“Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes: Don’t Let the Title Fool You

“Fiction”. Probably the best creation by humanity. A source of infinite joy for billions of people in this treacherous world. Sometimes it is used as a means of showing you the harsh realities of life and most times it is something that steals you away from your worldly worries, lets you step-in a world created by someone else’s imagination and allows you to view life in a different light. An affirmative, shining, bright light. Why couldn’t you have done that Jojo? Why did you have to put me through such…. misery? The title of the book fooled me. I thought this was supposed to be a love story. A love story that’ll take me away and let me be a part of someone’s happy ending.

Why Jojo?

Why?

Me Before You Cover

What is it about?

Excerpt taken from Goodreads:
“Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.
What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.”

My Thoughts on this Book:

[Caution: Contains Spoilers]

The synopsis of this book is also gravely misleading! This is NOT a love story. Me Before You is based on a very sensitive subject matter. One’s right to die. *cue dramatic music*

If I had to write the synopsis of the book it would be something like this…

“Lou Clarke, an immature uneducated unambitious goof, loses her job at a dead-end cafe and is hired (based on no qualifications) by a wealthy family to care for their depressed quadriplegic son Will Traynor on a contract of 6 months. 

Will Traynor, an egocentric and depressed quadriplegic billionaire, who before his accident led an adventurous, athletic and astounding life, has now no will to live. 

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is going to burst into his life, annoy him for 6 months, and make no difference whatsoever in his decision to end his life through assisted-suicide by the help of Dignitas.”

Yeah it is quite spoilery, but at least the reader will then know what they’re getting themselves into.

I’m going to be honest and say that I wouldn’t have probably read this book if I hadn’t found out that it’s gonna be adapted for a motion picture this year, with the lead actors played by Emilia Clarke (Game of Thrones) and Sam Claflin (Catching Fire). By the way, the Mother of Dragons is NOT a good choice for playing Lou.

Okay so this book gives the readers two ultimate messages.

Message # 1. Disabled life is not worth living.

If you’re in a wheelchair you should just go kill yourself even though you are a billionaire with an extremely loving family, under the constant care of the best doctors, and the love of an affectionate partner. Ah yes, a round of applause for such an optimistic mentality. I stuck with this book to the end just because I had a tiny little ray of hope that maybe, just maybe, Will will (weird) change his mind and not commit assisted suicide. But nope, if you’re paralyzed and can’t have sex anymore, or go on vacations to do bungee-jumping and sky-diving, then it’s better to just die and let your family and loved ones wallow in psychological pain for the rest of their lives. This must be the worst possible ending of a book I’ve ever read. Yes, I know it’s not just being stuck to a wheelchair. There are a dozen other problems quadriplegics have to face like painful infections and physical ailments. But that doesn’t mean that you should just quit. I am a highly religious person, and I believe that whatever pain God puts you through in this life is just a test of your patience and faith. You can’t stop believing in miracles. When you have a tough exam, you don’t go into the exam hall to just look at the paper, grab it, throw it into the air and say “To Hell with this shizz, I’m outta here.”

Message # 2: Live your life as fully as possible.

Yeah, I know! Two very contradictory messages. But this aspect at least (to some extent) provided some redeeming value. Louisa led a very unambitious life because of an incident which scarred her for life. If I was in her shoes I would’ve probably left that town way before she did and tried to create a new life for me just to show the world that I’m not going to let my past dictate my future. At least this issue was properly dealt with and it presented a positive message.

“Live boldly. Push yourself. Don’t Settle. Just LIVE.”

This book could’ve turned out to be way better only if this message was utilized properly in both scenarios. You are given one life, it is your duty to live it to the fullest. Even if you are in a wheelchair. Even if the world seems bleak. Even if you can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel. You can still lead a full life with the help of your loved ones. God gave us family and friends because they are the biggest source of strength in this world. This book was a work of fiction Jojo. A happy ending wouldn’t have hurt.

15 thoughts on ““Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes: Don’t Let the Title Fool You

  1. abyssbrain March 21, 2015 / 2:08 PM

    I have learned long time ago to read some reviews about a book before reading it. I have so many books but so little time, so I need to use my reading time wisely by making sure that I would like the book that I would read.

    That book sounds quite messed up though…

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood March 21, 2015 / 2:21 PM

      I DID read the reviews! I never start reading a book before thoroughly checking out it’s Goodreads page. Everyone was just screaming and crying that “oh this book was so mindblowing. So heartbreaking. I cried like a baby. So Many Feels” etc. I like tear-jerkers but with a happy ending. I had no idea that I’m gonna read an extensive study into the mind of a sadist. :/ -_-

      Liked by 1 person

      • abyssbrain March 21, 2015 / 2:35 PM

        Have you read the 1 to 2 star reviews? You would be able to tell if those reviews are not just some jerks that rated the book so low for some petty reasons. If they objectively point out the flaws of the book, then there might be some major problems with the book. I also go to other websites besides Goodreads to find reviews.

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood March 21, 2015 / 3:16 PM

        You’re right! Maybe that’s why I don’t read the negative reviews of books with 4+ rating. :/ The next book on my list is The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. I feel like I’ve read enough “romance” for now.. But I will first check out it’s negative reviews too so that I don’t waste my whole week. Thanks for the tip 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Phil Taylor March 22, 2015 / 9:41 PM

    I love your review. The internet is too full of reviewers being nice. When I wrote my first book almost everyone gave a nice review. What I appreciated was the two people who respectfully pointed out my mistakes. Your review will help readers make informed choices instead of being duped by a bunch of reviews written by the authors friends.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood March 22, 2015 / 9:47 PM

      Thank you so much Phil 🙂 What is the name of your book? I’d love to give it a read ^_^ Nowadays I’m on The Martian by Andy Weir.. I hope it turns out okay!
      And yes I agree with you! There are some matters where “being nice” isn’t an option. Suicide is not something that should be promoted in any way! You’re telling people to stop fighting and quit. And it was horrifying for me to find out that Dignitas actually exists and they have “killed” more than a thousand patients. :/

      Liked by 1 person

      • Phil Taylor March 22, 2015 / 9:51 PM

        I’ve got two fiction novels and a collection of humor essays. After seeing you’re review of Me Before You I’d be a little nervous of your review, but then again everyone has their own tastes. If you want to see my books, they’re in the right sidebar of my blog page.

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood March 22, 2015 / 10:28 PM

        Oh they’re on Amazon! Sadly where I live buying something on Amazon or Ebay boosts up the price of the product by 100x :/ Are they available in bookstores overseas?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Phil Taylor March 22, 2015 / 10:32 PM

        No, unfortunately they’re not popular enough to be in hard copy in bookstores overseas. Thanks for giving my books consideration. You could download the Kindle app and I’d be happy to send you a free digital copy if you want. Either way, it’s nice to meet you. What country do you live in?

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood March 22, 2015 / 10:47 PM

        Oh I’m sure you’ll achieve that milestone soon 🙂 ❤

        Like

      • A.B Mood March 22, 2015 / 10:48 PM

        And yesss if you could send me in EPUB (or AZW) format that would be amazing!! And I live in Lahore, Pakistan. Please don’t judge me as a radical terrorist 😀 As you can see from my blog I’m quite normal 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • Phil Taylor March 22, 2015 / 11:58 PM

        Are you able to have the Kindle app on your phone, tablet, or laptop? If so I’ll send you a gift copy that you can download to your Kindle app to read.

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood March 23, 2015 / 4:16 PM

        Yes I have Calibre on my PC and it can read pretty much every format. It would be lovely if you send me a copy ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood March 22, 2015 / 10:30 PM

        And Phil I’m not such a harsh critic 😀 I just don’t take lightly to sensitive subjects and matters of infidelity O_o Other then that I’m a big softie, hehe ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

      • Phil Taylor March 22, 2015 / 9:52 PM

        I also completely agree that suicide isn’t something I want to see in a book or movie.

        Liked by 1 person

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

