A Letter to an Old Friend

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hi there Old Friend,

It’s been a while since we last spoke. I haven’t seen you around lately, and heh, you know what the funny thing is? Some inner part of me is glad that we haven’t been in touch. I’m sorry if this sounds mean to you, but it’s the truth!  I’ve never been straight-forward with you, and now I think it’s time that I make things clear.

Lets see. You, my friend, have spent your life blaming yourself for the sins you never committed; punishing yourself for the times you thought you wronged someone. You’ve lived your whole life finding excuses for other people’s mistakes and letting them pin everything on you. But if you were standing in front of me right now, I damn sure would’ve slapped the living crap out of you, because you are a bonafide idiot. You think acting like a Debbie Downer is cute? Trust me, it’s pathetic and it only makes other people feel good about themselves.

Oh believe me, you’ve done that enough. People have come into your life, you’ve given them your purest form of sincerity and loyalty, made them feel good about their pathetic existence and when THEY found something else worth their time and got bored of you they screwed you over and left you alone to bawl your eyes out till kingdom come. I’m not asking you to wallow in self-pity! That is equally pathetic to blaming yourself. What I’m saying is: C’est la vie! (That’s Life!)

God sends these jerks into our lives just so that one day we’ll recognize and cherish the ones who deserve to stay. Don’t stop trusting; don’t stop loving; don’t stop being the best for the people around you. Just don’t let them take advantage of you. Don’t let them start dictating YOUR life. It’s simple as that. I understood that, that’s why I’m finally living the life I’ve always dreamt of. Chasing my dreams, not letting anyone slow me down, radiating happiness wherever I go, starting every day by clicking my heels in the air and smooching the sky because LIFE. IS. BEAUTIFUL!

I know you won’t get it this easily, that’s why I’m glad I haven’t met you for so long. It’s best for the both of us if we stay apart. You’ve always dragged me down with yourself into that Dark-Depressing-Pity-Cave of yours. Just pack your bags and go live in some far away jungle where there are no humans around you. I hope I never have to see your sorry face again.

Sinceriously,
Abeeha


By now you might have figured out that I’ve written this letter to myself; my OLD self to be precise. God, I really hated her. I hope she’ll read this letter every time she thinks of coming back again. Anyway, this was my very first assignment of the very first course I’ve signed up for on Blogging U: “Writing 101”. The first assignment was:

“Let’s unlock the mind. Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write.

Keep typing (or scribbling, if you prefer to handwrite for this exercise) until your twenty minutes are up. It doesn’t matter if what you write is incomplete, or nonsense, or not worthy of the “Publish” button.”

So, I guess this lame-ass letter was the only thing I could come up with in 20 minutes 😀 I’m kinda stepping out of my comfort zone for this as I usually blog at the frequency of twice or thrice a week, AT MOST! So I hope this course will help me in developing my writing habit, teach me about writing better, and allow me to get in touch with other amazing bloggers! 🙂 So here’s to a fun-filled month of creative learning and growth! ^_^

31 thoughts on “A Letter to an Old Friend

  1. sailingpenguin April 6, 2015 / 5:42 PM

    Love it, great. What a fabulous idea about writing to your old self. Paragraphs 3 and 4 are very well written about how people come and go from your life. Great piece and you are right, life is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 6, 2015 / 7:07 PM

      Thank you so much dear for your lovely feedback ^_^ I have quite a lot of experience in people coming and going (mostly going) from my life, but I don’t let that effect me anymore 🙂 Life’s too short to spend it worrying all the time 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. moreatforty April 6, 2015 / 5:47 PM

    Hit the road old self! I’m with you on this one. Love the “sinceriously” sign off too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 6, 2015 / 7:10 PM

      Yep, our old selves suck big time! And haha yeah what can I say, I’m a big Stephen Amell fan 😛
      P.S. Thanks so much for the awesome feedback 😀 ❤

      Like

    • A.B Mood April 6, 2015 / 7:14 PM

      Oh my God I checked out your blog and I now I officially envy you 😀 Just kidding, but seriously, your life rocks ❤ I'm glad I've ran into ya 🙂 And thank you so much for your kind words ^_^ I wasn't looking for the post to be inspiring, but I'm glad that I said some things that I should've known a long time ago 🙂

      Like

  3. abyssbrain April 6, 2015 / 5:50 PM

    That’s very interesting. Your letter to yourself clearly conveyed how time can change someone’s perspective.

    Anyway, if I would have to “free write”, I will either end up writing about some complicated math related stuff or a rant about the stupidity of using GDP, CPI and other economic measures…

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 6, 2015 / 7:18 PM

      Thanks so much AB 🙂 I realized that no one’s advice can change you; only time can heal your deepest wounds.
      By the way, even if you free write about maths or the lameness of GDP, I’m sure it’ll be way more interesting and informative than my posts 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • abyssbrain April 6, 2015 / 7:28 PM

        No, I sure that my rants would be too boring…

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood April 6, 2015 / 11:28 PM

        Modesty doesn’t suit you, my genius friend 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  4. sarahlouchip April 6, 2015 / 6:16 PM

    It’s always amazing to see how much we grow and change as we age it’s great to see you’re becoming a more positive person, you get so much out of life that way. Keep up the good work 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 6, 2015 / 7:23 PM

      I’m so thankful I’m finally over that phase of my life. *sigh* I cringe by the thought of my old self. I’ve experienced some remarkable changes in my life since I’ve learnt to LET GO. I just wish I could’ve realized this sooner! 🙂

      Like

      • sarahlouchip April 7, 2015 / 1:24 AM

        Yes let go! Such an important thing to learn. I don’t think we ever stop growing and changing. That’s the nature of the human condition, forever changing, evolving and adapting 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. desleyjane April 6, 2015 / 7:04 PM

    “You think acting like a Debbie Downer is cute?” Love this! What a cool idea. I’m sorry you had such a bad “friend” but I’m glad you’ve become such a funny and interesting person 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 6, 2015 / 7:33 PM

      Haha oh it’s okay. She also taught me a lot (as she was the epitome of misery and I learnt how NOT to act lame like her all the time) 😀 And aaww shucks thank you so much for your sweet compliment. *blushing* ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Russell J. Fellows April 6, 2015 / 7:22 PM

    I like how you made the decision to never stop trusting or loving or being the best. We can’t control the people that come in and out of our lives or how they treat us – but we can control how we react to it or how we let it affect us. It’s not an easy mindset to live, but one that I believe is the most freeing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 6, 2015 / 8:02 PM

      Exactly! Becoming this person I am today wasn’t an easy transition. At the beginning of this change I started to treat people badly and drive them away, but soon enough it dawned upon me that why should I let my past make my decisions for me even when I’m over it? “Being nice” had always been embedded in my nature, so I decided to go with the flow; only this time I’ll be smarter and be a better judge of character 🙂
      Thank you so much Russell for your generous and kind feedback ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. searching April 6, 2015 / 7:54 PM

    When i was reading it was like someone is scolding me 🙂 just kidding. i had same old self with me also, but getting rid is only option for life. i love last para. and yes never let in old self 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 6, 2015 / 11:03 PM

      Haha oops sorry 😛 Well it was supposed to be harsh, but only for myself 😀 And thank you so much for liking it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • searching April 7, 2015 / 9:17 AM

        sometimes being strict on ourselves is real good 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood April 7, 2015 / 10:37 PM

        It really is 🙂

        Like

  8. Uday April 7, 2015 / 1:04 AM

    What a wonderful post!! These are the same things I would have said to that gawky schoolboy- many years ago.

    I wish I was this creative! 🙂 Your blog looks super interesting. Need. Time. To. Read. Everything.

    Like

  9. Akhiz April 7, 2015 / 3:35 PM

    wow, its like its written by me for me (the old one), can relate to everything written in it, great idea about writing to your old self, that dude seriously needs some advice from me about the importance of using the organ called brain and not following the heart every time, hell’v a good post this is 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 7, 2015 / 10:39 PM

      I’m really glad you liked it 🙂 And I’m sorry to hear you also had to go through the same agony once in your life 😦 But it was all an essential part of learning, so we should never regret it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Celeste's Quiet Ramblings April 7, 2015 / 8:07 PM

    You are an awesome mind reader 😉 . Life is a eternal revolving door of comings and goings and once we realize our own worthiness. Look Out World. Great Great Great letter. Thank you for sharing

    Happy Blogging
    Stop by and visit anytime 😉

    http://www.quietramblings.com/

    Like

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

