitch, you better be dead.”, “Earth to Abeeha. Come in Abeeha.”

I didn’t have time to reply so I simply ignored the messages, got off my bed and grabbed my earphones from the bookshelf.

“Mom, I’m going up to the rooftop for a while.”, informing my mother of my plans.

“Are you mad? No way young lady, it’s raining out there!”, she immediately retaliated.

“Exactly!”

I have always been stubborn.

So with my trusty Nokia and earphones in my hands I ran up the stairs like a gorilla. You know, when you use both your hands and feet to climb the stairs.

I bashed open the door to the rooftop and the rainy wind welcomed me with a sudden whoosh. The downpour was beginning to get faster by the second, so I plugged in my earphones and slowly stepped out into the storm. When the first raindrops hit me I shrieked out due to the cold, but after a few seconds my body temperature started to harmonize with the weather, and that’s when my shoulders started to relax. I did a quick survey of my surroundings to assure that no weirdo was up on his rooftop gawking at me, but thankfully no one else was crazy enough like me to prance around in a tempest.

“Okay then, time for a little bit therapy.” I said to myself out loud.

I took out my phone – not caring about it getting drenched – and opened up the Music App. I did a quick scroll through the collection and played something that I knew would be perfect for the occasion.

“Do you know where your heart is?
Do you think you can find it?
Or did you trade it for something
Somewhere better just to have it?

Do you know where your love is?
Do you think that you lost it?
You felt it so strong, but
Nothing’s turned out how you wanted

Well, bless my soul
You’re a lonely soul
‘Cause you won’t let go
Of anything you hold

Well, all I need
Is the air I breathe
And a place to rest my head…”

When Say (All I Need) started to fill my ears with it’s sweet melody, I closed my eyes, pulled my head back and opened my arms as wide as I could, and then let the music and the rain envelope me in its magical embrace.

Let me tell you, making my parents proud of me was the sole purpose of my existence, and I never wanted to let them down. The end of college seemed like an end of an era, and the beginning of an inspiring journey ahead. I had big dreams for myself. Dreams that seemed impossible for a naive teenage girl like me.  I felt a strange mixture of fear and hope for the days to come.

And then suddenly, near the end of the song my knees started to get weak and my lips started quivering. The phone slipped from my fingers and with it I also hit the ground. I stood on my knees, completely oblivious of my surroundings, not caring about the rain bashing me and the filthy muddy dirt around me, and I just lowered my head to the floor in prostration. I rubbed my nose into the wet mud and had an intimate conversation with God. I told Him all about my dreams. Who I want to be. Where I want my dreams to take me. How much I want my parents to feel proud of their only daughter. I told Him EVERYTHING. I told Him my deepest, darkest fears. The noise of the rain muffled my cries out to the Heavens. I begged Him. I pleaded to Him with every ounce of my being.

And at that moment a sense of sheer serenity settled within me and I had an epiphany: everything’s gonna be alright.


 

When I read about this assignment, I couldn’t think of any other place I wanted to be transported to. This memory I’ve shared with you is one of the most profound ones I have, as I’ve never ever shared this with anyone else. Not even my Mom, (sorry Mom). For me, this course is turning out to be more of a personal exploration journey rather than a writing improvement course 😀

Why was this memory, this place, so special to me? Because that was the time when I was beginning to understand the purpose of my life. I had started to plan a layout of my whole life from that exact moment. And most importantly, it was the time of innocence 🙂 I had no idea what life had in store for me. I’ve faced some of the worst (and probably the most important) years of my life after that.  And haha, there you go, the tears have started to flow. Let me gather myself. Darn you, Blogging U.

My stupid word structure and flimsy vocab might have made this special memory of mine seem insignificant, but trust me, if you were in my place you would totally get it 🙂 Anyway this was it. Today’s assignment. *sigh*

30 thoughts on “A Time of Innocence

  1. nooryak April 7, 2015 / 10:09 PM

    loved it 🙂 Your style is very raw it gives away the exact feelings and I like that 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 7, 2015 / 10:58 PM

      Thank you so much ^_^ Well I do want to work on this raw format, I want it to be a bit more polished. I hope I’ll accomplish that soon enough 🙂

      Like

  2. Uday April 7, 2015 / 10:36 PM

    Miss! This was a splendid read 🙂 I dunno why you’re worrying about word structure and vocab when I thought this was perfect! It was a smooth read, i like how you use a lot of small paragraphs inter-cutting the longer ones. Gives a nice rhythm and pace!

    This is turning out to be a bit of a self-exploration for me too! My post is still WIP so *hush hush*

    P.S. It’s nice of you to provide those blurbs at the bottom, giving us insight into the reasons behind writing a particular piece.

    P.P.S Love those photos! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 7, 2015 / 11:05 PM

      Really? You’re not kidding me, right? 😛 I have this weird habit of underestimating myself. But your generous comment has now made me think I shouldn’t be so hard on myself 😀
      And yeah, I don’t do well with long sentences. I feel like I should make the reader feel “comfy” when they’re reading my post.
      And hey when will you post your second assignment? I’m eeeaagerly awaiting it ^_^ (emphasis on the eagerly) 😛
      P.S. Thanks so much 😀 I love meself some good stock photos 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Uday April 8, 2015 / 12:27 AM

        Such empathy for your reader 😛 Great!

        My post is finally done, let me know what you thought!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. iqby91 April 7, 2015 / 11:08 PM

    That is such a beautiful memory 🙂 Lovely post! Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. TK April 7, 2015 / 11:31 PM

    Loved this. It absolutely flowed easily and I just kept on reading to find out what was going to happen. I’m glad to know this story has a its going to be okay moment.

    As a writing tip, don’t overthink the structure, just wrote what you have to say and it will come out good. Especially with these personal posts.

    Oh and you’re not the only one feeling that this is getting too self-explanatory but that’s cool. those are the best stories.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 8, 2015 / 12:12 AM

      Aw hey TK thank you so much for the suggestion ^_^ The thing is, English isn’t my first langaueg so overthinking the sentence structure comes as a habit.But I’ll try to dial it down a notch 🙂
      And The Daily Post has really done an amazing job at coming up with topics that connect with us on such a personal level 🙂
      And again, thank you so much for your lovely feedback! xo

      Like

      • TK April 8, 2015 / 10:47 AM

        My pleasure AB! Thanks for reading my posts as well and leaving your lovely comments 🙂

        English isn’t my first language either but I’ve studied it too much and communicated in it my whole life that it jut seems natural to me. There was nothing bad with your structuring of the sentences, it’s just a personal opinion that sometimes overthinking can lead to ruining the content.

        Ah! Today’s challenge is going to be tough for me! They keep getting more and more personal.

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood April 9, 2015 / 1:58 AM

        Oh the pleasure was all mine, dear 🙂 You’re an amazing writer 🙂
        And right? Why are all these assignments making us explore our most deepest, innermost personal memories? :O I’m not really into pouring my heart out to people (kind of an introvert), but by assignment #20 I guess we will know about each other as much as our families know about us 😀

        Like

  5. miusho April 7, 2015 / 11:48 PM

    I usually don’t read on as soon as I read “god”, bad habit of mine.. But this time I kept on reading.. I love how you write. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 8, 2015 / 12:18 AM

      Haha trust me, I’m not into writing religious posts, I know it’s not a topic I want to impose on people. But some events in life do hold a special place in my heart and this was one of those 🙂 Thank you so very much for your loveliest comment ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho April 8, 2015 / 12:24 AM

        I just wanted to let you know I kept on reading. I automatically imagined it which is how I rate posts. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  6. sarahlouchip April 8, 2015 / 12:50 AM

    I could really feel the atmosphere and emotion in this and I love that you include that song, I listened whilst reading and it brought a whole other level to the piece. Well done on being brave enough to put it all out there!

    Like

  7. Umber April 8, 2015 / 7:57 AM

    This was great writing. It went straight to the heart. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 9, 2015 / 1:52 AM

      Ah hey thank you so much Umber ❤ This means a lot 🙂

      Like

  8. abyssbrain April 8, 2015 / 8:49 AM

    That’s a very interesting post. I think that you conveyed your thoughts very well in your writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Akhiz April 8, 2015 / 11:51 PM

    Brilliant, thanx for sharing such an important moment of your life, moments like these are the most important events in our lives, May you get all what your heart desires and plans. 🙂

    and your writing style is excellent, its clear and precise, you wanna see Raw, take a look at prose on my blog, its like someone had a gun on my head to finish it quickly and its true, i just write it in the way the thoughts come in my mind, prose requires patience and i just want to finish what i want to say fast (that’s why i write more poems cuz you can say so much in so little time) but you are very good in it, don’t change it, keep it that way. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 9, 2015 / 2:19 AM

      Aameen to that 🙂 And haha you know there’s this thing with the raw style that just builds an instant connection with the reader, just like in your poems 🙂
      Well if you’ve approved of my writing style I guess I have to continue with it 😉

      Like

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

