‘Attachments’ by Rainbow Rowell: “Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you . . . “

Attachements Cover Art

How is this possible? How can Rainbow do this to me all over again? First it was ‘Eleanor and Park’, and now THIS? How can her words make me laugh so hard in one moment, have me constantly keep a 50 feet wide grin on my face and in the next make me miserably moan with sheer despair that I’m never (NEVER EVER) going to find the kind of love she writes about in her books.

What’s The Book About?

Excerpt taken from Goodreads:
“Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

What would he say . . . ?”

Why I Hated (and Absolutely Loved) This Book:

Now this is one of those books that completely obliterates by expectations of men. And by obliterate I mean taking the male specimen and turning him into this loving, caring, nurturing demigod who will love you and then love you even more and never get tired of you and cherish each and everything about you, who will always say the right things, who will make you cry tears of joy for the rest of your life.

This is the reason that men like this only exist in fiction. They do NOT exist in real life. They can’t. It isn’t possible. It’s against the laws of nature, humanity, psychology, biology and whatnot….. Great, now I’m crying. I’m sorry. I got carried away. Let me gather myself. (Curse you Rainbow, you evil woman… Ergh, I’m sorry. I actually love you. A lot.)

Ah so yes, the book.

What is completely refreshing about Rainbow’s writing is that there is nothing… how do I phrase it… Emm, nothing IMPURE in her love stories. Nothing that makes me think “Oh come on this is so sappy and inappropriate.”

I think this book was a little bit inspired by Sleepless in Seattle. Like, the main characters don’t actually meet till the last few moments of the film, but have technically fallen for each other since the beginning. (God, I love that movie.)

Probably the Most Adorable Romance I’ve Read This Year:

A romance that wasn’t actually romance till the last 2 chapters of the book, but still was a better love story than most of the YA books out there.

Lincoln:
Our hero hasn’t gotten over his first heartbreak for over nine years now. (in the real world who does that?) and when he starts reading Beth and Jennifer’s email conversations (as a part of his job but still totally unethical) he begins to fall for Beth, for how she cares about people, how her words make him laugh, how she craves for that fairy-tale romance that Lincoln himself also believes in. But he can’t actually acknowledge his love for Beth, because a) He’s technically a stalker and b) She has a boyfriend. But reason b isn’t that big of a problem coz he knows (through her emails to her best friend) that there is trouble in paradise. However reason a is quite a serious issue.
(this book also made me fantasize about stalkers. Sheesh.)

Lincoln is that sort of person who has so much love stuffed in his heart that it might make you throw up 😀 He’s shy, he’s a hopeless romantic, he doesn’t talk much but when he expresses love it’s like listening to an angel reading out a beautiful sonnet.

“There’s never been a moment,” he barely said, “when I didn’t recognize you.”

She wiped her eyes. Her mascara smeared. He nudged the merry-go-round into motion. He could kiss her now. If he wanted.

“I’d know you in the dark,” he said. “From a thousand miles away. There’s nothing you could become that I haven’t already fallen in love with.”

He actually said this to Sam (his ex-girfriend) AFTER she cheated on him. Now you can also imagine what kind of a romantic he is.

Beth:
We only get to know Beth through her conversations with Jennifer, which were completely hilarious, touching, engaging and oh-so-charming. Those emails were enough to tell us that she herself is the same sort of cute and amazing hopeless romantic that our lead hero is looking for. But the book gets most interesting when it’s revealed that Beth has a crush on a guy from office, who she calls “My Cute Guy”, and he turns out to be Lincoln! And she gushes over him in her emails to Jen (and also secretly follows him into break rooms and movie theaters) and Lincoln can’t stop blushing and obsessing over her even more now that he knows that she likes him too.

So Lincoln and Beth both have a crush on each other, but Beth doesn’t know how Lincoln feels but Lincoln knows how SHE feels, but he can’t say anything to her coz he knows she’ll think of him as a creep who snooped in her emails for months and months.

But the ending was everything I wanted it to be. Go read it yourself. ^_^

Final Thoughts:

After reading this post you might think of Lincoln as an actual creep and a loser who is unambitious and has got nothing better to do then look into people’s flagged emails, and Beth as a needy sap, but trust me, please, that this book is painstakingly charming, funny, touching and thoroughly genuine. I give it 5 out of 5 stars 🙂

My Favorite Quotes:

PLEASE DON’T READ THESE IF YOU WANT TO ENJOY THE BOOK. DON’T RUIN THE SURPRISE TWANGS IN YOUR HEART THAT YOU’LL FEEL WHILE SAVORING IT.

  • “I’m sort of… coming off a bad relationship”
    “When did it end?”
    “Slightly before it started.”
  • He looked over at her, just for a second, sitting sideways in her bucket seat, and squeezed the steering wheel. “It would have to be. I already love you so much. I already feel like something in my chest is going to pop when I see you. I couldn’t love anyone more than I do you, it would kill me. And I couldn’t love anyone less because it would always feel like less. Even if I loved some other girl, that’s all I would ever think about, the difference between loving her and loving you.”
  • “I told him that I didn’t want magic, that I wanted someone who wouldn’t leave me if he could. Who wouldn’t feel being committed to me was such a burden.”
  • “He was a magnet and I was steel”
  • “It’s still romantic falling in love for someone for who she is and what she says and what she believes in.”
  • “There’s something really romantic about that. Every woman wants a man who’ll fall in love with her soul as well as her body. But what if you meet her, and you don’t think she’s attractive?”
    “I don’t think I care what she looks like.”
  • He knew why he wanted to kiss her. Because she was beautiful. And before that, because she was kind. And before that, because she was smart and funny. Because she was exactly the right kind of smart and funny. Because he could imagine taking a long trip with her without ever getting bored. Because whenever he saw something new and interesting, or new and ridiculous, he always wondered what she’d have to say about it – how many stars she’d give it and why.
  • Beth’s fingers trembled in his hair, and her forehead dropped against his. A heavy, wet tear fell onto Lincoln’s lips, and he licked it. He pulled her close, as close as he could. Like he didn’t care for the moment whether she could breathe. Like there were two of them and only one parachute.
  • “Lincoln?” she asked.
    “Yes?”
    “Do you believe in love at first sight?”
    He made himself look at her face, at her wide-open eyes and earnest forehead. At her unbearably sweet mouth.
    “I don’t know,” he said. “Do you believe in love before that?”
  • “I pictured a girl who made every moment, everything she touched, and everyone around her feel lighter and sweeter.
    “I pictured you,” he said. “I just didn’t know what you looked like.
    “And then, when I did know what you looked like, you looked like the girl who was all those things. You looked like the girl I loved.”
  • “I didn’t know someone could love me like this,” she said. “Could love me and love me and love me without…needing space.”
    Lincoln wasn’t asleep. He rolled on top of her.
    “There’s no air in space.” he said.
Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

