Jack Savoretti – A Voice Sent Straight Down From Heaven

Is it considered normal if I listen to an album, day-in day-out, back-to-back, over and over again, 24/7, and not get the least bit tired of it? I have developed this OBSESSION with Mr. Jack Savoretti’s voice, and I’m not ashamed. But I do feel embarrassed by the fact that I didn’t know he existed until 2 weeks ago. Who is this man with the voice of a heartbroken angel? Where was this poetic beast all my life? (Okay, okay I admit it. I’ve developed a huge crush on this guy! I mean come on, THAT voice with THAT face?!?) Jack Savoretti Umm, yeah, sorry I just spent 15 minutes stupidly staring at his pictures. All hail Google Images!

Now let’s talk about his latest album “Written in Scars” (my first experience with his music). It is absolutely rare that I come across an album whose each and every track holds so much emotional power over me. But to keep my post short I’ve narrowed down my choices (with a heavy heart) to selecting the Top 5 songs from “Written in Scars”. It doesn’t mean that the rest of them were inferior in any way; I just picked out the ones that moved me the most. Click on the Grooveshark links below to listen to the selected tracks. Your choice may differ, so please go ahead and buy/download his album and tell me which songs you considered to be the best.

“Home”

I have no idea why this song’s music video was made in a football stadium with angrily shouting fans. That was kinda weird. As far as the lyrics go, each and every one of his tracks hold a deep sense of melancholy, like a lost soul waiting for his lover, willing to do whatever it takes to fight for her. “Home” is a perfect depiction of the longing someone may hold for his love to come back home, into his arms and give their relationship a second chance. I don’t know why, but whenever I listen to this song I always picture myself driving on the long empty roads of the American countryside with my Future-Husband-Who-I-Don’t-Even-Know-Yet by my side. I guess it just triggers my wish for travelling.

“I wait for my lover to come home, home, home..”

“Broken Glass”

The lyrics to this one simply breaks my heart. A man who has went through heartbreak himself can only write such a tragically beautiful song. It’s about a man trying to mend his mistakes, about admitting his faults and telling her that he’s willing to do everything in his power to win her back. I don’t know what Jack went through to inspire such remorseful words, but whatever it was, it has created a power ballad of emotions.

“Just let me do everything I can, ’cause everything I do is for you..”

“The Hunger”

You know what I do when song comes on? I turn up the volume to the max, stand and raise my arms up in the air, start swaying while tapping my feet and and sing along till my mouth runs dry. Yeah, to other people it may seem like I’m high on acid 😀 But this is exactly what this song can do to you. His deep, rasping voice combined with this breathtaking music is a therapy for all sorrows.

“I want, I want it all, I need, I need it more to live…”

“Wasted”

An intense song about a broken relationship, where a man tells his love again and again that his damaged and flawed soul does not deserve the soft and caring love she gives him; that he’s not the kind of man who will change no matter how much effort she puts in. He’s pleading her to stay away from his inner demons that will eventually crush her someday. The poetic beauty of this song is heart-rending.

“Your love is soft, your is kind, your love is wasted on me. Someday you’ll see your love is blind, your love is wasted on me.”

“Fight ‘Til the End”

Okay I’m dead serious about this. This song MUST be featured in a future episode of The Walking Dead 😀 It is the first thing that pops into my head when I listen to this track. The melody, the instruments, the lyrics, the atmosphere it creates, everything reeks of post-apocalyptic survival. I’m not kidding. If it does get featured in TWD, remember I called dibs on it first. Apart from that, this is perfect move-along-to music while on a long drive. Amidst all these tracks portraying heartbreak its refreshing to hear a fast-paced, infectious tune.

“We’re never gonna let em know we’re enemies, love is not our friend and we’ll fight ’til the end.”

It is for sure now that I’ll keep my eyes (and ears) out for Jack from now on as he’s the most prized addition to my playlist. If you haven’t heard his work yet, you’re badly missing out on some fiercely remarkable music.

Sorry for the long post, here is some more Mr. S. for your eyes.

Jack Savoretti Guitar

6 thoughts on “Jack Savoretti – A Voice Sent Straight Down From Heaven

  1. Yi March 26, 2015 / 9:53 PM

    Jack is amazing. I’ve only known his music since December 2014 but I’m also head over heels. I’ve seen him three times live–always only as support though. ALL his music is amazing. You need to get his old albums too. This unbelievable passion in his voice, he’s had since the beginning. And his poetry is just as passionate. The reason the video for Home was filmed in a stadium is because in this stadium in Genoa is one of the places that Jack feels at home. Broken Glass is also one of my favourite on the new album, though it is not really a new song. I also very much like Written In Scars and Fight ‘Til the End. With Jack, I can’t count the number songs I love. And even when a song doesn’t at first speak so much to me, eventually I end up finding something in it to relate to. I can count on one hand the Jack songs that don’t speak to me–and he has a four albums plus a number of songs on EPs, Deluxe Singles, etc. So this just to say, I know exactly how you feel! Jack is a treasure. I can’t wait to get to one of his headlining concerts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood March 27, 2015 / 11:41 AM

      Yay another hardcore Jack Savoretti fan 😀 ❤ Oh my goodness you are so lucky you got to see his live performance – THREE TIMES!! And I haven't bought his old albums yet but it sure is on my To-Do-List because it's a rarity that you come across such enchanting music with such powerful lyrics.. Nowadays it's all just Nicki Minaj and One Direction kinda stuff out there :/
      And oh I didn't know the back-story behind the Genoa stadium.. Now that makes much more sense 😀
      Ergh I wanna see him at concert too 😥

      Like

    • A.B Mood April 13, 2015 / 9:44 PM

      Yesss ^_^ His voice is as dreamy as his face 😀 ❤

      Like

  2. Hashir Mohammed April 28, 2015 / 2:52 AM

    Hi there! First of all. I loved this post!
    Secondly it’s a bit sad that you got to discover this “heartbroken angel” only now. (Better late than never I guess, haha)

    Abeeha, I urge you to download (preferably buy) his earlier albums. Even his EPs. Trust me. Worth every penny. Jack is the living embodiment of the popular reference ” A Rough Diamond”.

    P.S I was so happy to read this. I haven’t seen much craze for him in India …yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. filmandtv101 January 24, 2016 / 1:15 AM

    He is my favourite – his voice his AMAZING, on all of his albums. Absolutely love him!

    Like

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

