Putting Everything into Perspective

Paulo Coelho Quote
Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist

I consider myself a very hopeful and optimistic person. I’m one of those “glass is half full” people; but I wasn’t always like this. A few years back if you had asked me this same “half empty/full” question I probably would’ve done this:

  1. Smile at you.
  2. Grab that glass carefully.
  3. Violently smash it on your skull.
  4. Take the remnants and shove them up your nostrils.
  5. Wouldn’t even tell you the directions to the nearest hospital.

Yes, I’ve faced quite a dark period (psychologically) in those years, but that time is behind me. I’m not getting into the details of what changed me. That is for another day. But today I wanted to talk about a little nugget of wisdom my Mom shared with me.

As I was saying, I’m a very optimistic person (now) but seeing everything in a positive light ALL THE TIME is really tough work. Especially for a person like me for whom thinking negatively comes naturally. You are in a constant fight with your nerves. And today was a tough day. So there I am, sitting in my room near the window, looking at the sky with a grim look on my face. My mother can read me better than any fortune teller can. She sat down beside me, held my hand and asked me:

Mom: Tell me what’s wrong? I bet it’s very interesting.

[Clearly I was on the verge of tears so a drop or two rolled down my face.]

Me: Will my dreams ever come true? I’m getting tired of imagining that life but not actually getting to experience it.

[My biggest dream: travelling the world. I count that as my ultimate goal in life. That’s why I follow so many Travelling blogs but don’t actually ‘Like’ their posts because I get too jealous. Oh, petty me.]

Mom: What makes you think that your dreams won’t come true? Do you really think that doubting yourself and your belief in the actualization of your dreams is the right course of action?

Me: Mom don’t talk like a businessman. I know what you’re trying to say, and I know I have my whole life in front of me. Time is all I have on my hands. But sometimes I think it’s just ‘wishful thinking’. A person can get tired of daydreaming all the time you know.

Mom: Tell me what’s the date today?

Me: Emm, it’s the 23rd of March? Why?

Mom: Can you tell me exactly where you were on this date, a year ago?

Me: I was…

[Finally I gave her a faint smile]

Me: I was with all of you, in our previous home. Our small, shabby little home.

Mom: Did you know at that time that after one exact year you will be sitting in your own room, on your own window seat, looking at the beautiful flowers of your own lawn?

[I never had a room of my own my whole life. Our house was too small to have three bedrooms. At that time having my own spacious room with the view of a beautiful lawn was a distant dream. Yes, I daydreamed about it. A LOT. We started planning for our new, bigger home in May.]

Me: No. None of us had even thought about it then.

Mom: THAT was the power of your dreams. That was the power of your belief. God put the idea of this home in our little minds just so YOUR dream would be fulfilled one day. You see dear, life is like… DNA. DNA is the blueprint of life. It has ups and downs, twists and turns. You never know when your life might drastically change. It never stays put at one point.

[That was practically her way of saying “Life is like a box of chocolates…” but I like her DNA analogy better] 🙂

Mom: Abeeha, my love, my life, please never stop blindly believing in your dreams no matter how impossible they may seem. You don’t know what God has in store for you. I know you work hard to achieve your goals. Giving your best input is equally as important! But dear, He’s also waiting for your sheer belief in His blessings, only then He’ll grant them to you. Just don’t question His timing. Everything you have ever dreamt of WILL come into your life in one way or another. Has that put everything in perspective for you?

Me: Yes, Mom.. [tightly hugged her] .. It has. 🙂

17 thoughts on “Putting Everything into Perspective

  1. amommasview March 23, 2015 / 4:27 PM

    Your mom is a very wise woman! Listen to her and even if it takes longer: Never stop believing! You will make your dream come true!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood March 23, 2015 / 5:00 PM

      She really is 🙂 She’s been my guiding light in my darkest times.
      And Amen 🙂 I know it’s a long journey. I just have to show patience ❤ Thank you dear for your kindest words! ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  2. abyssbrain March 23, 2015 / 5:19 PM

    The advice that your mother gave you was very good.

    Just continue to believe in your dream and I’m sure that you will eventually acheive it.

    And I’m glad that you have a possitive outlook in life now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood March 23, 2015 / 5:54 PM

      I don’t know why I took so much pleasure in looking at life through such a dark lens. I’m glad I’m over that phase.
      And as for my dream, money is the biggest constraint in my path. But mehh, I have a long life ahead of me. Faith can do wonders 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • abyssbrain March 23, 2015 / 9:04 PM

        Yes, I’m glad that you have overcome that phase. Looking at life in a very negative manner doesn’t benefit us at all.

        In my work, I’m surrounded with many grumpy and cynical people, so I’m also glad that they haven’t influenced me 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood March 24, 2015 / 12:32 PM

        Ah yes, even popular culture depicts investment bankers as such narcissistic people. Thank God you’re an exception 😉
        And thank you so much ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

      • abyssbrain March 24, 2015 / 3:40 PM

        Normally, I think that stereotyping is stupid, but this is one of the excemptions…

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Aqib Zaka Dar March 23, 2015 / 8:08 PM

    Never Stop Chasing your Dreams, Because Dreams Do Come true 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood March 23, 2015 / 8:17 PM

      They definitely do 🙂 Thank you so much Aqib ^_^

      Like

  4. mypersonallthing March 24, 2015 / 12:08 PM

    What great advice your mother gave you 🙂 Life seems to take people in different directions than what they thought it would. I hope you enjoy the journey in realizing your dreams 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood March 24, 2015 / 12:44 PM

      She’s an awesome Mom 🙂 I’m glad I’ve got a best friend in her ❤
      And amen to that 🙂 Thank you so much, dear! I know the journey is long and hard but I hope it's gonna be a fun ride ^_^

      Like

      • mypersonallthing March 24, 2015 / 12:58 PM

        It is great that you had a great mum 🙂 especially when not everyone gets one 🙂
        I hope that it will be a fun ride too and not too long and hard 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood March 24, 2015 / 8:30 PM

        She really is the biggest blessing in my life.. I can’t imagine a life without her 😦

        Like

  5. Madam_W March 24, 2015 / 6:57 PM

    I do the same when reading travel blogs. We will travel the world one day, my friend.

    And PS: You get extra points for putting Paulo Coelho up there.
    PS II: Your Mom is awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood March 24, 2015 / 8:41 PM

      Oh yes we will, and then we too will own a DSLR and share our adventures with the world :3
      PS. Paulo Coelho is DA BOMB!
      P.P.S. Hehe thank you ^_^ She indeed is badass ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

