My Favorite Quotes From the Bone-Chilling Novel “Gone Girl”

I can’t help but share some of the most awesome quotes from the novel “Gone Girl” written by my new favorite author Gillian Flynn. I highly recommend you all to read the book to fully appreciate the meaning behind these wonderful, heartbreaking (and sometimes harrowing) lines.

• “Because isn’t that the point of every relationship: to be known by someone else, to be understood? He gets me. She gets me. Isn’t that the simple magic phrase?”

• “We weren’t ourselves when we fell in love, and when we became ourselves – surprise! – we were poison. We complete each other in the nastiest, ugliest possible way.”

• “Because you can’t be as in love as we were and not have it invade your bone marrow. Our kind of love can go into remission, but it’s always waiting to return. Like the world’s sweetest cancer.”

• “Marriage is compromise and hard work,and then more hard work and communication and compromise. And then work. Abandon all hope, ye who enter.”

• “Can you imagine, finally showing your true self to your spouse, your soul mate, and having him not like you? So that’s how the hating first began. I’ve thought about this a lot, and that’s where it started, I think.”

• “It’s not easy, pairing yourself off with someone forever. It’s an admirable thing, and I’m glad you’re both doing it, but, boy-oh-girl-oh, there will be days you wish you’d never done it. And those will be the good times, when it’s only days of regret and not months.”

• “You are a man. You are an average, lazy, boring, cowardly, woman-fearing man. Without me, that’s what you would have kept on being, ad nauseam. But I made you into something. You were the best man you’ve ever been with me. And you know it. The only time in your life you’ve ever liked yourself was pretending to be someone I might like.”

• “Give me a man with a little fight in him, a man who calls me on my bullshit. (But who also kind of likes my bullshit.) And yet: Don’t land me in one of those relationships where we’re always pecking at each other, disguising insults as jokes, rolling our eyes and “playfully” scrapping in front of our friends, hoping to lure them to our side of an argument they could not care less about.”

• “I was told love should be unconditional. That’s the rule, everyone says so. But if love has no boundaries, no limits, no conditions, why should anyone try to do the right thing ever? If I know I am loved no matter what, where is the challenge?”

• “It’s a very difficult era to be a person, just a real, actual person, instead of a collection of personality traits selected from an endless automat of characters.”

• “I’ve suffered betrayal with all five senses.”

• “I’m the bitch who makes you a man.”

• “In my belly-basement are hundreds of bottles of rage, despair, fear, but you’d never guess from looking at me.”

• “There’s something disturbing about recalling a warm memory and feeling utterly cold.”

• “Something bad was about to happen. My wife was being clever again.”

• “Yes, I am finally a match for Amy. The other morning I woke up next to her, and I studied the back of her skull. I tried to read her thoughts. For once I didn’t feel like I was staring into the sun. I’m rising to my wife’s level of madness. Because I can feel her changing me again: I was a callow boy, and then a man, good and bad. Now at last I’m the hero. I am the one to root for in the never-ending war story of our marriage. It’s a story I can live with. Hell, at this point, I can’t imagine my story without Amy. She is my forever antagonist. We are one long frightening climax.”

• “All this time I’d thought we were strangers, and it turned out we knew each other intuitively, in our bones, in our blood. It was kind of romantic. Catastrophically romantic.”

• “We had spent years battling for control of our marriage, of our love story, our life story. I had been thoroughly, finally outplayed. I created a manuscript, and she created a life.”

• “You drink a little too much and try a little too hard. And you go home to a cold bed and think, That was fine. And your life is a long line of fine.”

6 thoughts on “My Favorite Quotes From the Bone-Chilling Novel “Gone Girl”

  1. bblake10 March 12, 2015 / 10:17 PM

    One of my faves is “a man who can call me out on my b/s…..” (well, not verbatim). Luv that kind of man. Don’t bottle up all the mess and than go ‘nuts’ especially around others. Luv yr blog. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood March 12, 2015 / 10:19 PM

      Yess I agree.. I don’t want a man who bottles up his emotions just so he can blow up one day. Tell me what’s wrong and I’ll fix it and vice versa. Btw thanks so much love ❤

      Like

  2. chan March 24, 2015 / 9:38 AM

    Halfway through the book right now. I’m quite surprised how addicting it iS.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood March 24, 2015 / 12:42 PM

      Righhtt? Amy’s narrative is my favorite. Whenever her chapter came I got a bit giddy with excitement 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. chan March 27, 2015 / 10:29 AM

    Oh wow. Did not expect that ending. Awesome book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A.B Mood March 27, 2015 / 10:43 AM

      Yess that ending was unexpected 😀 One of the best in my opinion ❤

      Like

Share Your Tasty Mind Juice!

