“Captain America: The Winter Soldier” – A Potahto Review

Alright… We all know that the Marvel movies are always supposed to be these fun, action-packed joyrides for the whole family. They always have these lighthearted quirky/funny moments again and again that just make the audience go all “Baahaa”; but that was the one thing that seemed missing (not completely but to some extent) from Captain America: The Winter Soldier. And you know what? That completely escalated the quality of the movie. The tone of the whole film was so mature, focused and dark. Because of that reason Captain America 2 is probably my most favorite Marvel movie to date. Yes it does rival The Avengers in my view. The storyline was perplexing and complex, like I was watching a Bourne movie, only much much mucchhhh more fun.

Captain America the Winter Soldier Poster

The Story:

Excerpt taken from IMDb:

“For Steve Rogers, awakening after decades of suspended animation involves more than catching up on pop culture; it also means that this old school idealist must face a world of subtler threats and difficult moral complexities. That comes clear when Nick Fury warns him that SHIELD has been subverted by its enemies and they all face the ultimate threat of facing the ruthless assassin The Winter Soldier. When Rogers acts on Fury’s warning to trust no one, he is branded as a traitor by the organization. Now a fugitive, Captain America must get to the bottom of this deadly mystery with the help of the Black Widow and his new friend, The Falcon. However, the battle will be costly for the Sentinel of Liberty, with Rogers finding enemies where he least expects them while learning that the Winter Soldier looks disturbingly familiar.”

My Take on the Movie:

*may contain spoilers, read at your own risk*

The first Captain America was probably the most boring action flick of the century. So obviously I had no high hopes for part two either. Also, Hollywood is deeply inflicted with the “Sequels-Are-Supposed-To-Be-Pathetic” curse, but some RARE movies beat the crap out of that curse and come out on top. I did NOT expect Captain America 2 to be one of those rare films. Why I loved it so much?

1. The action! Oh my dear God! Neither there was mindless gun action, nor uselessly extensive usage of CGI. It was all (mostly) hand-to-hand quick and brutal combat. THIS is how men are supposed to fight. It was so fast, ruthless and badass. I was literally (not figuratively) on the edge of my seat during the fight sequences, and there were SO MANY OF THEM! I haven’t seen such finely choreographed and perfectly executed action like in EVER.

2. The story. It was a pure conspiracy thriller with a lot of plot twists and turns that left my head a little numb, and might I be frank, I was clueless half the time. I didn’t quite understand in the beginning that what the crap is happening. But soon enough it all just connects together and Ta-Dah, it is revealed that SHIELD is infiltrated by Hydra (as in like 90%) and it is run by power hungry corrupt people who just want to kill millions of people and take over the world, by the power of fear. So in short, SHIELD is screwed. Big time. So yeah the stakes were super high.

3. The whole cast. Mr Samuel L. Jackson, Sir I salute. You, as Nick Fury, have never disappointed us fans and this was your most strongest on screen presence yet. That scene where Hydra attacks you and you meet the Cap at his apartment, now that was damn fine acting. Sam Wilson a.k.a. Falcon was simply astounding. He had great chemistry with the Cap and his role as the soldier who does anything and everything for the good of his country, no questions asked, was just amazing. And hey, I don’t need to praise the Natasha Romanoff a.k.a. Black Widow. We all know her by now. Her charming and oh-so-perfect presence on screen is always a delight. But this time, I particularly loved how she and the Cap had little flirtatious moments with each other. It was very refreshing to see Steve Rogers out of his serious shell and be a little easy around people for a change. And oh that reminds me, the highlight of the movie was obviously our dear Captain. He has grown a lot as a character from his previous movies and this time around he’s extremely enjoyable to watch and the audience connected and sympathized with him. Now I can say that Chris Evans seems perfect for the role of Captain America.

Captain America The Winter Soldier Cast

4. The Winter Soldier. Although he didn’t need to show much acting skills but he did a mighty fine job in doing the role of a tortured and brainwashed assassin who feels nothing but anger, agony and pain. I tried to kept this article free from major spoilers, so I’m not gonna discuss him to much depth, but that final scene with Steve Rogers, was just heartbreaking. Beautiful.

The WInter Soldier

Favorite Quotes:

• Natasha Romanoff: “Hey fellas, either one of you know where The Smithsonian is? I’m here to pick up a fossil.”

• Sam Wilson: “Don’t look at me. I do what he does – just slower.”

• Nick Fury: “This man declined the Nobel Peace Prize. He said that peace is not an achievement, but a responsibility. It’s stuff like this that gives me trust issues.”

• Alexander Pierce: [to Fury] “You got to get Iron Man to show up at my nieces’ birthday party. And I don’t mean a fly-by, I want him to MINGLE.”

• Natasha Romanoff: “I find that it’s easier to keep your true self buried under several layers of untrue selves, to protect yourself.”

• Steve Rogers: “The price of freedom is high… and it’s a price I’m willing to pay! You told me not trust anyone and this is how it ends: EVERYTHING goes!”

• Steve Rogers: “I’m with you till the end of the line.”

The Verdict:

Captain America 2 is Marvel’s grittiest, most mature movie and it is also their best sequel to date. A wonderful conspiracy thriller and action-packed adventure with a pinch of humor. Go watch it NOW till it’s running in cinemas near you.

Final Rating – 9 out of 10

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

