Attention All Bloggers: Don’t LITERALLY Be a Couch Potato

Blogging

Yeah, this statement goes directly against my blog’s identity, but today I just wanted to share something except my usual banter. We bloggers write for hours and hours, giving our brains a heck load of exercise but it doesn’t mean you should stop paying attention to your physical health. No, I’m not one of those fitness freaks nor I’m going to lecture you, ’cause I myself can be quite a slouch at times. But I was going through my Reader, and I must say I am terrified by the frequency with which A Opinionated Man blogs.

A lot of you people are inspired by his blogging skills, and I know I am too. He is hilariously funny, charming, and his writing skills are nothing short of amazing. Competing with such a blogger seems like an infinitely challenging feat, but while in your pursuit to follow your passion of writing do NOT forget that your body loves you and needs your attention too. Yes, OM I am talking to you too. I know you won’t read this, but still. -_- 

I recently realized that due to my “in-front-of-screen-all-the-time-routine” my body wasn’t functioning as healthy as it was supposed to. It was screaming “LOOK UP, YOU IDIOT!” So, I looked up from the screen, put my laptop aside for a while and developed a routine in which I started treating my body as it deserves. You bloggers must know that due to lack of physical activity and an unhealthy diet one can develop a wide variety of physical ailments, including digestive problems, kidney diseases, diabetes and whatnot.

Since I’ve added exercise to my routine and started to consume more fruits and fiber I am now in a much more healthy mental state as well. My body has started to love me back and it’s telling me that it will do its best to keep those filthy ailments away.

So guys, when you’re done writing your post, watching a movie/show, reading a book or doing whatever that requires sitting or lying down, follow these easy steps to become less of a Couch Potato (be a Potahto not a Potato):

  1. Download an app like “7 Minute Workout” on your phone. There are a dozen great Android and iPhone applications out there which are perfect for people who have a tough time getting some time out from their busy routine for exercise. Set the timers according to your ability, complete at least one circuit per day (you can double or triple your circuits as your body starts to allow it). If apps are something you don’t wanna follow then there a LOT of YouTube fitness channels that can guide you in easy-to-do, at-home, without-equipment exercises.
  2. When the sun sets down and a cool breeze starts to blow, leave all your electronic devices and step outside your home and go on a brisk walk for at least 20 minutes. Trust me, this is the best time for a refreshing walk. For me, this is the time of day when I get to ponder upon my life and my dreams (or my next blog idea).
  3. Fruits! I can not emphasize enough on how important fruits are for your health. I was the kind of person who felt sick by the thought of eating some. I ate them like once a month. But since I’ve started consuming one or two helpings of fruits per day I have seen this amazing change in my physical and mental health. Slice em, bite em or make a smoothie out of em, it doesn’t matter. Just put them inside your stomach and you’ll notice a positive change in your health immediately.
  4. Heh! By now you know I’m gonna advise you to eat more vegetables (especially the green ones), but I know if you’re not used to cooking and eating veggies you’re not gonna start after some blog you read about it. So for now, please follow the first 3 steps and soon enough you’ll wanna start working on the 4th all by yourself 🙂

I know, this sounds boring, and you don’t have enough time, and this post isn’t inspiring at all and I’m just babbling to myself; but even if ONE person out there starts caring about him/herself or at least TRIES to, then my rant wasn’t useless at all. Just try to work on these steps, give it a week even if it sounds boring as hell (trust me, I’VE BEEN THERE), and once you get used to it you’ll notice this amazing change in yourself and will advance from this basic 4-step routine to treating your body like a temple.

47 thoughts on “Attention All Bloggers: Don’t LITERALLY Be a Couch Potato

  1. miusho March 15, 2015 / 2:56 PM

    I’m already doing number 3 and 4, working on number 2, number 1 is a fight though….
    The good thing is that I can’t sit still!

    Liked by 2 people

    • A.B Mood March 15, 2015 / 3:25 PM

      That’s wonderful! Eating healthy is as essential as working out. So don’t worry if it seems tough. You know what? Music helps. When you’re feeling unmotivated to work out then just put on your favorite upbeat tunes. They work miraculously well for motivation 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho March 15, 2015 / 3:46 PM

        I need a list.. I don’t have a list. I don’t even listen to the radio! D:

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood March 15, 2015 / 4:02 PM

        I wish I could give you my playlist somehow! Half of it is filled with upbeat music and the rest with songs that’ll probably depress you. I live on both extremes 😀 But for now I’ll suggest you start with “Uptown Funk by Mark Ronson”. Your feet will automatically start grooving 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • miusho March 16, 2015 / 12:13 AM

        That would be awesome.. I really need upbeat music, I’m stuck with weird pop music that make people stare at me. And extremes aren’t bad.. But depends on my mood.
        And I love that song, it makes me super happy!!

        Like

      • A.B Mood March 16, 2015 / 12:58 PM

        Oh my Goodness you actually commented on my post!! I am seriously fangirling right now 😀

        Like

  2. Opinionated Man March 16, 2015 / 7:43 AM

    Reblogged this on HarsH ReaLiTy and commented:
    Well I read it. And then I always read the part “I bet he doesn’t read this” and I laugh. So you got a read and a laugh! Now I need a nap. 😉 -OM
    Note: Comments disabled here, please visit their blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood March 16, 2015 / 1:02 PM

      Can I be honest with you? I suddenly got scared by the amount of traffic on my blog. 😀 I know it’s peanuts (actaully even less than that) compared to your traffic, but I am immensely thankful for the support 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Raymond March 16, 2015 / 8:07 AM

    Thank you for the reminder. I myself work in front of the computer most of the day not just for blogging stuffs. But I do exercise everyday in the morning except Sunday. I also sit on Gym Ball to ease my back.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood March 16, 2015 / 1:03 PM

      I’ve been wanting myself to get a gym ball too!! It’s amazing for people whose lives revolve in front of the PC. Keep it up Raymond! ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  4. annepm2015 March 16, 2015 / 8:08 AM

    I’m having a good day today but for the past few days, I laid in bed mostly. When I feel ill, I shut down the computer and rest. I suffer from autoimmune (chronic illness) so it is hard to blog for hours every day. I’m taking your advice and do 3 and 4 (eating plenty of fruits and vegetables) already. I listen to music too. I do weekly exercises through physical therapy for movement. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • A.B Mood March 16, 2015 / 1:12 PM

      Oh I’m so sorry to hear about that 😥 I’ve heard that by controlling your diet (avoiding dairy, starch, sugar) and by consuming healthy fruits and vegetables one can recover from the most severe cases of autoimmune diseases. I hope and pray you get well as soon as possible. All my love and prayers for you ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Samjoth March 16, 2015 / 9:59 AM

    Thanks for the thoughtful note..!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. adamjasonp March 16, 2015 / 1:13 PM

    “I know you won’t read this, but still.”
    You underestimated his ability to read EVERYTHING.  Or at least Google his name/handle.  And you linked directly to the blog.

    Hmm…let’s see.
    Digestive problems. Check.
    Kidney diseases. Not going there.
    Diabetes and whatnot. Apparently.
    Vegetables. Check. Not a big fan of fruit sugar, though…

    No, this is not a useless post at all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood March 16, 2015 / 1:18 PM

      Apparently I had underestimated him. And on the “No, this is not a useless post at all.” was that sarcasm? 😛

      Like

      • adamjasonp March 16, 2015 / 1:36 PM

        No. We shouldn’t let our health decline. Shouldn’t take blogging too seriously…

        Liked by 2 people

  7. amommasview March 16, 2015 / 2:17 PM

    I absolutely love this post. Very true… You kind of lose yourself in the writing… time flies and suddenly you spent all day sitting and in front of the screen…

    Liked by 2 people

    • A.B Mood March 16, 2015 / 2:59 PM

      Exactly. That’s why we bloggers have to pay extra attention to ourselves. No matter how small the effort you put into physical activity, it will still benefit you to great extents in the long run 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  8. shawn March 17, 2015 / 4:29 PM

    Great tips. Always good to get the body moving. This becomes even more important as we get older! Thanks for the nice article.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood March 17, 2015 / 7:47 PM

      Exactly! We don’t realize it in our youth that our laziness is gonna cause real harm to our bodies in our elder years.. So better start moving NOW 🙂 Thank you so much for your amazing response ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood March 17, 2015 / 7:46 PM

      Hey thank you so much for the reblog ^_^ This means so much to me ❤

      Like

  9. abyssbrain March 20, 2015 / 11:09 AM

    Since I’m an early riser (around 5:30 am), I always do my exercise in the morning becore going to work. Once my work starts, the whole day would be as hectic as hell, so forget about working out in the evening… In my field of work, overtime is inevitable. In fact, I type most of my blog posts little by little during my work 🙂

    Also, I do a long run every Sunday.

    Nice post btw.

    Liked by 2 people

    • A.B Mood March 20, 2015 / 12:27 PM

      Oh yess, exercising at the early start of the day is the best thing you can do for your body! This reminds me that doctors also suggest that dawn is the most preferable time for working out.. I get up for my prayers at that time but get too lazy to do anything else :/ I should fix that. Thanks for the suggestion 😀

      Liked by 2 people

      • abyssbrain March 20, 2015 / 12:36 PM

        It’s just a matter of discipline. Once you get used to to it, you would actually want to do it yourself instead of just doing it out of necessity. And morning is the best time to exercise after all.

        Also even if I want to exercise at night, there’s just no time. Lol

        Liked by 2 people

      • A.B Mood March 20, 2015 / 12:58 PM

        My routine was quite sluggish, but I’m trying to discipline myself as well 🙂 Thanks so much for the motivation ^_^ (and also for the help with that thing) Teehee 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • abyssbrain March 20, 2015 / 1:09 PM

        Just always think of the health benefits that you can get from exercising, it’s a very good motivator. And of course a healthy body yields a healthy mind as well.

        And once again, welcome 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

  10. bblake10 March 21, 2015 / 7:37 PM

    A.B, I’m in your corner.I love food and that’s one of the reasons why I blog about same. However, I realize that food and physical activities go hand in hand. I luv the outdoors; so, I try to make it a habit to actually get out and speed walk in the neighborhood/park. Gyms and I don’t work well. I like to breathe fresh air; But to each his/own. All I need is a good pair of sneakers.

    We all need to motivate and encourage each other. Balance is important in all aspects of our lives. Thanks for bringing up this very important topic. Ahhh, and sorry for rambling onnnnn.
    Cheers!

    Liked by 2 people

    • A.B Mood March 21, 2015 / 10:36 PM

      Oh love don’t be sorry pleassee.. Getting such a positive feedback from our WordPress family keeps us motivated to do better ^_^ And you know what, gyms don’t work for me either.. That loud sweaty environment never gives you the serenity that you feel while on a brisk walk in the fresh air 🙂 I work out near my lawn mostly.. The odour of the grass and flowers puts me in such a beautiful place psychologically.. ^_^

      Like

      • bblake10 March 23, 2015 / 1:18 AM

        Beautiful! Keep up the fab work.Have a wonderful spring day.
        Cheers!

        Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood March 23, 2015 / 4:15 PM

        Hehe thank you 🙂 And you too, dearest ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  11. stephsgrn March 24, 2015 / 1:38 AM

    Great post! Thanks! I’ve installed the app, now hopefully I’ll use it! I have a treadmill at home, but just never find the time to use it, I’m desperately hoping to get in shape, but there’s such a long way to go, I get discouraged from it easily!

    Liked by 2 people

    • A.B Mood March 24, 2015 / 12:36 PM

      Thank you so much Steph ^_^ And the key to developing a habit of exercise is to take it easy. 🙂 Never push yourself too much, or else you’ll get exhausted and demotivated when your body doesn’t agree to it. So start from 10 minutes a day and take it up as you develop the stamina 🙂
      And thanks again so much for your awesome response ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  12. robertmgoldstein August 19, 2015 / 7:32 AM

    I have a stationary bike put out by Reebok…the beauty of it is that has games that you can play while you bike….but here’s the thing; if you slow down you lose the game. 20 minutes on this thing has me in a sweat and the time goes by quickly. I also walk everywhere I go…which helps–so, you’re right. I really like blogging and have plans for my blog; but if all goes down the drain if I keel over from a heart attack.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood August 20, 2015 / 2:45 PM

      Wow I think I should get myself that bike! That’s such a cool idea! 🙂 And you’re really doing so great working out regularly! But don’t sweat it too much (the blogging I mean). Just enjoy the ride my friend 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • robertmgoldstein August 21, 2015 / 9:24 AM

        Thanks. I just remembered the name of the game. It’s an old arcade game; space invaders. It’s really cool!

        Liked by 1 person

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

