Happiness is: Getting Your Hands on a Heck Load of Low-Price Edition Books!

Ah the sweet smell of old books! I know sniffing them so vigorously might not be so good for my sinuses, but oh what the heck, I don’t get to read many books on paperback. All I have to make do with is eBooks, and it gets really tedious sometimes reading from a screen for 2 to 3 hours.  When I read novels on print, I used to go on for 6 to 7 hours straight! My personal record is 9 hours (without food or sleep or bathroom) but that one time my Mom confiscated all my books and locked them in a trunk because she believed I had gone clinically insane. Thank you Stephen King; you showed me what real addiction is.

Anywho, today I went to one of the biggest annual book fairs that my country has to offer; the University of the Punjab Book Fair. Oh yes, one of those times when I get to be proud of my institution.

My friends and I, we decided that we shall buy as much books as our wallets may allow us, so these are some of the novels that we’re gonna savor in the coming weeks.

Book Fair Selection

Can you believe it that we found most of these at a measly price of Rs. 50/book? That’s like half a dollar each. It was Literary Heaven for me! Well considering my current collection of eBooks, my own paperbacks, and now these, I have enough books to last me this whole year! Woot woot!!

So tell me, which one of these should I read next after I’ve finished “The Martian” by Andy Weir? Haaa, decisions decisions. Help a sister out, huh?

22 thoughts on “Happiness is: Getting Your Hands on a Heck Load of Low-Price Edition Books!

  1. Princess Kick-ass April 3, 2015 / 3:07 PM

    OMG I think you just gave me an orgasm. PS: The Martian is an AWESOME book.
    For your next read, I’d choose either Paulo Coelho or John Green.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 3, 2015 / 3:50 PM

      Haha I’m happy to oblige 😛 And The Martian is really such an amazing book! I never thought that a book on being stranded on Mars could be so hilarious 😀 I love Mark Watney ❤
      And I was thinking of going for The Zahir next, I really need some Coelho right now ^_^
      By the way, you changed your name? LOVING IT!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. abyssbrain April 3, 2015 / 3:21 PM

    That’s quite a great bargain. In Hong Kong, the books are very expensive, so I mostly purchase ebooks.

    Of course, the most recognizable of them is the Lord of the Files, since it’s a classic. However, I’ll warn you that this book was very disturbing haha…

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 3, 2015 / 3:55 PM

      It was an amazing bargain! I was like “Shut up and take my money!” the whole time 😀 I’ll probably go again tomorrow.
      And haha I’ve always steered clear of Lord of the Flies for this exact reason. I’ve heard it’s really grim and disturbing, :/ and I’m very emotionally sensitive so it’ll definitely ruin my mood, but I so wanted to read a classic! So, yeah I’ll probably go for Mr. Paulo Coelho first and then it’ll be time to read about some savage boys killing each other 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      • abyssbrain April 3, 2015 / 4:30 PM

        We also have this yearly book bargains in HK, though most pepple focused on Chinese books. Lucky me 🙂

        Although lord of the files is not in my top 10 most disturbing reads, it’s definitely very near to that level.

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood April 4, 2015 / 11:46 AM

        You have a Top 10 Disturbing reads list? Please tell me the Top 3?? 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • abyssbrain April 4, 2015 / 12:00 PM

        For me my top 3 is Wasp Factory by Banks, it’s just too disturbing for my taste. Number 2 is American Psycho by Ellis, the title should have clued me already…

        But for number 1, it’s Flowers in the Attic by V. C. Andrews. Before I read this book, I like to surprise myself by reading random books without knowing the general plot beforehand. I learned my lesson the hard way when I randomly picked up this book. The story just creeps the heck out of me. This is one of the very few books that I can’t bring myself to finish, which is a very big deal to me since I really love to read.

        Like

  3. Akhiz April 3, 2015 / 7:48 PM

    Unfortunately my city (Faisalabad) doesn’t have the bookstores where you can get these kind of books so i have to go to Pindi or Islamabad or Lahore to get what i want, for me being in a book store or a literary festival is like being in Disneyland, and whenever i am in one i also buy as many as my wallet allows, iv read many of the ones displayed in the pic. And yes got “Rage of Angles” from the footpath at Saddar Rawalpindi for Rs 40. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 4, 2015 / 11:55 AM

      You are a Pakistani guy who loves reading? Who are you? 😀 Because sir, you are a rare species 😛 I haven’t seen many guys who love books, especially in our country. And hey Faisalabad is a big city, why doesn’t it have bookstores? Such a shame :/ A city without bookstores is like a human without a heart!
      And you should’ve come to our Lit Fest in Punjab University; it was humongous and the people were literally DIVING into the piles of books there 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Akhiz April 4, 2015 / 6:51 PM

        I can say the same about you too, haven’t seen many girls who love books and tv shows you are not only rare ur unique in Pakistan 🙂 . Actually we have a whole big Urdu Bazar here but its all full of textbooks, id love to be there at PU’s festival, i got the invitation of Lahore Literary Festival on 20th feb by email but couldn’t make it, yup my city is without a heart, well its a very textbook kinda heart :/

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood April 5, 2015 / 7:33 PM

        I personally believe that the mental grooming/nourishment done by fiction is quite more superlative/superior/stronger then the one done by textbooks. Many parents still don’t understand this nowadays and they shove iPhones and tablets into childrens’ hands. Give them books! Like my parents gave me! Storybooks! Let them believe in fairy tales, let them make up their own. That’s why our coming generation doesn’t have much of a creative imagination. They’re deprived of the essential ingredients!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Akhiz April 5, 2015 / 7:58 PM

        yup i agree with u 100%, when i was in class 3 my dad got the subscription of “Taleem o Tarbiat” (kids of today don’t even know what the heck that is) and Readers Digest so we can read them, but now even a 3 year old has a facebook account , its ridiculous.

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood April 6, 2015 / 12:33 AM

        Hey I loved Taleem o Tarbiat! It was one of my most favorite magazines when I was growing up. It was published by Ferozsons, right? You know since I was 5, my Mom took me to Ferozsons bookstore every Saturday, and I would browse through each and every book (even though I didn’t understand most of them) 😀 I have only one word for that childhood: magical! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Akhiz April 6, 2015 / 1:03 AM

        i think im in love with your mom ❤ , yup it was by Ferozsons and i remember i always tried to finish it in one day, God Bless our parents for supporting us and nourishing our minds with the love of reading, it was indeed a magical time. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood April 7, 2015 / 12:14 AM

        Hahaha all my friends are in love with my mom 😀 She knew how to raise a child ❤ And Aameen to that 🙂 I hope and pray my parents are around for their grandchildren, because that generation is gonna need some serious guidance 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  4. mike7sedona April 3, 2015 / 10:21 PM

    You ought to consider yourself extremely lucky to have got such a windfall of books – just look at those titles, boy, what a collection, happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 4, 2015 / 12:02 PM

      I do!! I am still giddy with excitement 😀 One can never have enough books ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • mike7sedona April 5, 2015 / 2:20 AM

        You’ve said it – books are the best companions for life! ❤ ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

