Explore the Himalayan Outbacks and the Rich Nepali Culture with Far Cry 4

There have been a very few open world games that present a diverse and immersive environment holding such prolific beauty and wonder. GTA V obviously tops that list (that game never ceases to amaze me), but now Far Cry 4 comes to a close second for me.

Far Cry 4 Poster

This is the first Far Cry installment I’ve played. Yes, I know, I should be ashamed of myself. Yes, I also know that Far Cry 3 was the best one. But maybe I didn’t tell you guys before, but I’m really bad at First Person Shooters. I hate aiming with precision. I want guided aim so that I can just blow shit up. But well, what do you know! FC4 had guided aim. Thank you Ubisoft!

For the people who have played the previous installments of this franchise will probably hate this game. Why? Because they say that FC4 was diagnosed with ‘Assassins Creed Syndrome’. Yep, the dangerous disease that causes redundant storylines, shallow characters, and a repetitive gameplay.

I on the other hand am a newbie to Far Cry! Yay for me! 😀 I didn’t waste my money like I did on Assassins Creed Unity!

Okay, so I’ve only got three big reasons to love this game, and they are enough for me. 

#1. The Storyline

Synopsis taken from Wikipedia:

“The game follows Ajay Ghale, a young Kyrati-American of Nepali origin who returns to his native country of Kyrat (a fictional Himalayan Country) to spread his deceased mother’s ashes. Kyrat was an autonomous state in the Himalayas ruled by separate Kyrati Kings. Kyrat is derived from Kirati, a collection of Himalayan people originating from Tibet bordering the Himalayas. Ajay finds the country in a state of civil war between Kyrat’s Royal Army led by the country’s eccentric and tyrannical king Pagan Min and the Golden Path, a rebel movement fighting to free Kyrat from Min’s oppressive rule. The choices Ajay makes will determine the fate of Kyrat. This story has been inspired by the ten-year-long Maoist insurgency in Nepal.”

What’s wrong with this story? I find it totally badass. I love being a part of rebel movements that want to overthrow an evil dictator. Games like these give me a fake sense of entitlement and heroism. Yes, I do agree on the part where people say that it had terribly shallow characters. I couldn’t sympathize with ANYONE, not even the protagonist. But oh well, as long as I’m getting to save a nation from a Kim Jong-un’ish ruler, all’s good for me. 😛

#2. The Incredibly Enthralling Locations and Exploration of the Local Culture

I don’t need to repeat it again and again that how much I love travelling – although I never get to do it – but what this game gave me was trip to Himalayan paradise (even though that paradise was in a state of war). I’ve always been enchanted by that region, and Nepal is a not-so-far neighbor to my country.

Far Cry 4 Locations

Each and every inch of Kyrat was presented with such vibrancy and detail, it was simply overwhelming. The epic mountains, the gargantuan jungles, the shattered towns, the beautiful temples; all this captivating scenery created a world I didn’t wanna leave.

As for the culture, *whistles*. I’m a devout Muslim but I also deeply respect all other religions, and Hinduism is one that seems the most vibrant and diverse of all. That’s why I’ve always wanted to learn more about their culture, and this game is a sure shot way of exploring it. I got to visit temples, shrines and certain dream sequences where they took me to Shangri-La, a mystical land of gods and goddesses. It was all very fascinating. The people living in the towns and “bastees” felt like real characters with real problems, and the way they talked and cared about their heritage was remarkable.

And oh yes, the language. That’s the part that I loved the most 😀 Because the language I speak (Urdu) and language Nepali’s and Indian’s speak (Hindi) are pretty much 60-70% the same. Many moments in the gameplay, cutscenes and songs featured Hindi, and it was fun playing a game where people spoke my somewhat “native language”.

#3. The Nonstop Breathtaking Action

The only way I can explain my experience with the action gameplay is this: it made me feel like Chuck Norris.  I mean come on, rocking to “Jogi” while destroying a opium farm/facility with a machine gun and fire thrower in my hands while I’m also high on the intoxicating fumes is a pretty kickass moment for me 😀

There was SO MUCH versatility in the missions! Every next chapter gave me a new challenge, in a completely different and dense environment, a new better weapon and more badass ways in which I can accomplish the task. Supassing ardous terrains, saving hostages, liberating posts, mastering stealth kills, massacring bad guys and defeating wild beasts (and also taking down fearsome demons in Shangri-La); if this isn’t fun for you then what is?

Far Cry 4 Action

I admit the ending was a little sudden and slightly disappointing but, ah well, hate it if you want to, but I loved the journey; every single darn second of it.

Potahto Rating:

8 out of 10 Potahtos

8 thoughts on “Explore the Himalayan Outbacks and the Rich Nepali Culture with Far Cry 4

  1. Akhiz April 3, 2015 / 7:52 PM

    there was a time when i had so much time but didnt had a powerful enough machine to play the games i wanted, now i have the machine but dont get the time to play 😦 installed Far Cry 2 didnt like it much and removed it but this one looks promising, nice review. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood April 4, 2015 / 11:56 AM

      Same goes with me :/ I don’t get much time to play games so I complete some very selective ones once or twice every few months. And yess, you should try out FC4, you’ll start to love Nepal 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Akhiz April 4, 2015 / 6:53 PM

        will definitely give it a try, now a days trying my hand on Don Bradman cricket and HAWX as im a fighter jet enthusiast 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood April 5, 2015 / 7:35 PM

        Oh good Mashaa Allah 🙂 Waise have you tried for the Air Force?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Akhiz April 5, 2015 / 8:01 PM

        wanted to after FSc but my dad didn’t allow me (the only son wala masla) but the passion is still on, so i read and watch anything planes related i get my hands on 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood April 6, 2015 / 12:35 AM

        Oho, the Iklota Beta Scenario. Well you sacrificed a dream of yours for your father’s happiness; so Allah will definitely reward you in tenfolds for that 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Akhiz April 6, 2015 / 1:09 AM

        yup happiness of parents is the greatest satisfaction in the world, and whatever they desire for their children is for their betterment, there is always a plan for us in everything by God 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

